E for Enouement #AtoZChallenge

Enouement

Meaning:Β the bitter-sweetness of having arrived in the future, where you can finally get the answers to how things turn out in the real world, but not being able to tell your past self.

Etymology: French (not sure)

Usage in a sentence: “If only enouement were possible in life..”

enouement

You would be quite acquainted with this feeling. Have you been in the following situations?

  1. You worked so hard for that Math test. You predicted that all the difficult-to-solve-but-easy-for-the-nerds questions would be asked. And when the paper finally found its place on your table, you see all the easy questions.The same ones you didn’t even bother to read. And now you have no clue about what to write in the answer sheet. You wish you had known this earlier, so you could have concentrated on the easier sums, and still managed to take some time out and watch that latest flick in the cinemas.
  2. You had absolutely no clue about how a situation would turn out to be. And then as you time passed by, it all started looking brighter and better. The only regret you now have, is that you didn’t trust yourself enough to accept what was going to come your way. And thus (probably) imagined all the worse-case scenarios, and got yourself worked up for no reason.

Maybe we could build a machine? To predict and foresee into the future? Would you be willing to buy/use such a machine? Share your reasons why or why not in the comments section! πŸ™‚

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced atΒ The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

52 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Been there, done that, gone past that. πŸ™‚ Especially for the first, and it was a Math test indeed. Thankfully, was good at the subject in school, so scraped through nonetheless. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Same here! Math is my forte, but I have to prepare for it. And if I see a sum that I haven’t read or done before, I go into panic mode πŸ˜›

      Thank you for stopping by, Vinay! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. My Era says:

    This is something that happens with me all the time, more do because I’m an anxious soul. Thank you for finally gifting me the word that best describes the awkward feeling I have experienced so many times in life πŸ™‚
    Loving your choice of words πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, some of us are so anxious about the future, that we forget to live in the present.
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the posts πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I.L. Wolf says:

    You are ahead of the game! What a great word, it’s always so satisfying when a single word can encapsulate an entire idea.

    @IsaLeeWolf
    A Bit to Read

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Just because of the time zones πŸ˜›

      Thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex says:

    Love this word. But you know, either self-fulfilling prophecies or once you get information from the future you make different decisions and now the information from the future is useless or something. It’d be a terrible idea one way or the other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Truly, Alex! It would remove all the joy of waiting for the future and what it holds for us! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. kalaravi16 says:

    Ahh, this word I knew! Time-machine would be nice or maybe not! I personally would like to life to surprise me but in a good way! Well elucidated Mithila.
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      WOW! How did you come across this word? I found it in an e-article, I guess.
      All of us love surprises, don’t we? And if we had a time-machine, maybe our readers would know what out next blog post would be πŸ˜›
      Thank you for stopping by, Kala! I’m loving your theme and posts. And the pictures you add are just fab πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sunila Vig says:

    Love the word Mithila πŸ™‚ I would definitely buy a time machine not so much to predict but more to visit and whizz around in historical times that I love and in mythological times too πŸ˜‰
    http://sunilavigauthor.blogspot.com.au/2016/04/ekalavyas-to-dronacharya-for-e-for-a-to.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes! You should use that time-machine, go back to our Indian roots, and write more amazing poems for us! ❀

      Like

  7. enouement …

    Haha math example was a hit 😝.

    Well written ☺

    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right!
      Thank you for stopping by ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Shalzzz says:

    No, not the future! I would love to go back to the past though. Weird, ain’t I πŸ™‚
    Great word. Going to my vocabulary list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I too would love to go to the past. The age in which the Egyptian Pharaohs ruled the world! πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you’re liking the words, Shalini! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shalzzz says:

        Exactly!! Whoa! You know what, when P asked whr I would like to go for our honeymoon, I said Egypt- the Pyramids! He freaked out πŸ˜› Honeymoon with the mummies staring at us, he said πŸ˜›

        Like

  9. RamyaRao says:

    I was good at maths. So enouement not required. At times I thought we needed the time machine because life is so messy. But if we had that there wouldn’t be any kick , right ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe some other subject then? Geography? πŸ˜›
      True. Time machines solve a few problems, but will create more in their wake! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. That’s a welcome addition to my dictionary thanx to perfect explanation by you buddy πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Roma πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Karan Shah says:

    how i wish enouement were possible in life….

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Miss Andi says:

    Hmm, tough question! I’d like to know if it’ll get better but wouldn’t like to know if it won’t! πŸ˜‰

    http://thescriptbible.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, that’s the whole problem of wanting to see the future! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Definitely the maths test. Put the same situation for Physics, Chemistry, Political Science… ugh! It’s been fun reading your posts. Keep it up!
    [@samantha_rjsdr] from
    Whimsical Compass

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Lol! I would like to apply it for Economics now πŸ˜›
      Thank you so much Ramya. Keep coming back for more πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. Rajlakshmi says:

    Where do you find all these words!! this one’s brilliant πŸ˜€ I will try showing off in my blogs now πŸ˜›

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahaha. Do use them in your blog πŸ˜›
      I’m glad you’re liking the posts. Do come back for more πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. Novemberschild says:

    Once you leave school, you won’t get word drills and homework assignments that force you to learn new words. It can be easy to stop reading. If you want to build your vocabulary, your blog is one stop shop during this whole month of April. This is a new word and I am adding it to my notepad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woohoo! I had selected this heme because I had stopped learning new rods so frequently after the Spell Bee got over 😦 This theme is making me discover new words every time! πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Novemberschild says:

        Spelling check please
        its theme no heme.

        Like

  16. Av8tor1988 says:

    Me personally, I would never build a machine where I could see into the future. The reason why I wouldn’t is that I love just living my life day to day and not really thinking about those things too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      And that’s the perfect way to live πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Sulekha says:

    I wouldn’t buy the machine because the surprise element is what makes life so interesting, knowing the future would just make life boring πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True, Sulekha. πŸ™‚
      What about a machine to revisit the past?

      Like

  18. the little princess says:

    Hey, this is a beautiful word, I like it…but no, I don’t want to see my future…let life unfold the way it does.

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      Yes, that’s the best way, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

      Like

  19. Shilpa Garg says:

    That’s a cool new word I learnt today. Well, I wouldnt use the time machine for future, but for past, yesss, definitely πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! And the past makes for some beautiful blog post ideas now, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚
      But predicting the future would get more readers into reading πŸ˜›

      Like

  20. Parul Thakur says:

    That’s a wonderful word I learnt today. Never knew that. And those situations – seen both and felt the same πŸ™‚ I am thinking how our experiences are so similar. Isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We’re soul sisters then *virtual hugs* ❀
      I'm glad that you can relate to my posts. Cheers! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  21. inquisitivegeet says:

    O this happens with me all the time. I worry about something and then in future everything turns out just fine and I realize I was getting paranoid for no reason.
    I kind of liked this word!
    And of course, I’d love buy that time machine. Life would be so much simpler!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Tell me about it. My friends always tease me for getting scared so much πŸ˜›

      Okay. I’ll get that machine manufactured and delivered to your blog-step, that will be cool πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much Geetika for stopping by ❀

      Like

  22. Beat About The Book says:

    OOh I loved this one and that math illustration was just perfect. Happens all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

  23. Modern Gypsy says:

    Happened with me and chemistry. Every damn time!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Chemistry was kinda easy for me. But I haven’t taken it in 12th, where it is actually difficult. Commerce student and proud of it πŸ˜›
      Thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Like

  24. If only enouement were possible in life.. You said it sistah!

    Like

  25. aseemrastogi2 says:

    Oh I guess, I have heard the word but didn’t really understand the meaning clearly until today. Experienced both situations quite a few times particularly the Maths one ;).

    Like

  26. Nibha says:

    I only wish it could be possible in life! *Sigh*

    Nibha @ Expressions

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

