R for Retrouvailles #AtoZChallenge

Retrouvailles

Meaning: The joy of reuniting with someone after a long separation

Etymology: French  retrouver +‎ -aille

Pronunciation: ret-roo-vey-ya (the ‘ya’ is not like ‘yeah’. More like ‘yuh’)

Usage in a sentence: “We met for coffee after months, and I can’t describe the retrouvailles.”

retrouvailles

This word is largely used in the romantic sense. But it would hold true for any form of reunion. Meeting up with school friends after a long time. Or maybe, in some unfortunate cases, meeting a parent after a long time, because of varied reasons. What matters is that the reunion is happy, and must take place after an exceptionally long time.

If you know me personally, you’d probably agree with this next statement: I hate meeting people, and interacting with them, unless I’m in situation where I’m forced to do so. I rarely take the first step to making a conversation, and I’m always the first to say goodbye. That’s not the case with people who know me really well. But, I run away from acquaintances like a cat runs away from a dog.

So, when I see a friend from really-way-too-long-back, my first instinct would be to look the other way, and pretend nothing happened. If that friend comes over to talk, I’ll speak, grudgingly. If not, my earphones always come to the rescue. Because of this antisocial behaviour, I have rarely experienced retrouvailles, except that one time when my friend pulled me along for a school reunion.

Have you experienced retrouvailles? How do you stay in touch with your long-lost friends? Share in the comments 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Collins Dictionary Online

38 Comments Add yours

  1. I am the same way

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sulekha says:

    I met my best friend who had moved to Dubai, after 15 years and the feeling was amazing. I experienced retrouvailles 🙂 loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s great! It surely is important to stay in touch with friends, old and new 🙂

      Like

  3. Lata Sunil says:

    Happened many times. I actually met a colleague whom I worked with on my first job at the picnic of a 4th job where he had also come for a picnic. I met the guy after 13-15 years and the coincidence was too much. We stared at each other, then ignored, then again stared to confirm. It was height of coincidence. Beat that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That really is something weird!
      But this situation makes me realise that the world is indeed a very small place 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by, Lata 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. When I red the word and the meaning
    I missed my school friends here ..
    and this is what I got to read in the post 🙂
    Loved it .

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Do try and meet them once exams are over. I’m sure they’re missing you too! 🙂

      Like

  5. Nilanjana Bose says:

    I have experienced retrouvailles a couple of hundred times, I live an expat life so…. 🙂 I kind of breathe long separations …what’s avoidable about this is the separation itself.

    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Who else could know this feeling better than people like you! 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by, Nilanjana! 🙂

      Like

  6. I share your sentiments on ‘retrouvailles’. I’m in touch with those I care about as for the others…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Being in touch with the ones who matter the most is what matters 😉

      Like

  7. Rajlakshmi says:

    I think if I meet a long lost friend there is going to be an explosion and noise pollution … Retrouvailles for sure. I used to be like you till college… and then times changed. 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The same thing happened to me at my school reunion 😀
      We girls just start screaming at these times. I wonder how boys school reunions are! 😛

      Like

  8. richajindal says:

    My best friend found me via Facebook after 27 years, amazing moment. Loved it.
    @2richajindal

    http://richajindal.com/eating-habits-2/
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/right-packing-company/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Facebook works wonders too in bringing feelings like retrouvailles in our minds 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. inquisitivegeet says:

    Retrouvailles..! What a word and I experience this quite a lot! Probably, I meet them and I’m always happy that I met them!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s a really nice feeling, no?
      Thank you Geets for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 says:

    Planning to experience retrouvailles this Sunday at the Blogchatter workshop! What a quaint word this is 🙂
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Did you experience it today? I’m hoping you did! 🙂

      Like

  11. Ah such a beautiful word and so meaningful too!

    I feel this retrouvailles everyday, when my husband comes back home from work after a long day. I come in a little earlier than he does, but the wait makes me feel this retrouvailles everyday!

    Thank you for giving a word to this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      This is so beautifully romantic! *starts sobbing* *searches for tissues* 🙂

      Do let him know that the feelings have a word! 😉

      Like

  12. 2 AM Writer says:

    Hahaha. This is so appropriate… I came back (comment) to your blog after quite some time. 😀 it was like meeting an old friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woohoo! Mutual feelings here, when I spammed your blog with comments 😀
      I’m happy that you liked the post, dear 🙂

      Like

  13. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aha! I love retrouvailles and have had quite a few beautiful and heartwarming experiences with college and MBA friends and even some bloggers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s fabulous! Old friends are really a treasure. Specially when they meet you after some time, and it’s still possible to have fun like in the good old days!

      Like

  14. My Era says:

    Wow! that was one brutally honest post 🙂
    I was quite like you are but have changed over the years. Now retrouvailles excite me and I have had a few in the past few years. Though nothing extraordinary, but caught up with a school friend after a decade.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I tell it like it is 🙂
      So, there is scope for me to change? I often think that this is the way I’ll be always. This makes me positive about feeling retrouvailles more often in the future!
      Then we share the same experiences! ❤

      Like

  15. I have experienced this. Especially when I am meeting mum after a gap of over two months. For 22 years I was with her and now I miss her and when I meet her I am the happiest. And I stay in touch with friends, not many, but few by meeting them whenever possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Retrouvailles with family is just wonderful. Specially when you can eat home cooked food, and talk freely about anything under the sun! ❤
      Do try and stay in touch with them too 😀

      Like

  16. Kalpanaa says:

    Yes I’ve experienced reetrouvailles often and I’m going to experience it again tomorrow when a bunch of old school friends meet for dinner. Lovely word 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      What a nice day to read about this word then! 🙂
      Thank you Kalpana!

      Like

  17. StyleBurp says:

    Thanks for sharing it. I heard the word first time and can relate it to the time when I met randomly with one of my old school friend in Delhi as she moved to Delhi. We both screamed, laughed and felt so happy meeting each other after so many years, can’t describe it. Your post took me back to those moments. Keep writing!! 🙂

    @bloggerabhi1 from
    StyleBurp

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad that this post helped you remember that wonderful day. 🙂
      Thank you so much!

      Like

  18. CM says:

    Oh boy .. in the romantic sense if someone meets me up for a coffee and says that by the end of it .. I ‘d be like floating on cloud 9. Seriously .. people should talk like this .. and am sure if you find yourself in the company of great conversationalists .. your so called anti social behavior would be a thing of the past..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Same here! It’s really hard to find people who talk really nicely and yet mean those words!

      I doubt that would help an introvert like me. Maybe someone who texts well, and uses a lot of nice words in them? 🙂

      Like

  19. Shalzzz says:

    Well, well, well! This word describes my life 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It totally would 😀

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

