I for Indefatigable #AtoZChallenge

Indefatigable

Meaning: always ​determined and ​energetic in ​trying to ​achieve something and never ​willing to ​admit ​defeat

Etymology: early 17th century: from French, or from Latin indefatigabilis

Pronunciation: in-di-fat-i-guh-buh l

Usage in a sentence: “Our History professor is indefatigable.”

indefatigable

 

This word isn’t weird. But the first time I used it in life, has a very weird story attached to it. Grab your tubs of popcorn. A caramel flavoured popcorn for Fabulus, and a Cheese flavoured one for me.

When I was in ninth grade, I had been asked to write a Prayer Service script for Teacher’s Day. I diligently wrote it down, asking the heavens to shower their blessings on our dearest teachers. There were many small prayers, and they would be assigned to different students to read at the School Assembly. In one of these small prayers, I had written the word ‘undefatigable’.

After finishing the first draft of the prayer, I quickly wrote it down neatly on a new sheet. Teachers are sticklers for neatness and cleanliness, and my handwriting wasn’t the epitome of beauty. I had been instructed to give it to my English teacher for corrections and editing, and then go back to attend class. I polished off a few grammatical errors, and corrected some spelling mistakes. I then went to the staff room, submitted the sheet to my teacher, and left.

I walked to my classroom, and settled down quickly, as the lecture was about to start. (“I can’t believe she actually wrote ‘settled down’ and not ‘sat down’. I guess she’s too nostalgic about school right now.” ~ Fab) I pulled out my History textbook from my bag, and began to read it. That was me in ninth grade, reading, and absorbing as much knowledge as I could.

Suddenly, I felt a little ping of alarm. A weird feeling that I had done something wrong. I kept pondering over it, scrunching up my eyebrows, wondering whether I had forgotten to do something. Maybe I had forgotten to carry the textbook for the next lecture?

I opened my bag to check whether I had my Math textbook, and saw my dictionary sneaking a peek at me. I felt the urge to open it, just to check out the etymology of the word ‘undefatigable’, because I had used it for the first time in my life that day.

Lo! I couldn’t find it in the Dictionary! I remember saying this to myself, “Was it a complete disaster? Me trying to show off my spelling skills with the English teacher?” I quickly ran to the ‘I’ section in the dictionary, and right enough, found ‘indefatigable’ there.

The next scene was quite hilarious. I ran out off the class, without asking for permission from the Class Monitor (hell, I was the Yellow House Assistant Captain. I could do whatever I wanted). I had short hair at that time, and I just wore a hairband to keep it in place. Unfortunately, the hair band couldn’t control the freedom I had given to my hair as I ran like a maniac. My prefect’s scarf had twisted and turned over to the wrong side. I was lucky I still had my specs on.

I reached the staff room, The first words I yelled out when I saw my English teacher were, “It’s indefatigable, not un.” She looked at me quizzically, thinking that I had completely lost my mind. I looked back at her, wondering if she hadn’t heard me correctly. So I repeated, “That word. I wrote ‘undefatigable’. It’s ‘indefatigable’.” It took her a few seconds more to connect my face with the student who gave her that prayer service sheet. She dug around her books and found the paper. It then struck me that all this drama was unnecessary. My teacher had been busy with some other work, and she hadn’t opened my sheet. She hadn’t noticed the error. I didn’t know what to do, how to slink back into the safe confines of my classroom. So I slithered away, muttering something about a lecture, and teachers, and half-walked-half-ran back to my class.

But the bright side is, I didn’t have to bear the humiliation of getting a spelling corrected to me by someone else. Getting a spelling wrong wouldn’t mean much to anyone else.  But for me, it was the difference between Heaven and Hell. And still is.

 

Weird stories apart, who’s that indefatigable person in your life? Someone who doesn’t tire of attaining perfection in whatever they do, just because they can’t bear being slobs? Or who’s that person who does everything, and never shows any outward signs of exhaustion? Share this post with them, and tell them that you appreciate what they do for you 🙂

~Word-Scavenger

Information sourced at Cambridge Dictionaries Online

44 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    🙂 I’ve memories with prayers that were written for assembly time, but not one like this. 😀 my word associated memory comes when I used a thesaurus on every word of a letter. 😛 (kind of like Joey in F.R.I.E.N.D.S) and my teacher told me that that doesn’t work that way. Haha. Thankfully, I’ve had good English teachers always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I bought a Thesaurus, and it was the first book I bought for myself. But now with the online thesaurus, it does seem a little outdated 😀
      Truly a weird behaviour, Vinay 😀

      Like

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! That was funny. Yes, I’ve heard of yay word Mithila. You were right about your I word. Don’t we try to do that all the time?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad you liked the post! That makes your score 2/26 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Parul Thakur says:

        Lol! Poor vocabulary, eh?

        Like

  3. kalaravi16 says:

    Oh you poor girl! But I can understand what you felt at that moment and you are right its the difference between Heaven and Hell! Indefatigable would perfectly describe my better half! Cheers 🙂
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m right, no? *pats self on back* 😛
      Do tell him that, you know. People who are indefatigable need to know that what they’re doing for us is not in vain 🙂

      Like

  4. Awww girl you were curious from school life relating to spellings, loved the way you explained that day.

    Haha, yellow card girl with short hair 😍😍

    Loved reading it 🙂

    I is for Indefatigable not U

    😉
    Memory stored ☺☺

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I should post a pic of my asst captain days you know. All you bloggers will die laughing 😂
      I truly was curious about words as a child, and still am! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hahah post it ;))
        I am all waiting to see it .

        Like

  5. richajindal says:

    When ever I make a mistake it’s like d same feeling of hell n heaven. Though my friends tell me there is no need of that drama. Loved it.

    Richa
    http://richajindal.com/innovative-cooking/
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/international-moving-2/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I think it’s more important to learn from the mistake. And yes, if you’re a logophile you’re allowed a little bit of drama in life 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. My Era says:

    I have been just like you in my younger years. I would have probably reacted just like you did had I been in your shoes. Though I’ve mellowed down with age. Spellings and me aren’t in a committed relationship like you are but tidiness is. For things that fall in my radar of obsession, neat, cursive handwriting is just one of the zillion, you can feel me turning into a loon. So maybe, my friends would want to label me indefatigable but things have changed after I became a parent.
    Another fantastic post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s good to know. 😊
      You should probably stay away from my manuscripts and notebooks. The handwriting will make you shake my head vigorously and ask me what is wrong with me 😛
      I would still call you an indefatigable person. Even after being a parent, you write such amazing lengthy posts, and make it a point to comment on other blog posts. Cheers! 😊❤

      Like

  7. Sulekha says:

    It’s funny how this blogging challenge brings up old memories, things we had forgotten about or stored away in some deep recess come out, bringing a smile to our face. I could picture you running for your life, hair flying all over your face, twisted scarf, great imagery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! I remember small insignificant stories, and it makes me laugh. And I’ve just had seventeen years of cute stories. I wonder how the challenge is making veterans like you nostalgic! 🙂

      Like

  8. Yay!! So I know two words… I actually feel smart 🙂
    My Entry for the #AtoZChallenge –
    Tv Shows: I – Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s still 0/26 for me at your blog 🙈

      Like

  9. Indywrites says:

    School life is sure full of a lot of adventures!! The most indefatigable person would be my MIL!! She is a perfectionist alright!!! But has learnt to live with us slobs!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right. School life was the only time we could act like complete idiots, and get away with just a remark in the calendar 😛
      Do tell her that, okay. It will surely make her happy 😊

      Like

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    I once pronounced dilapidated wrong and my friends laughed their heads off… till today I check the pronunciation before using it anywhere 😀 As a student I too was serious about not making any mistake… specially not in English 🙂

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      My English teacher had once taught me this trick of breaking words down and then saying them. That’s the only reason why I know how to pronounce the longest word in the English language: Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis 😀

      Making mistakes is like a prestige issue for people like us, don’t you think? 🙂

      Like

  11. inquisitivegeet says:

    Ha ha.. Don’t worry that’s completely okay… and this word has a pretty good meaning. I should be used widely I guess.
    Thanks for introducing!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It surely should. Especially when we talk about people who’s contribution to our lives is too great! 🙂
      I do hope you liked this post 😊

      Like

  12. Sunila Vig says:

    Such a vivid picture of you running helter-skelter at school Mithila 🙂 It definitely is a big deal to me and I have always taken pride in my spelling and found it most shameful to get any wrong….Nice word.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You would have enjoyed participating in the Spell Bee. Or did you, in your school days?
      Even the videos on YouTube of Spelling Competitions is so cool. I’m always at the edge of my seat, wondering whether they’ll spell the word correctly or no! 😀
      Thank you for stopping by, Sunila 🙂

      Like

  13. Karan says:

    didn’t come to mind before, I would have loved to pen a poem on this one for ‘I’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You still can. Post it after the challenge! 😀

      Like

  14. Modern Gypsy says:

    Oh, another word that I absolutely love! And what a lovely anecdote! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. 2 AM Writer says:

    I tried typing the word “INDEFATIGABLE” without seeing just to see if I’d get it 🙂 Nice story. I love reading your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m sure you got it right in the first go 🙂
      Thank you so much! I really appreciate it! ❤

      Like

  16. inGeniousty says:

    Haha thanks for offering us with another unknown word. From where do you find such words?

    I- Wasting time with an Idiot

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      From a dictionary? 😀
      I mention information sources at the end of my post. I get the words from there!

      Like

  17. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aha! School assembly memories. I can imagine the whole scene unfolding in front of me. This made for a very interesting read, Indefatigable.. would be a friend of mine… mostly she inspires but sometimes she can be a pest too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      This comment coming from you, means a lot to me, Shilpa! 🙂
      Hehe, indefatigable people make normal people look like slobs sometimes! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  18. YaY! Words I understand and can pronounce! Thank you, Dearie!!

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha Mr. Rabbit. Was wondering where you had burrowed off too.
      The same can be said about me. I remember the murder mystery, but can’t find time to read your posts properly 😦
      Will catch up on all the posts I missed soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t left you, Dearie 🌹
        I have visited every day (or tried to).
        I am not a chatter rabbit like my sister, but u will make extra effort to respond in kind, yes? 🍀🐰

        Like

  19. Shalzzz says:

    Oh dear dear…!! 🙂 Funny but I can understand your plight 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It truly was a weird experience 🙈😁

      Like

  20. Finally a word that suits me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yayaya! Glad you could relate to the post, Soumya 🙂

      Like

  21. Dahlia says:

    I am kicking myself for not latching on to the typo at the first instance….

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

