U for Uitwaaien #AtoZChallenge

Uitwaaien

Meaning: to take a break outdoors to clear one’s head.

Etymology: Dutch uit +‎ waaien

Pronunciation: OUT-vwy-ehn

Usage in a sentence: “Good weather is perfect for uitwaaien.”

uitwaaien

This word can perfectly describe the occasional wanderings that writers indulge in, just to straighten out the knots in their thoughts. You know, just to find their equilibrium, and then go back to writing.

I always find myself wandering to places where there is a lot of fresh air, if I need to relax and take a break. Not just from writing. From anything. Maybe it’s got something to do with my star sign? (Libra, for those of you who missed the “S for” post) Or maybe that’s just me wanting to let my hair down, and allow the wind make a new hair style for me.

This word specifically relates to the break in which you step out of your house, into nature’s loving arms. It does not indicate the break you take to play “Piano Tiles” on your phone. (“Dang, my high score is 1328. What’s yours?”~Fab) Nor the break you take to get your pack of cigarettes. (“Smoking outdoors is not uitwaaien, even if it clears your head out.”~Fab)

Why is going outdoors considered to be the best way to clear one’s head out? Because the garden you visit, or the beach you stroll on, does not add to your burden in any way. You’ll learn a few lessons from the bubbly birds, or the shy squirrels. The lanky lilies and the fat frog will tell you about beauty in diversity. The anxious ants and the garrulous grasshopper whisper to you the lesson of preparing for the future. The relentless waves and the weathered rock teach you the lesson of perseverance, and letting go at the right time. Why should you not step out into the green world then, when you get the chance to do so?

So today, take a break from your schedule, and visit some outdoor place. Any place would do. And share your experience in the comments 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Wiktionary

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh, I need to use that in a desk sign! I do it often
    My luck, I get back and I’m committed 😦

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    https://yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I went on an uitwaaien this morning. It was a great way to clear my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dashy says:

    I’ve made it a habit to occasionally go for uitwaaien…i hope this usage is right :D. Whew, this word is hard to spell ! But I’m glad I found it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Go for an uitwaaien would be perfect ✌

      Like

  4. Lata Sunil says:

    i do more Uitwaaien than work..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow… again, one I was not aware of but was doing quite a lot… I think my score is still stuck at 1.5/21 words that I knew before hand 🙂

    My entry for the #AtoZChallenge –
    Underrated TV Shows that deserve more love

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But now you know what to call it! 😊

      Like

  6. Kalpanaa says:

    Uitwaaien is one of my favourite activities. I will step out later today to take a few rounds of the park although I did hurry through the garden in the morning, but that’s not the same thing, is it?

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I doubt a morning walk would classify as a way to clear one’s head. We are already pretty calm in the morning! 😊

      Like

  7. Rajlakshmi says:

    My pronunciation was way way off 😛 Uitwaaien is my favourite activity during weekends 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You should do it more often! And then tell the people around you that you’re going for an uitwaaien 😜 Their reactions would be totally hilarious 😁

      Like

  8. My Era says:

    Uitweein is what I am about to do after posting this comment after having a crazy day.
    When I step out, my mind is so blocked out that I am usually not watching anything napping around and neither am I thinking about my work. So today, maybe I’ll stop to watch all you picturesquely mentioned in your post 🙂
    Thank you for the inspiration Fab, you’re just like your name ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It would be really amazing to do so, specially after a hectic day of blog reading and other activities!
      Do make sure to pay attention to the things I have mentioned. You will come up with better terms for them, I’m confident!

      Thank you dear! It really means a lot 😊❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. kalaravi16 says:

    Uitwaaien? I thought it was a Hindi word, LOL! Yes, need a long one, post AtoZ! Nothing like a break outdoors to revive the senses and rejuvenate the mind and soul!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      When I first saw it I thought it was some German word 🙈
      True that, Kala 😊

      Like

  10. Modern Gypsy says:

    Well, I for one need to Uitwaaien more often. Preferably when the lighting is good so I can also take a few interesting shots to use in my digital artistry photo composites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! That would be amazing! Pics on the blog, soon 😊

      Like

  11. inquisitivegeet says:

    I’ve done it and I do it all the time. But most I used to do it when I was in high school and further. Taking a break from studies always topped the list, no matter what. At present as well, I take breaks, in between writing, studying, teaching, etc 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Taking breaks during studies really helps! But my breaks mostly consist of hogging on chips or anything edible available at home! Must change that, don’t you think 😊

      Like

  12. Parul Thakur says:

    What a good word and one that can be used. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Parul

      Like

  13. Shilpa Garg says:

    Another interesting word. With renovation work going on at home, I am stuck at home from morn to night! I can do with a lot of uitwaaien!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Totally. Do go for an uitwaaien as soon as the work gets over! 😊

      Like

  14. Uitwaaien is exactly what I need today.

    Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

