T for Tortilla #AtoZChallenge

Tortilla

Meaning: (In Mexican cooking) a thin, flat pancake made from maize flour, eaten hot or cold, typically with a savoury filling. (In Spanish cooking) an omelette.

Etymology: Spanish, diminutive of torta ‘cake’.

Pronunciation: tawr-teeuh

Usage in a sentence: “She preferred using wheat tortillas to make burritos.”

tortilla

The reason why I found this word weird is the way I used to pronounce it, before I started editing the Spell Bee Guide in 2013.

I’m sure you’ve figured out the joke by now. I used to say: ‘tawr-tee-luh’. I didn’t know better, and even pronounced ‘quesadilla’ in the same fashion. It was only once I started doing some intense research, that it was pronounced as ‘ee-yuh’. Such a dumbo I was.

Some weird facts about tortillas (to make up for the weird story I gave you):

  1. According to Maya legend, tortillas were invented by a peasant for his hungry king in ancient times. The first tortillas discovered, which date back to approximately 10,000 BC, were made of native maize with dried kernel
  2. Five dishes are prepared using tortilla as the base :
    Tacos: where the tortilla is used as a sandwich,
    Enchiladas: where the filling is rolled in tortilla then coated with sauce and cooked in an oven.
    Chilaquiles: thin fried strips of tortilla coated with sauce and cooked in an oven.
    Quesadillas: tortilla is filled folded into turnovers and then fried.
    Mexican breakfast: fried eggs on fried tortillas garnished with tomatoes, crushed red peppers and avocado slices.
  3. Maize tortillas are naturally low in fat (about 2.5 grams for a typical size) and sodium, and provide calcium, potassium, fiber, iron and B vitamins.
  4. Tortillas are widely used to make burritos in the United States.
  5. In appearance and use, tortillas are rather similar to the our Indian chapati and roti

Do you make tortillas at home? Which is your favourite filling? For me, anything containing chicken would be just perfect 😛

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at  Oxford Dictionaries Online , Wikipedia , CookeryOnline

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Shalzzz says:

    Anything containing chicken? Head over to my food blog, girl! 🙂
    I used to pronounce incorrectly too. Thanks for this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’ve been showing mom all the recipes that you’ve been posting, dear 🙂
      In fact, just had chicken for dinner today 😀

      Like

  2. Rian Durant says:

    LOL! Finally a word I know, delicious word! I’ve tried to make tortillas at home but I’m not very good at them, I have to confess. Otherwise I think my favorite would be with…anything. Oh, my! I hungry now.
    By the way, did you change the theme of your blog? It’s amazing. That sea right there just hit me in the nose and I want nothing more but to be on these rocks. Maybe you changed it during the week but I’ve been kind of busy with Shakespeare related stuff. Will go back to see what I’ve missed later.

    Rian’s Randomness

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I kept putting in some easy words too, just so that everyone would keep coming back to the blog for more!
      I haven’t tried making them at home. should try it soon, though 🙂

      Yup, I changed the theme of my blog! I changed it on Friday. But maybe I’m ahead of you in the time zone thingy?
      Yes, do check out the posts that you’ve missed. Will do the same 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My Era says:

    First things first, I love the new blog theme because the font is so good on the eyes.
    No I do not make Tortillas at home but I am with you in a Chicken filling, rather a chicken filling suits me in just about anything 😀
    As far pronunciation, am pretty bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, dear ❤
      I just can't get enough of chicken. I need to eat it everyday, in any form! *hi-fi*
      That's why I included this word in my Weird Words theme, there are so many people who pronounce this simple word wrong 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    A word that I think most readers would know here but still fall on the face for pronunciation 🙂
    No, I don’t make tortillas at home but I like them 🙂 Give me chicken in any form I say. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! These words which have foreign origins truly stump us most of the times!
      We’re soul sisters then 😀 *hi-fi*

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sunila Vig says:

    Yumm. There was a time when I thought they were what u thought they were initially Mithila ( pronunciation) and later I was enlightened along with hors-d-ouevres and pate-de-foi-gras 😉

    http://www.sunilavigauthor.blogspot.com.au/2016/04/trishanku-swarga-letter-t-of-a-to-z.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Mission accomplished, then!
      I’m glad that I am able to contribute something via my blog posts 🙂

      Like

  6. Seems they are yummm .

    And even I prounced it wrong :pp

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Do try making tortillas at home 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Am vegetarian .:p.
        It is eaten with omelette

        Like

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    Yumm, I am hungry now and bother I am the cook! Any stuffing is good for me as long as I don’t have to cook it! I love Mexican food and you have given really good details!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      LOL! Isn’t that the dream of every food-lover: Not having to cook, but devouring yummy food prepared by someone else? 😉
      Thank you so much, Kala ❤

      Like

  8. inquisitivegeet says:

    I was just as dumb as you. I too called it ‘tortillas’ until one day I joined Mexican cooking class and learned its ‘tortiaas’…
    And phew!! Finally, a word that I know, pronounce it correct and use it right and love to the core!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Phew! Making a mistake in a Mexican cooking class! It must have been pretty embarrassing, no?

      You didn’t mention the filling that you like. Do share some tips no, for those of use who want to cook tortillas for the first time 🙂

      Like

  9. Shilpa Garg says:

    Have never made them at home but love eating them with spicy veg filling, though chicken is cool too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Adding bell peppers and corn make it look really colourful and appetising! 🙂

      Like

  10. richajindal says:

    Yes I make them at home as I’m a vegan so I make my filling using home made vegan cheese n lots of veggies.
    @2richajindal
    http://richajindal.com/twist-foods/
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/time-management/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      There’s vegan cheese too? I thought vegans don’t eat cheese!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. richajindal says:

        they do but not made up of milk

        Like

  11. Arlee Bird says:

    I eat a lot of Mexican food hence a lot of tortillas. When I have them at home I always buy them at the store since good ones are widely available where I live.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s good, you know. There are so many recipes out here to make tortillas, but they would be totally time consuming!

      Thank you for stopping by, Arlee. 🙂

      Like

  12. Sulekha says:

    My son taught the correct pronunciation of Mexican words 🙂 He loves to cook and has taught me that too 🙂 Some dishes are hard to pronounce and fun to try ordering in a restaurant and see the horror on the waiters’ faces. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s nice to know! 🙂
      Totally! And the joke is, sometimes even the waiters don’t know the correct pronunciation 😛
      So when we go into the hotel and order the dish, pronouncing ti correctly, they wonder if we are gone mad!

      Like

  13. Rajlakshmi says:

    Now this one I could pronounce … mostly because I had done a lot of practice using youtube to save my face in Mexican restaurants 😛 I love Quesadillas 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

  14. I love tortillas 😀

    Any filling with spicy chicken or beef would do for me. 😀

    Like

  15. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Tortilla with chicken filling is awesome. 🙂 My favorite!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

