D for Dilettante #AtoZChallenge

Dilettante

Meaning: a person who takes up an art, activity, or subject merely for amusement, especially in a desultory or superficial way.

Etymology: Latin (delectare) -> Italian (dilettare) -> Italian (dilettante)

Pronunciation: dil-i-tahnt, –tahn-tey, –tan-tee

Usage in a sentence: “I finally feel like I can call myself a writer now, rather than writing being just something I do on the side, as a dilettante.” ~ Molly Ringwald.

dilettante

My dabbling in Commerce is a dilettantish activity. Complete superficiality. *pops out from behind the computer screen* Just kidding. 😛

I am a dilettante when it comes to quilling and stamp collecting. I took it up just because it seemed beautiful. And now? You can see the dusty quilled cards I made for birthdays lying around the house. The quilling pen, and the quilling papers are all hidden away in the bottom shelf of my cupboard. The photo album I collected stamps in, is currently giving it company.

Scrapbooking was another of my pastimes. I think I gave it up in eighth grade itself. I threw out most of the scrapbooks, but kept a few that I still read when I get the time. I have scrapbooks on zodiac signs, a scrapbook on articles of Harry Potter in the newspaper, and one scrapbook on healthy lifestyles (Why the hell was I reading healthy lifestyle articles in eighth grade? 😮 )

So, which is that one subject or art you took up with a great deal of enthusiasm at the beginning and now it just fizzled out? Share your story in the comments section. Would love to read from you all! 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Dictionary.com

64 Comments Add yours

  1. My Era says:

    For me it has to be Oil painting. I used to paint plenty of canvases during school holidays but ever since I stepped in grade 10 I have never had the time or motivation to paint again *Sigh*
    Loving your take on the challenge, teaching or refreshing an interesting word everyday 😀

    My Era from @theerailivedin
    The Era I Lived In

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Oil painting 😍 That seems interesting, maybe your tiny tot can take it up soon?
      I’m glad that you’re liking the posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. aseemrastogi2 says:

    I guess it was art maybe :P. In our school, we had to choose between art or music in class 5 or 6 if I remember correctly. And I chose art just for the heck of it. It’s been years since I last picked up a paint brush or a colour pencil or even a pencil to sketch ;).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I would have taken music if I were given the option of art, though. I’ll never get myself down and dirty when it comes to colours and paints and all that 😀
      I guess art is something that we should let the pros do, and watch from a distance 😉

      Like

  3. Rian Durant says:

    I’m currently dilettante-ing at photoshop. It’s a kind of art, no? I can also say the same about blogging with my 1st blog birthday coming soon and not much to show. *blush*
    Nice choice of a word!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Photoshop 😍
      I’m currently working with Canva for the edits I’m using for the challenge..
      I celebrated my one year of Blogging in December.. Congratulations, and do keep going 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rian Durant says:

        Canva is amazing!

        Like

  4. rekhu24 says:

    I had taken classical music course.. I was very interested in it.. I am still interested but when people told you should never sing, my enthusiasm died. Also I had boards at that time.

    Oh! I want to join again.. No matter how bad my voice is.. atleast for my satisfaction and happiness 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Go join the classes now then. Don’t worry about what people say. Personally, I feel dancing and singing are two arts which should be practiced by all. Even if you’re not a good singer, both these arts help to relieve pain and stress through expressing emotions.
      Just do it 🙂

      Like

  5. Lata Sunil says:

    Mmm.. Glad you asked. I had a stamp collection till I was in the 11th. Now I do not know where that book is. I had pasted all the stamps country wise in a big ledger book. No funky albums in those days. I took up crochet for some time with crocheting during my train travel time. It was a big fad at the time and everyone was doing it. Now, like you say, the threads (which I took so much trouble to buy) and the needle is lying at the bottom of my drawer just taking up space. But I don’t have the heart to through it away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The photo album I selected was pretty simple, and tiny. I kept country wise stamps in each plastic holder, and the Indian stamps are kept category-wise!
      Crochet is something I can’t do. My fingers get too sensitive to that needle, can’t hold it for long! My sister tried teaching me to make basic friendship bands, and I made two for my friends in ninth grade 😉
      I do hope you get the time to take up crocheting again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. pythoroshan says:

    I should seriously be writing all this down.. The words you are teaching.
    But honestly, sad as it is to admit, quite a few things and major life choices I have taken sadly fall in this category.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You don’t need to write it down, doc.
      Stop by whenever you remember the word, the post is always there for you 😛

      Like

  7. Very well written ☺.
    My eyes is on harry litter scrapbook 😍.
    and wow you cultivated so many good hobbies in eight standard ☺☺.
    Loved it ,yes I also did lot of creative things but along with growing up 😂😂 I thrown them .

    D is For Dilettante ☺
    And I am dilettante to read your blog 😃😃.

    Keep writing .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I was searching for my HP scrapbook today and couldn’t find it. Did you take it already 😛
      Yes that’s true, we grow up, and find that some things don’t interest us any more. Sad no? 😦
      Don’t be a dilettante about reading my blog. You should be addicted to it by now 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No I did not take 😮😮you are saying so that I don’t take that na?

        Yes growing up 😕😕and that too CA students 😂😂 .peace .

        I am addicted 😉

        Like

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          No re!! I sachi couldn’t find it. I had made a scrapbook of a variety of things, and there was one scrapbook in which there were 7-8 pages of only HP trivia!
          Why would I not want you to read it 😦
          Yes yes, thank you ❤

          Like

          1. Hehe …don’t worry
            You will find it ☺
            All of a sudden, when you will not look for it .

            Like

  8. Shilpa Gupte says:

    “Baking is something I do as a.dilettante, but I have decided to work on those skills to become a noteworthy baker!” said I to myself a hundred times. Someday…someday for sure! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Aah! Baking! You know what will get you back on track to baking? Watch a couple of YouTube videos on the wonderful cakes that people make.. There’s one watermelon bread that someone made and it looked so pretty! If that doesn’t get you to start baking, I dont know what will 😀

      Like

  9. Me Otherwise says:

    For me, playing the key board is a dilettantish activity. I did it for sometime, and somehow didnt bother to make time for it and continue the skill… It died its own death 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Keyboard! I remember mime-playing the keyboard on my school desk during boring lectures 😛
      Do try and take it up again, no? The world can do with some more good music! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Beat About The Book says:

    I have so many of those – that means I am a dilettante at many many things since I like to dabble in all kinds of activities – crafts and gardening and painting and making cards – is there something like a perpetual dilettante?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Perpetual dilettante 😛
      Maybe I could do a blog post about the type of dilettantes- maybe they’re also called “wandering souls”? 😀
      Thank you for stopping by, and I hope you liked the post 🙂

      Like

  11. Kala Ravi says:

    Mithila, you’ve got to be a lit-prof, I am telling you! You explained that so well! Now let me think what are by dilletante activities…hmm baking, gymming, foriegn language classes….egads! I better stop!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe the explaining thing comes from those play-classes I held for my imaginary students when I was a little kid? 😛
      Foreign language classes will be an added boon, do try and take it up! There’s this app Duolingo which you could use if you want to brush up language skills, or learn a new language. Completely free, and I guess it’s available on the internet as a website too 🙂

      Like

  12. Karan Shah says:

    not just the word I am amazed by its meaning as well, how amusing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Haha thank you 🙂

      Like

  13. Modern Gypsy says:

    I love this word!! What did I take up as a dilettante? Let’s see – trying to learn Italian! I never did manage to keep up with learning the language!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Duolingo is your answer! Do check out the free app on Android, it really keeps you motivated to practice a foreign language everyday! 🙂
      Or you could learn it with a friend. Makes it more interesting!

      Like

  14. Sunila Vig says:

    Always loved the word and the way one says it Mithila , but it seems a tad show offish using it with general people , u know what I mean…I have dilettante-d from one thing to the other all through growing up, starting to be a detective 😉 Stamps, scrap books, violin, music-though I still sing, even my blog was initially like that but that is lesser n lesser Dilettante-ish nowadays 😀

    http://www.sunilavigauthor.blogspot.com.au/2016/04/dadheechi-or-dadhyanga-for-alphabet-d.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Exactly! 😀
      Wow! So many hobbies that you’ve jumped through, you’re making me envious 😛
      Do stay committed to blogging, Sunila. The poems that you’re posting at your blog are really wonderful ❤

      Like

  15. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Swimming, I think. 🙂 I started out with enthusiasm, but never felt that when it was time to go to the deeper pool. Couldn’t get past that fear. Dilettante… what a beautiful word. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m terribly afraid of swimming *hides face* I can only sit at the edge of the pool and shake my legs in the water 😛
      Thank you for stopping by, Vinay 🙂

      Like

  16. Frantic Fox says:

    I definitely have a few of those. Definitely Calligraphy, I got into all excited and stuff! Bought the pens, the inks and some brush pens! I wanted to learn and get better at it and do beautiful things – and then I remembered I’m left handed and it’s not as easy- XD

    So I got lazy with practice.

    I did that with the guitar too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Calligraphy seems like a very useful art. If you’re a blogger, you could use it for creating beautiful image-quotes, instead of using stock photos!
      Aah, the guitar! I wish I’d learnt to play that instrument!
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  17. Novemberschild says:

    One side benefit of being a dilettante: the skills and knowledge you can from one endeavor can carry over into others. It gives you a deeper, broader well of experience to draw from.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, and then you could recommend it to like-minded people too!
      Thank you for stopping by, and I hope you’re enjoying the posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Sulekha says:

    I had started to learn Bharatnatyam, a dance form practiced in Kerala, India. After a few months of training, I decided I wasn’t a good dancer, so I quit. I enjoyed the dance lessons and still remember the steps, a few of them 🙂 I am into acrylic painting now, immersed deep in it, hope the fever lasts 🙂 Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Dance! I’ve invented my own style of dancing, and fortunately no one can copy it! 😛
      Jokes apart, I’m always in awe of people who dance Bharatnatyam and Kathak. We used to have prayer services in school, and my friends used to dance on stage and it looked so admirable 🙂
      Do enjoy the acrylic painting, Sulekha 🙂

      Like

  19. Rajlakshmi says:

    I love quilling… long time since I made anything new but I love it still. My dilettante would probably be cooking … specially dinner 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahahahaha *hides face*
      I was planning to try out quilling to prepare a greeting card.. I guess I’ll finally remove that kit and start working 🙂

      Like

  20. inquisitivegeet says:

    Scrapbook, making cards are a few dilettante..!
    Well that’s quite a word I guess and good for you, you made us know this one.. You really are doing a fab job here 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Geetika 🙂
      You made my day ❤

      Like

  21. Shalini says:

    Cooking but it’s like i better not endanger people around me with jaw dropping experiments 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess it’s best to go to a chemistry lab and cook 😛
      Don’t worry, cooking is something you get better at with experience, so don’t hesitate to try all the possible dishes!

      Like

  22. the little princess says:

    I guess it would drawing…it started out like I was going to make a big deal out of it! turned out…. 🙂

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Go go, do pick up that pencil once April is over! For now, concentrate on giving us those amazing India posts 🙂

      Like

  23. Shilpa Garg says:

    My dilettantish activities would be collecting stamps and coins and feathers as a kid. And learning to make fondant cupcake toppers more recently. I have bought all the paraphernalia that”s needed for fondant sculpting, and believe me it’s quite a LOT and it’s all lying neatly in a drawer now. Thanks for this new word. I quite like the ring to it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Fondant cupcake toppers! 😍 I dont mind volunteering to gobble up the cupcakes that you make, along with the experiments in making the toppings #JustKidding 😛
      Decorating cupcakes is really a very relaxing activity. Do use that equipment, and start baking. Not in April, though! 😀

      Like

  24. Red says:

    Stamp collecting, in Junior High, at my boarding school EVERYONE collected stamps. It was an international school, so there were lots of cool stamps to trade. I don’t care to purchase them for collecting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! I hardly have any school friends who like collecting stamps!
      I dont like those ones which have that black stamp on it.. So if I find there’s a new stamp being released, I ask mom to buy it and keep. Will have to go and check for new ones soon 🙂

      Like

  25. 2 AM Writer says:

    Oouch. soft spot has been hit 😛 Yes. I’ve done tonnes of those let’s collect____ (insert object) and felt like I could pursue it. Love your theme!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  26. I had scrapbooks too! 🙂 One full of Dravid’s pictures and one full of Bret Lee’s. The moment I switched to a real-life crush, both books disappeared 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woohoo! My friends used to bully me into making a scrapbook of Daniel Radcliffe pictures. They used to get me one photo of him every day from different newspapers. I don’t recall what I did with the photos, though 😛
      Real-life crushes are any day better than the ones in photographs 😀

      Like

  27. RamyaRao says:

    For me it is quilling and glass painting. The paints , the ohp sheets and the quilled jewelry remain like some old memory lying around. Well written . 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Quilled jewelry! You’re piquing my interest in getting back to quilling 😉
      Glass painting is such a beautiful art! Do take it up soon, would love to see some of your work! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  28. Shalzzz says:

    Oh, tell me about it. Esp the quilling part 😛
    This is a great word! I should use it frequently.

    Like

  29. CM says:

    Hey , what a fabulous conversation starter.We start off with so many projects and eventually the enthusiasm fades off .. happens to most of us. now I know a word for it.
    blogging and social networking used to be like that..
    but thankfully not anymore 🙂

    Like

  30. Such a beautiful word!

    I always have loved cooking and drawing! I still pursue it so I guess I’m a dilettante as well 😛

    Like

  31. Nibha says:

    I’m a dilettante when it comes to cooking!

    Nibha @ Expressions

    Like

  32. Chicky says:

    Oh too many such activities! I have a hoard of incomplete stuff in my various cupboards. I like to believe that I will get around to them some day! 😛
    – Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      After the Challenge! Even once a week will do 🙂

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

