Three Weeks of #AtoZChallenge

“A writer should have the precision of a poet and the imagination of a scientist.”~ Vladimir Nabokov

I have read twenty fabulous posts from about thirty amazing bloggers this year. I have seen sparks of scientific genius and artistic skill in each of them. Concocting new recipes, discovering new lands, brewing stories that made readers cry or weep for joy, you’ve done it all!

Think for a moment whether you can be called a writer by Nabokov’s standards. Do you play with words? Are your ingenious sentences the reason why people rave about your blog? Do you analyze the chemistry between different words, adjusting the flames of comment-love by experimenting with synonyms and antonyms?

Are you a word-scientist? Think about it.

For a change, I’m not doing top three posts which I liked. I’m sharing three posts that were written with an intention of helping people out. Maybe you could call them word philanthropists?  🙂

  1. P for Priya’s Shakti at Happiness and Food: In this post, Parul has shared information about India’s first comic book with a rape victim as a hero. Her theme for this month is ‘Women’s issues’. What I like about her posts, is that they do not show you the negative side always. The posts bring out the achievements of women all over the globe, and truly makes you feel a little more optimistic about the future. And it also nudges you to change your prejudiced thoughts.
  2. S for Smart Tips for Elderly Safe Places at Relax-n-Rave: This post will help you design a home that is comfortable for the elderly at home. It brings to your notice things that we younger people don’t really understand, or rather, don’t pay attention to, because we are all fit and healthy. Kala has also posted tips for decorating the children’s bedroom and obsolete home decor ideas that you must avoid or remove in her earlier posts.
  3. Q for Queen Rani at Daily(w)rite: Damyanti is writing about the the non-profit Project WHY, and she brings you stories from everyday heroes, everyday. The real-life stories tell you about the many people in the world who may not have access to all the necessaries/luxuries of life. How they are touched and nurtured by this organisation’s helping hand, is a miracle in itself. Do read it, and make sure that you do your bit to helping this cause.

 

Here are three bloggers who, I feel, have earned the right to be called word-scientists:

  1. Lata @ Hot Cup of Kaapi : They say that people often keep the best for last, and I’m one of them! I have followed Lata’s blog posts since Day 2 (I just realised that I had missed her “A for” post *hides face*). I’ve fallen in love with Dia and Sameer. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, head over to her blog, and read the fabulus posts for yourself!
  2. Novemberschild @ The Whitescape : She’s the only blogger I know who had started prepping for the challenge in March! And her dedication to the challenge is clearly visible by this. Each post adds information to your brain, encourages you to think for yourself, and make decisions about things that you wouldn’t have paid attention to before!
  3. Maggie @ The 2AM Writer : Maggie’s blog is one of the few blogs which I have discovered through the challenge. And I’m not exaggerating when I say this: The simplicity of her words carry meanings which have gargantaun depth. There’s a moral at the end of each post, and I take home much more than that when I finish reading her posts!

 

This is the part where I motivate you to keep blogging through the challenge. But surprise surprise! There’s a little something that I would like to share before that.

The whole point of the #AtoZChallenge is 1. get used to daily blogging 2. meet new bloggers 3. encourage one another 4. get better at writing. And there’s this one blogger who, in my opinion, has done all of this and more!

Let me introduce you to Dixita @ Cafenined Words. She has taken up the challenge for the first time this year. And I don’t remember being as good as her last year! She leaves comment-love on my blog every day without fail, encourages bloggers to keep going when they’re a little down, and has achieved new milestones through daily blogging! I am following her blog since Day 1, and I have always seen her passion for sharing thoughts and experiences through words. Don’t you all agree?

Kudos, Dixita! You have a long way to go and many more milestones to reach. Do stay committed to writing, and aim at being better than your best everyday!

This is the last Sunday Summation post which I will be writing for the challenge. However, next Sunday, I am planning to post the #AtoZChallenge Summation post. I plan to share my experiences through the challenge with you, good and bad (there are not many bad ones. I’d rather call them sad ones). The format will be kind of weird, in keeping with my theme for the challenge! 😉

Till then, keep blogging and smiling as you reach the finish line on 30th April! Carry all your pens, papers, (or laptops) with a happy face, and think about all the beautiful comments you’ve received this month. I’m sure it will give you the courage to walk through these last six days of April.

family-591581_960_720

~The-Amateur Critic

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Parul Thakur says:

    Thank you so much for the mention. I agree that this challenge does many things to us as bloggers – stretches, encourages and of course helps us to make new friends.
    And the rest of your mentions – totally agree with all their hard work on posts.
    I also feel that your theme was very unique. Those words were not easily found if not in your blog 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I do hope the uniqueness of my posts is remembered, if my weird stories are forgotten 😀
      Thank you for stopping by, Parul 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Can imagine myself in the bridge standing along there with blogbuddies 😃😃 relaxing on sunday.

    Thank you girl 🙂
    You just made my day and motivated me to write more
    And write better !
    These words means a lot to me 🙂

    And adore your choice 😉
    The way you head off or get attracted to words .
    You know by the end of This April
    I will learn 26 new words 😉
    And add them to my dictionary by yuhhh.
    and many more by others.

    You gave light to my logophiling love.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That was the intention, dear. You have to keep writing, come exams or heavy rains or working on the mobile phone 🙂
      I’m glad that you loved my posts too. I do hope you add some of these words in your posts, and weave stories with their help! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes added these words to my dictionary yesterday 😊😊

        Like

  3. 2 AM Writer says:

    Oh my god. What! I feature on a list along with such a fantastic writers. It’s absolutely flattering. When i took up the challenge it was a personal thing and i am soo happy to have met wonderful bloggers like you. Week three has been crazy for me work wise and your blog post has brought in relief like nothing else 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad to have found your blog through the challenge! And yes, I am going to be a dedicated follower of your blog even after the challenge 😉 🙂

      Like

  4. Lata Sunil says:

    Thank you so much Mithila. It means a lot to me. When I started this challenge I never imagined reaching this far. Thanks to your encouraging feedback..even the nudge on the day I could not write. Thank you..*a big hug*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It feels great, no? Accomplishing something that you thought you couldn’t! I do hope you work on that contest fear too. You’ll be amazing there! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lata Sunil says:

        I will.

        Like

  5. Mary Lou says:

    My first time in AtoZ and there are so many great bloggers I’ve met and want to go back and read all of their posts Thanks for this post. I’m glad I clicked and am following you. Parul and Dixita have been a delight through this. I’ll check out the others you mentioned. 🙂
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/category/a-to-z-challenge/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You surely must go back and read all their posts, Mary. They have written fantastic posts all through April! 🙂
      Thank you for the follow! I’ll surely add your blog to my May #atozchallenge reading list 🙂

      Like

  6. kalaravi16 says:

    Hey sweetheart, thanks for the love, really means much! You my dear are in fact the true word-scientist! I have learned about some of the most unusual words in the most fun way possible, thanks to you! Your cute and quirky explanations always make me smile and muse about what you’ve written! Your comments on my posts as well as all others have always been so thoughtful and encouraging! Thanks again for being such a brick! Love and cheers, stay blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You are always welcome, Kala! 🙂
      Learning words is a very wonderful experience, but sometimes it gets boring to just memorise meanings and etymologies and perfect pronunciations. I thought that these weird stories would make learning new words a great experience!
      Cheers and hugs! ❤

      Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

