M for Monachopsis #AtoZChallenge

Monachopsis

Meaning: the subtle but persistent feeling of being out of place, as mal-adapted to your surroundings as a seal on a beach—lumbering, clumsy, easily distracted, huddled in the company of other misfits.

Etymology: Greek; monos= solitary, alone, or unique + opsis= like, appearance

Pronunciation: mawn-a-Khop-sis

Usage in a sentence: “The feeling of monachopsis persisted. She chewed gum in an uninterested fashion, as she sat among the group of football addicts.”

monachopsis

You may have probably felt monachopsis if you had been enrolled into too many extra classes as a kid. Maybe you hated painting, and nothing could get you interested in the world of colours, shades, oils, and canvas. The sight of tyros working with a keen look on their face made you nauseous.

And if you were a class topper, you will clearly identify with this: Being stuck in a group for a class project, with students who have no clue about what’s going on in their academic lives. They do not know what they have to do, nor do they understand the simple instructions that you give them. You, thus, go on to explain to them the working of the sodium-bicarb-volcano experiment, and then realize that they do not even know how to write sodium bicarbonate using chemical symbols. Ugh!

Being in such groups has a harmful effect on your talents. In the first example, it’s pretty easy to see the harm caused by going to that art class. If you hadn’t joined the class, you could have had more time to pursue some other activity which fascinated you. And then, another subtle effect: You would have never developed a dislike for art. You may have learnt to appreciate it, although from a distance. In the second example, if the smart student were to be placed in a group of students having the same level of intellectual caliber, he/she could have grown and developed. Ideas would have blossomed, and they would have probably used tomato ketchup and baking soda, for a slower, and more dramatic explosion. Or they would have thought of using dry ice for a smoky effect.

That’s why they say, “Birds of the same feather flock together.”

So, which is that one place you hate going to, because you have absolutely no idea what to say and what to do? Or who is that one friend whose company always makes you scream out in boredom? Do share the experience you’ve had with this feeling of monachopsis!

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows .

I read the volcano experiment ideas at Mashable

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Monachopsis …I feel this with ‘relatives’ .

    Enjoyed learning a new word and the example you gave of art and sodium biocarb😂.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Don’t we all! Relatives talk about some things that we young ones don’t understand at all!

      Glad you liked them, Dixita 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    I feel this many times. I’m comfortable in company of friends but sometimes my mind wanders too much and then in big groups i start feeling monachopsis 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! And these days, I feel monachopsis more often, as all I want to talk about with friends is blogging, and no one understands anything about it 😀

      Like

  3. My Era says:

    For me it has to be an art class. I am a total misfit there.
    Students in a chemistry lab not knowing the formula of Sodium bicarbonate? Now that is a sin no?
    I loved your analysis of sending students like to the art class 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It totally is sad. That students don’t know the chemical formula of sodium bicarbonate. Forget about valencies and all 😀
      Thank you so much, dear! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome. I feel this when I am made to watch cricket!! 🙂
    I have a feeling you might like wordsmith.org, if you don’t already subscribe to it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      *virtual hi-fi*
      I do not know or understand anything about any sport, and I’m totally not interested in even learning anything about it. 😛
      I checked out the website, and it is pretty cool 😍

      Like

  5. Liz Brownlee says:

    Oh… places too many to mention, I’m an awkward soul in most settings, great word! And very happy to see you use the correct ‘uninterested’ instead of ‘disinterested which actually means ‘fair to all parties’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I didn’t think of “disinterested” at all when I typed the sentence. Thank you for sharing this tip 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mono-chopper (0.0)? What you said! 🙂

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    https://yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lata Sunil says:

    I take time to make friends.. I can relate to this Mona (thats my friend) chop (i hate that) sis (i love) .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s a perfectly nice way of remembering the word! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. RamyaRao says:

    The feeling of monachopsis is with my relatives . They are in their own world of idiocy and try to pacify me. That’s irritating. The feeling of monachopsis persists somewhere else too but I shall not reveal it 😛
    Ramya from Words & Me

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You too are like Dixita then!
      Okay 😉

      Like

  9. kalaravi16 says:

    Ahh so that’s what it is called! Yes, strong feelings of Monachopsis when I am with my husband at office parties where everyone is talking shop/business or politics! You are enlightening me with newer, never heard terms each day!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I often find that the best things to do in these situations is to pull out earphones, and listen to music. But that isn’t possible no, specially when you grow up? For me it’s the best solution 😀

      Like

  10. Out of place and clumsy? Hmmm, so not me!

    But I know a 197546788 people who fit into this word perfectly 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Do share it with those 197546788 people then. They’ll find a good word to add in their Twitter bios 😛

      Like

  11. Shilpa Garg says:

    There were times when I used to get severe bouts of monachopsis and that was when I was young. But now I think have overcome this feeling more or less. Yes, age does that to you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe when you grow up, we learn a little about everything, so we always understands what’s going on?
      I’m so waiting to grow up, then ! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Why do your words suits so much! And yet they’re uncommon! I feel this all the time. Okay, not all the time, but yes most of the times!

    Good one 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s probably the reason why you keep coming back to read my posts. Because they’re all unique, and yet so commonplace! 😉

      Like

  13. Vinay Leo R. says:

    I agree with Cafenined Words. the place I most feel out of place in is family functions. Especially with relatives who seem so adept at bringing up the M word from a conversation that isn’t even remotely close to it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That thing about relatives is truly bugging 😛

      Like

  14. 2 AM Writer says:

    Monachopsis is basically my entire school life summed up in one word. Thanks for this.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

