K for Kakorrhaphiophobia #AtoZChallenge

Kakorrhaphiophobia

Meaning: abnormal fear of failure

Etymology: Greek phrase Kakos, “bad and evil,” and Phobos, “fear.”

Pronunciation:  kak·or·rhaph·io·pho·bia

Usage in a sentence: “The husband had kakorrahaphiophobia. He was scared of failing to please his wife.”

kakorrhaaphiophobia

Okay. Maybe that sentence I gave as an example was too extreme 😛

Failure is an extremely evil emotion. It gnaws at you and makes you doubt yourself. It is usually accompanied with its friends – resentment, dejection, sadness, depression and hopelessness. People who prefer looking at the negative side of things are more susceptible to this army of feelings.

As writers, we have all faced varying degrees of failure. Rejected manuscripts, posts with no comments, books that didn’t get the needed acclaim, posts which people didn’t like, submissions for online contests which didn’t make the cut. It all happens, and you would be kidding if you say it never happened to you. You survived through all these things, and that made you better. You adapted, and that’s what made all the difference.

failure success try

So, even if you’re hiding within you a sliver of the you-know-what phobia, take it out, and shred it away. Share your worst fears here today, and I’m sure, the amazing blogger community out here would take a minute and help you get out of the pits of Tartarus.

~Word-Scavenger

Information sourced at Merriam-Webster

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting to know this.

    As writers life isn’t easy .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yup. You would know better, and it’s great that you still manage to type lengthy posts from your mobile!
      Kudos, girl ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shalzzz says:

    When I read the word, I was like WHATTTTTT!! Such a word exists?
    Cool selection of word!

    Visit to read Army Wife Tales at Tale of Two Tomatoes
    You can also drop in to check 26 Chicken Recipes at Something’s Cooking

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you, Shalini 🙂

      Like

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    Gosh! That’s a scary looking word with scary implications!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But you mustn’t be scared of the word, must you? 😀

      Like

  4. Lata Sunil says:

    You know Mithila, I have this.. this kakorrhaphiophobia (I cut & pasted it). I have actually not sent stories to any contests (just 1 till now – it was published). But the fear of rejection, stops me everytime. I write sometimes and then I do not send it. Now I know what ails me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe I should tell Dia and Sameer to give you just the right motivation to send a story to a contest! 😀
      Just a tip: Why don’t you write the post, and show it to a few people whom you know would give you the perfect analysis of your post? because then if they tell you that they like your post, you will feel motivated to send it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sunila Vig says:

    Gosshhh what a might word Mithila 🙂 This can be a huge stumbling block for many of us…and many may term this caution 😉

    http://www.sunilavigauthor.blogspot.com.au/2016/04/karna-for-k-for-a-to-z-challenge.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It helps to get over the fear of getting over fears. It surely does 🙂

      Like

  6. Rajlakshmi says:

    I now have Kakorrhaphiophobia of not being able to pronounce it. Quite a mouthful isn’t it!! kakorr… kakoraa… gosh… where the heck do you find these words 😛

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      There’s triskaidekaphobia too. Fear of the number 13. 😛

      Like

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    Oh you a Greek Mytho buff too? What a word this is…..are you sure you didn’t make this one up? LOL! Well, seriously speaking, my biggest fear currently is how in the world am I going to complete letters L – onwards, falling back dreadfully! I am totally ‘kakorrohafied’!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I certainly am not good at making words up. My alter ego’s name is so boring (Fabulus), and I couldn’t even think of a decent domain name when I shifted to wordpress 😀
      It will happen. See, you’ve already reached letter N. And you will finish the challenge successfully. I am always here to cheer you on, Kala 🙂 ❤

      Like

  8. My Era says:

    A scary word for a dangerous phobia. I loved that quote ❤
    The negative feelings army are a trap, once you befriend one of these, the rest won't take long to engulf you and ruin your life.
    My worst fear would be 'fear of reptiles'. Yes, even the domestic lizard scares me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, dear 🙂
      True! It’s like they line up like ants, waiting for the mother ant to scream “attack”, and then they all follow! 😀
      I’m scared of animals. And that’s the reason why I promptly run away from any living being that’s not human 😛

      Like

  9. RamyaRao says:

    I have a kakorrhaphiophobia of messing up my life by making a wrong decision. I know, must have that right? Yet, the fear is so much about not knowing what to do further doesn’t let me sleep. Don’t tell anyone I told you that. This, words, making me spill the beans. And that example, god! I read it again to see if I misread it . **lol**

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You must start playing chess. It will help you control your thoughts, and perfect the art of making decisions. And it will certainly let you sleep better at night! 😀

      And just a thought- a single action may mess up your life. But that doesn’t signify the end of trying to put your life back together! 🙂

      Like

  10. Kaddu says:

    I have a you-know-what-phobia of failing to write/pronounce this phobia!
    Kahan se dhoond ke nikala is khazane ko! 😀
    – Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      My teacher would recommend me to write difficult to write/pronounce words at least ten times. I give you the same advice 😛

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  11. Ah failure. I’ve known it up, close and personal. It makes me enjoy the things I have today more 🙂

    Kakorrahaphiophobia will never affect me. Without failure, success wouldn’t mean a thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Pearls of wisdom, Soumya 🙂

      Truly, failing at something shows you different ways you can get it wrong. So when you get it right, you know thousand different ways that you could mess up. A student struggling at Math would surely be able to identify with this 😀

      Like

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Now this is something that I face every single day. With something or the other… I have Kakorrhaphiphobia.. and man, you really have to watch your tongue while saying it out!

    Interesting word it is indeed 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then make it your challenge to get over kakorrhaphiophobia!
      Fear is certainly stronger than any other emotion in this world, and I feel that even Death cowers down in front of Fear!

      Thank you Geets 🙂

      Like

  13. Seeya says:

    I never knew fear of failure which is a c mmon feeling had such a complicated word 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Phobias complicate everything even more! 😀
      Thank you Seeya 🙂

      Like

  14. Wow! There was a word for that? And the first time I saw the word I was like “Is it even a word?” Mithila my vocabulary is becoming fab after reading your fab posts. Keep them coming girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      There’s a word for every fear in the world, and this word is the crowning jewel 😀
      Delighted to hear this, Reema! I do hope that these words find their way into your blog posts soon 😀

      Like

  15. Vinay Leo R. says:

    the fear is for failing to live up to expectations, I think. once upon a time, it used to be others’ expectations of me. but trying hard to make sure I don’t fear that now, and just to be happy to live up to my own expectations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Living up to your own expectations is certainly better than living up to those of others. Because expectations from others change, and don’t really test your own abilities! Whereas you know yourself better, and should certainly meet your own expectations! 🙂

      Like

  16. 2 AM Writer says:

    An almost universal sentiment, the fear of failure stops you from even trying.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

