Q for Qualtagh #AtoZChallenge

Qualtagh

Meaning: the first person one meets (either leaving or entering their house) after the start of the New Year.

Etymology: from a form of Gaelic known as Manx.

Usage in a sentence: “I hope my qualtagh is not a brother of Ron Weasley” 

qualtagh

There are many superstitions surrounding the first person you meet on New Year’s Day. The Scottish believe that meeting a person with a darker complexion is lucky. Some believe that meeting a male person is luckier than meeting a female person. Qualtaghs bearing gifts are supposed to represent what the New Year will usher into your life.

I honestly don’t remember anything about New Year’s Day, except going to church in the morning, and coming back home and studying for the rest of the day. The next reason for getting out of the house was classes prelims. I, therefore, am making a very educated guess, that the first person I probably met was my classes friend. (“Look, she’s so smart, she could beat a mountain troll at a GK test.”~Fab)

So, who was your qualtagh this year? Go on, rack your brains, and comment! Also, spread the love by sharing this post with your qualtagh 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Unused Words .

P.S.: I just realised that I have forgotten to mention that the qualtagh cannot be a family member, or someone who stays in the same house. (24th April 2016)

46 Comments Add yours

  1. Rian Durant says:

    *noting down another word* Do the people in your own house count? Btw I know there is a holiday where I live with the same significance but I don’t remember which was it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      No they don’t count. It usually is for a stranger or a guest. I forgot to add that in the post *hides face*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If I knew there was going to be skill testing questions, I wouldve stayed in bed 😛

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    https://yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Much like Ron Weasley in the Philosopher’s Stone 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My Era says:

    I am just guessing, but I think the qualtagh for me might have been the milkmaid. She works hard under the sun and has a good tan so that must bring good luck. As far being a male, okay, I’m roping in my feminist thoughts to tame lady luck.
    Technically, I now know why 2016 is going to be ‘The Good Year’ for me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The milkmaid, hmm. Then maybe it would have been the newspaper guy for me. I’m kinda recalling New Years day right now!
      It’s just a superstition you know. Maybe made by people who were chauvinists 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Qualtagh …
    Something nice fact

    I read somewhere that the person you meet when you leave your house on valentines day .
    You get married with them soon

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Arre re! Thank goodness I didn’t step out of the house on Valentine’s Day. Was busy preparing for exams! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cool word….N I am gonna check whom I see first on new year and have gun 😀 all thanks to your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Sure! And do spread the word about his word too! 🙂

      Like

  6. Yep. New Year’s Day is all about heading to church in the morning, dozing off during mass if possible and then coming home to the family to feast. As always, it’s the feast that gets me going.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I doze off during every mass *hides face* *clamps mouth shut*
      The New Year’s Day Feast is surely amazing. All the lovely food. It reminds me of the feasts at Hogwarts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. richajindal says:

    I remember my Qualtagh this year was Lord Krishana he’s black, I went to d temple.
    @2richajindal
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/quality-assurance-packers-movers/
    http://richajindal.com/wrong-eating/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s nice to know 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Kalpanaa says:

    Another amazing word. Qualtagh. I’m trying to remember mine. Does it count from the morning or the first person you see as the clock strikes twelve. I guess that would be my mother, with whom I was spending New Year. Can’t believe we’ve reached Q of the A to Z.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess it would be from when the clock strikes midnight.
      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Mason Canyon says:

    What an interesting word and I haven’t a clue who my Qualtagh was.

    Mason
    Alex’s Ninja Minion

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m racking my brains here too. Better luck next year 😀
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 says:

    Hmm Qualtagh….who was mine? Must be my family of course! Yet another new word to add to my repertoire! Bro of Ron Weasley…hehehe!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that 🙂
      The first person I thought of when I read about the superstition was Ron Weasley 😛

      Like

  11. Sunila Vig says:

    What a fabulus word Mithila 😀 No idea but it has to be either daughter or husband 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Sunila 🙂
      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that *hides face*

      Like

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Are you serious? There is a word for it and people actually believe in such superstition? I really had no idea about it!
    Thanks for enlightening me.

    I, on New Years’ usually hang out with my friends and spend a good time 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      If you go to search, you’ll find a superstition for every damn thing in this world! 😀

      That’s a great way to ring in the New Year! 🙂

      Like

  13. Rajlakshmi says:

    It has been my husband for a long time 🙂 Your posts make me realise how bad my English is 😛

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that 🙂
      We are all learning and growing here in the blogosphere, Rajlakshmi. My blog posts help you, and so do your travel posts 🙂

      Like

  14. My qualtigh was my husband – making it easy for me to answer the question for him, as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that 🙂

      Like

  15. Shilpa Garg says:

    Interesting word. This year my qualtagh was my son or was it the dhobhi?? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Your qualtagh could have been the dhobi. I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!

      Like

  16. Modern Gypsy says:

    Ooh, this is a good one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. All I can remember about New Year’s DAy is going for mass in the morning. Don’t exactly remember whom I first met this year. And I love this word. Never knew that such a word existed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe that’s the story of all of us church-goers! There are just too many people to wish in the morning one the way to church! 🙂
      Just an update: I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!

      Like

  18. There is an actual word for it……….wow

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Just like Raj, my qualtagh has been husband now for a long long time! 🙂

    And I wouldn’t want that to change ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!
      Sorry for that 🙂

      Cheers to that! ❤

      Like

  20. 2 AM Writer says:

    Wut? O.o i had no idea that words like this even existed… Or that first person you meet after new year had it’s own word. Damn. This is why i stalk your blog 🙂 awesome

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Just an update: I missed it out while typing the post, but qualtagh indicates an unknown person or a stranger!

      I had read about this word sometime back in a children’s magazine or something, and had promptly forgotten about it until I started researching for the post!

      Hehe, you can keep stalking my blog dear 😉

      Like

  21. Jayanthi says:

    QULATAGH – in my part of the world it is your own refelction in the mirror. A special mirror made from a special place. I wrote about it on my blog for K – as in Aranmula Kannadi.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s good to know 🙂

      Like

  22. Shalzzz says:

    noooooo idea! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

