L for Limerence #AtoZChallenge

Limerence or Limerance

Meaning: An involuntary romantic infatuation with another person, especially combined with an overwhelming, obsessive need to have one’s feelings reciprocated.

Etymology: coined by Dorothy Tennov (1928–2007), American psychologist

Pronunciation: lim-ê-rêns

Usage in a sentence: “I think she’s limerent over him.”

limerence

Limerence is sometimes also interpreted as infatuation, or what is colloquially known as a “crush”. So if you want to impress your crush, tell him/her, “I’m limerent over you.”. 😛

 

Signs you’re experiencing feelings of limerence over a person:

  1. You’re obsessed with your crush. (“But isn’t that the staple necessity of having a crush over someone? Being obsessed with them?”~ Fab)
  2. You desperately want the two of you to be a couple.
  3. You are extremely sensitive to the emotions of your object of desire. Like, you’re happy when they reciprocate your feelings of love, and die tiny deaths every time they ignore you.
  4. You are completely immersed into the tub of love. And stalk their every move.
  5. You fear being rejected by him/her.
  6. You tend to cook up “reasonable” explanations for why neutral actions by him/her are a sign that they love you too.  For example, the way he stared at you during a lecture. He could have just been looking out of the window, and you happened to be in his line of vision. But no, you’ll probably imagine him kissing you under the moonlight, just because he stared at you during a lecture.
  7. You think about your crush, even though you don’t even realise it. And it’s disturbing your daily schedules a little, a little more than usual.
  8. Your ideas for an ideal date are far-fetched. The possibility of them occurring is as high as me having straight hair.
  9. You occasionally dream about the fantasies you have.
  10. Wikipedia says that awkwardness, stuttering, shyness, and confusion predominate at the behavioral level. Less common effects include insomnia, loss of appetite, and passing out.

And if you thought that people displaying the above symptoms are a bunch of whackos, congratulations, you’re not limerent.

If you haven’t heard “Can’t Stop” by Maroon5, do check it out. The lyrics completely describe a limerent person’s behaviour!

So, what was that one embarrassing moment you had when you pulled up the guts to go and talk to your crush? Share it in the comments section, and maybe, just maybe, I will post my embarrassing moment there too 😀

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Wikipedia

 

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Limerence, huh? Well, I confessed my crush to the gal, but she just laughed. 😛

    I suppose the class introvert having a crush must have looked funny to her. I just turned tomato red and walked out of the classroom and buried my head in a library book.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      At least she didn’t slap you 😛
      Books are always the saviours for us introverts, don’t you think? 😀

      Like

      1. Vinay Leo R. says:

        Good point, but no, she wouldn’t have. 🙂 We were good friends. And still continued to be after. 😛

        And yes, books are definitely a saviour for an introvert. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          Now that’s rare. Still being friends with her 🙂

          Like

          1. Vinay Leo R. says:

            Yeah. We were kids. Who’d hold on to something like that forever? 🙂 We ended up talking about a Famous Five novel the next day and that was the end of the awkwardness.

            Like

  2. Crushed 😉

    He he enjoyed reading .
    I so miss all my crushes while reading it .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      LOL! Understand the situation of all those guys who have a crush on you 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I prefer crush; as it makes sense how you feel when she laughs at you (“Crushed” apposed to Limerenced?)

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    https://yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      *limerent would be the adjective form 😀

      True. ‘crush’ has a pun in it. Makes sense 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! Never had those guts actually 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rian Durant says:

    Yay another word I didn’t know. Sounds a bit pretentious but I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad you did, Rian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kalaravi16 says:

    Sigh!! Oh you young ‘uns and your crushes and limerences! Too many things cooking in the head that are desperate to come out! Never had an embarrassing experience thank God!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We young ‘uns have all the time in the world to dream about our crushes. What to do 😀
      As we grow older, we *hopefully* grow wiser! 😉

      Like

  7. Lata Sunil says:

    *clearing my throat* I walked up to my ‘limeree’ (if there is a word like that) and just started talking as if he is a close friend which he was but only in my head. Now, I find it very funny. But at that time, I was shivering.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! It seems like a good idea. Did it work out? Or did he notice that you were shivering too much? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lata Sunil says:

        Hmmm that would be a different series..💜💚

        Like

  8. Rajlakshmi says:

    immediately took me back to my schooldays when I had this massive crush on the Head Boy. 😛 That point no. 6 is so right on 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Perks of being in a co-Ed school! 😛
      That point is the best one, according to me ! 😀

      Like

  9. RamyaRao says:

    Haha. I wasn’t limerent over anybody 😛 . But reminds me of friends who were and made me the medium to talk to their crush.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Playing match-maker is certainly a weird job. Haven’t done that at all, though it would be good to see how it’s done 😀

      Like

  10. Modern Gypsy says:

    Another beautiful word!! Limerence – oh, how many times it has struck an arrow straight at me heart and left me completely tongue tied! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Doesn’t love, whether it is real or infatuation, make all of us go dewy-eyed? 😉

      Like

  11. My Era says:

    My best friend was limerent over a senior of ours in college. She pushed me to go speak on her behalf. But, before I could put in (appropriate) words the message I was sent to deliver, he (our senior) said he was limerent over me :O :O
    What followed was crazy but somehow our friendship survived.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Damn! Love triangle at its best! 😀
      It’s good that the friendship survived. That’s what matters at the end of the day. Friendship > Love, anyday, in my dictionary 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. CM says:

    okay , now out with it. Whose causing all the Limerence to [ or is it for ] you? That list definitely doesn’t seem like ‘researched’ if anything all those [ and hopefully not the 10 th one , coz that sounds serious !!] are signs experienced first – hand.
    And there you were going all .. why are people going Lovey-Dovey on the TL today ..huh?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The first nine were not researched. Like, at least not on the web. It’s mostly from observing other people, and making mental notes all the time. I observe people a lot, and most of my blog posts are based on observations 😀
      The tenth one is actually from Wikipedia. Haven’t yet experienced it, though 😛

      That TL was just bugging me. Everyone selecting love as the theme at one go just made me a little dizzy. 😀

      Like

  13. the little princess says:

    we have all been there done that..haven’t we? 😛

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hahaha.. aren’t we all doing these things at some point during our teenage years? 😛 Now you can impress your crush with your fab vocab 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Honestly, I have zero crushes right now. I’d rather tweet “I’m limerent over you” to Adam Levine, and see what he says 😀

      Like

  15. Limerence=Chris Hemsworth for me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Aha. *remembers Thor* *feels like blushing* 😀

      Like

  16. inquisitivegeet says:

    My goodness! What an amazing and powerful word!!
    And to a person like me, it’s so hard to keep your feelings in control 😛
    Good to know, I’m not the only one 😉

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m pretty sure you found many more people out here in the blogging world too, courtesy the comments section 😀

      Thank you for stopping by, Geets 🙂

      Like

  17. 2 AM Writer says:

    Does having a super massive crush on Malfoy count?? Infatuated since the age of 12, i think 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

