J for Jouska #AtoZChallenge

Jouska

Meaning: a hypothetical conversation that you compulsively play out in your head—a crisp analysis, a cathartic dialogue, a devastating comeback—which serves as a kind of psychological batting cage where you can connect more deeply with people than in the small ball of everyday life.

Etymology: Not known (at least to me)

Pronunciation: JOW-ska

Usage in a sentence: “She indulged in the feelings of jouska, mostly at tea time.”

jouska

Don’t we all do this when we dream of talking to our crushes? *blush* And if you’re all grown up now, you might have been guilty of this in your teenage days. Even if you’re vigorously shaking your head reading this statement.

More practical examples, which are applicable to other demigods.

  1. You want to approach your boss for a pay raise. You practice all the movements: the slight stuttering and flattery, and finally popping the question.
  2. You want to fight with Arnab Goswami. And win. You concoct the perfect conversation you will have with him at 9 pm on the Newshour. On a topic he doesn’t know much about (I wonder if it’s even possible that he doesn’t know something). You dream of screaming louder than he does, and he finally concedes, listening to you, meekly accepting defeat.
  3. You imagine talking to your friends about your new boyfriend. Trying to make him sound more appealing than he actually is. Just so that you don’t look like an absolute idiot in front of your friends, who clearly have better baes than the one you have hanging around your neck. (Or maybe they’re pretending too?)
  4. You salivate as you think of hundreds of ways to give a mouth-shutting comeback to your enemy. Or that person who always tries to find fault with you.

If you’re wondering what I jouska about, I’ll put it out here. When I was in my Daniel-Radcliffe-loving phase, I used to constantly think about this – He’s in mortal danger, and I’m a secret service agent. Who saves his life. And he falls in love with me. And we live happily ever after. I could fill thousands of books with the conversations I’ve had with DanRad in my mind ❤

Now, I mostly think of nothing. Just blank walls and nothing else. I force myself to think about dialogues for my novel when I’m doing nothing. Or maybe talk to Fabulus. I don’t dream or fantasize about anyone right now. Writing is bae now. *sheepish smile*

So, which is the one conversation you are fixated with, and keep replaying in your mind every single moment of the day? Share in the comments section 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information source at Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

P.S.: Yeah, yeah, yeah. Still working on my masterpiece. Scheduled day for completion- 30th April. Might self-publish it by mid-May.

P.P.S: This post is the 100th post over at Fabulus and the Blue Life. 🙂

45 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Happy 100th post to your blog 🙂

    One particular conversation that keeps repeating in my head? I honestly don’t know if there is just one. Just when my mind is starting to get fixated on one, another takes over 😛

    But yeah, from the four you’ve mentioned, the last one is something that I have done often. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Vinay 🙂
      The last one is going to be pretty common, I must say. The jouskaing about Arnab Goswami is something that’s just unique to me, I guess 😀

      Like

  2. Haha this is cute funny and very good one post .

    I was like imagining myself with every situation you mentioned in.

    I JOWSka myself with Ruskin bond many times 😝
    Love your fantasies .
    Keep writing 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Even the Arnab Goswami one? No girl, you have to think only about Ruskin Bond 😛

      Thank you so much, Dixita! Your enthusiasm is infectious ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hahaha
        Loyal me :p

        Like

  3. Aadhira says:

    I jouska myself with the happenings of the day and what would have made the situation better and how I could handle them better in future..

    Though I start with that, it wanders to many places and I lose track of myself as well as the conversation.. 😉

    Thanks for introducing the word.. 😀

    Congratulations on your 100th post.. Wishes for many more..

    And wow for the book.. All the very best!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That is a good thing to think about. But you shouldn’t start berating yourself or anything. Always learn from the past 🙂

      That’s funny. The conversations really flow from one corner to another every time 😀

      Thank you so much, Aadhira! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So, there is a word for it! Yes, i do it too. 😛

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Obviously you do it. Or else how would you have come up with the mystery story? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mystery story! Yeah, that’s what I was thinking! I didn’t say murder, really I didn’t 🍀🐰

        Like

  5. Lata Sunil says:

    I am Jouskatik all the time.. now I know what to call it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That truly was the goal. Finding a word for the weird feelings we feel every day 🙂

      Like

  6. Shalzzz says:

    Haha! I never knew there was a word for it!
    And yes, I do it always. All the time!

    And yayyy.. Congratulation, girl. Many many more to come! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Mission accomplished! 😀

      Thank you so much, Shalini 🙂

      Like

  7. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Of course, I Jouska..all the time. I think we all do it, don’t we?
    Congrats for your fabulous 100th post, Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We all do it, but we never realised it till I did a blog post about it 😛
      Thank you Shilpa ❤

      Like

  8. Dahlia says:

    Oh so that’s what have been doing all these years! And my jouskas were wayy better than my current ramblings…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Now you have a word for that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Rajlakshmi says:

    Oh there’s a word for it too!! Congrats on 100th post 😀
    Point no. 2… no one can win that 😛

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right! But I will find a way to defeat Arnab Goswami. I will 😀

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 says:

    Oh, I finally can pin my a name to that sort of behavior/thought! Your examples were hilarious Mithila. I am wondering how to brag about this new word in my circles….jousking that now! Congrats on #100!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wishing you all the luck with that, Kala 😀
      I’m glad you enjoyed the examples! 🙂

      Like

  11. Learned a new word today, Jouska. Done the first one when I wanted boss to sanction my one month holiday for new year:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah. Did it work then? 😀

      Like

      1. Of course. I still remember got the paper from HR and filled since a week. A monday was planned to make her sign, she was in a fool hardy mood. So on Friday when she was leaving office and said cheerfully bye to me, I said Ma’am just a second my holiday sanction and she inked it:)

        Like

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    O I indulge in jouska all the time! I don’t know why? I sometimes like doing that, but sometimes I feel like wrecking my own head against the wall 😛

    Congratulations to your 100th post!

    Cheers to many more…
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s okay to indulge in jouska sometimes, Geets. Don’t wreck your head against the wall, or else how will I get to read your amazing posts? 😉

      Like

  13. Yayyyyy! Happy 100th my dear. Wishing you thousands more ❤

    Jouska is something I always indulge in with myself. You know, for expert advice 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah mahn. I guess your jouskas will be better than the ones we ordinary mortals have 😀

      Thank you so much, Soumya ❤

      Like

  14. Novemberschild says:

    The imaginary and often lively conversation that you carry out in your head between yourself and someone else – let me confess I always have one running. When you’re psyching yourself up for a confrontation and you want to practice the calm, measured argument you’ll say (which will immediately be thrown out in favor of crying once the argument starts). Or when you’re driving home and think of the perfect comeback and imagine the scenario as it’d have gone if you hadn’t just gasped like a fish out of water when you got that sick burn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True that. Howmuchever we plan an argument, it always ends up in tears 😀

      Thank you for sharing this, dear 🙂

      Like

  15. Novemberschild says:

    Congrats on 100! What’s viewed and not sometimes makes no sense and I’ve concluded it just depends on which way the wind blows as there seems to be no reason behind it. Your postings are always special and I look forward to read more. Don’t tell the others but you’re one of my favorites. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you! ❤
      That's true. Sometimes stats make no difference at all, as long as a few dedicated followers like you read them, and give me feedback about it 🙂

      Like

  16. Rian Durant says:

    Another word I’ve never heard of. o.O I don’t think I’m having such conversations in my head except the ones for the stories, though. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Think think. It happens subconsciously you know. The jouskas and all 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Beat About The Book says:

    Ooh wow – the masterpiece nears completion! Good luck. Your secret service agent act made me laugh. As for what i jouska about – it would be no 4 most definitely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s one of my best jouska-ing memories. I sometimes still think about it, but catch myself doing it and laugh at myself then 😀

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  18. You know what? I do this all the time. Different people, different scenarios. Seriously we could write a book about it. How’s the idea? 😉
    And Congratulations girl on completing the century.. I’m pretty sure there are a lot more hundreds or say thousands to come. Proud of you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Seems like a great idea. A coffee table book about jouskas maybe? Because if we decide to write a novel, it will probably never end! 😛
      Hundreds? Thousands? I’m aiming for much more than that 😀
      Thank you so much, Reema. ❤ 😊

      Like

  19. My Era says:

    OMG! You are writing a book?
    Please pardon my ignorance about you writing a book cause you see I came across you and your fabulousness just recently. But, I can’t wait to get to read your work. Good luck with the project 🙂
    Congratulations on hitting a century of fabulous writing and here’s wishing many more for you.
    I used to indulge in jouska all the time until I chose to get so busy that I seldom get time to let conversations happen in my mind. And for a master-procrastinator like me, it is better this way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s okay. You were spared from all the dramatic and emotional posts on Facebook while I was writing it, and when I completed it 😀
      But why avoid jouska-ing? I mean, I get some of my weirdest blog post ideas from there! 😀

      Thank you so much for your wishes, dear. Coming from you, it means a lot to me 😊❤

      Like

  20. Shilpa Garg says:

    Congratulations on your first century and here’s to many many more!
    I indulge in jouska a lot too… I think it helps clarify and crystalize your thoughts too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I would say that jouska-ing helps to obtain a 3D analysis of a situation. Or maybe more dimensions? 🙂
      Thank you so much, Shilpa! *hugs* ❤

      Like

  21. I’m guilty of jouska-ing / jousking! Now I know there is a word for it. I do it all the time. 🙂
    Arnab Goswami – haha!
    Another super duper one, Mithila. I’m loving your theme and your posts, more every day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s a good thing now. Mission accomplished 😀

      I’m glad you’re loving the posts. I promise to never let you down 🙂

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

