C for Caraphernelia #AtoZChallenge

Caraphernelia

Meaning: a condition in which someone abandons you but leaves their belongings behind, inducing painful memories

Etymology: name of a song by the band- Pierce the Veil.

Pronunciation: The song doesn’t have the word Caraphernelia in it. Maybe we’re allowed to pronounce it like – Cara+phernelia ?

Usage in a sentence: “He left me with Caraphernelia.”

caraphernelia

This word grabbed my attention because it quite rhymes with ‘paraphernalia’, but the fourth last letter and the first letter is different. And the meanings are poles apart. ‘Phernelia’ meansΒ recurring again and again or lasting an indefinitely long time, and ‘Cara’ is the ex-girlfriend of the lyricist cum lead singer Vic Fuentes, of the band Pierce the Veil.

We have all had that one person who promised us that they would stay forever. But, every one has a different definition of forever. For some, forever might mean- ’till death do us apart’, for others it could mean- ’till I find someone better than you’. The meaning of the word forever in some people’s dictionaries could be- ’till I need you’, and for the others- ’till I can bear you using me’. In all the cases, except the first one, one person in the friendship/relationship abandons the other. And it’s a sad affair: The one person who you thought would never leave you, did the very same thing that you were dreading. It’s worse if the person leaves without an explanation.

The word ‘belongings’ in the meaning could signify a lot of things- your favourite wristwatch that he gifted you, books that sheΒ loaned you, etc. It could also signify the intangible things- the text messages, the songs that they recommended, their way of laughing that you started copying and many more.

So, have you experienced Caraphernelia? Do men feel caraphernelia more than women? Let’s debate about it in the comments section! πŸ˜€

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced atΒ Tumblr

 

58 Comments Add yours

  1. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Oh yes! I have, and I am still coping with it, hoping things go back to what they were. But, things change, life changes, and we have to accept it, whether we like it or not. Caraphernelia! Nice word!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      They will, Shilpa, things always go back to normal. We take the lessons that we learnt, and become better individuals. That’s what life is all about, isn’t it? πŸ™‚
      Thankl you for stopping by ❀

      Like

  2. I have experienced Caraphernelia and it pained a lot. A friend who was to be a friend forever but forever has different connotations as you have enumerated in the post. For her, it was until she could bear me hurting her 😦 Yeah…the last line doesn’t paint a good picture of me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hey, don’t feel too sad or bad about yourself. If there’s one thing I’ve learnt about friendships, is that once they’re over, you learn many things about yourself, that you would not have learnt otherwise. You grow and evolve with each friendship. Don’t turn bitter about people, or stop making friends.
      Cheers, and do take care πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Rian Durant says:

    Now this is a word I haven’t heard of. Fortunately, I haven’t had such experience. I don’t know who’s more susceptible, though. I was tempted to say women but it’s a generalization. As always, it depends on the person.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’ve sprinkled a few words which are completely new and not found easily. πŸ˜€
      I wouldn’t want to say that women are the only people who experience caraphernelia.. But yes, they are more susceptible to showing that they are affected by it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kala Ravi says:

    Wow, never heard that one before! A pretty sad state to be left in! keep it coming Mithila.
    Cheers
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It is, isn’t it? 😦
      Thank you for stopping by, Kala ❀

      Like

  5. Once again the meaning of your post Caraphernelia is what I write in my post about .

    Loved your post .
    I am writing the words you see mentioning in my words diary ☺❀
    Keep writing .
    http://wp.me/p6m76X-3G

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes! I guess we read each other’s minds while preparing the word list and our blog posts πŸ˜›

      Thank you so much, and I’m super happy! Your comment made my day ☺❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ☺☺❀
        Heartstring connects .

        Liked by 1 person

  6. sulekha says:

    A new word to add to my collection πŸ™‚ People leave for reasons best known to them, the ones left behind cope as best as they can.As long as we realize that it’s all a part of life and move on…lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      What you’ve said is true and correct! πŸ™‚
      One shouldn’t get bogged down or feel sad about life just because one friend left. It may feel heartbreaking, but you need to move on. It’s for your own good, isn’t it? πŸ™‚
      Thank you for stopping by, Sulekha!

      Like

  7. Never heard caraphernelia, this was something new for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right? I had a couple of other words for this post, but I chose caraphernelia because it wowed me when I read the meaning πŸ˜€

      Like

  8. Parul Thakur says:

    It is so similar to Paraphernalia that I’m going to remember this one. I know many women who do this or get hurt but belongings of others who are not I their life anymore but I haven’t heard of men with similar troubles.
    Great pick!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yup, and it rhymes well with it too! πŸ˜€
      Exactly! It seems like men have way too much control over their emotions *hides face*

      Liked by 1 person

  9. vinodinii says:

    I haven’t come across this word, but it reminds me of one of my fav songs from the Hindi film Ijjazat, “Mera kuch saamaan tumhare pass pada hai.” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s great! That means, there was a song which kinda described the same emotions, before this word came into existence. That’s supercool πŸ˜€

      Like

  10. Karan says:

    I am sure everyone will have atleast one memory to relate to this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! πŸ˜€

      Like

  11. Kaddu says:

    Never heard of it before and never experienced it either. Dad does start missing mom though, every time I take out our old family photograph albums.
    – Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Well, you’re lucky now, aren’t you? πŸ˜‰
      That really is bittersweet.. Photographs in the digital age have an uncanny way of cropping up because of the tagged images and “Memories” feature on Facebook! At least photo albums can be hidden away in a corner!

      Like

  12. 2 AM Writer says:

    Wonderful! It’s an interesting word, languages are constantly evolving and our ability to add more words make us special. A beautiful write up, Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much!
      You should check out the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows. The editor adds new words regularly!
      Do stay tuned for all the weird words I present during this month πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Shalzzz says:

    loved it. That’s a great word! Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. Rajlakshmi says:

    I haven’t felt this I guess .. touchwood!! I anyway keep very few people close, so not many get a chance to escape me πŸ˜› Glad I learnt a new word πŸ˜€ I guess girls and guys equally experience or induce Caraphernalia. Some show, some don’t πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Good for you! And I hope you never have to feel caraphernelia in life ever!
      Hmm. That’s a valid point. Maybe they always blame us girls for being sensitive, because we show it?
      Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. inquisitivegeet says:

    Caraphernelia.. Interesting word. And one thing that I’ve learned in life is nothing is forever in life. Nothing. Things that are said today with utmost sincerity would have no meaning at all if circumstances change and thus the relation change and thus forever dies.

    I’ll remember this word, for a long time. Forever, I don’t know πŸ˜›

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Best comment ever to my blog post! Shows that you really really enjoyed it! #Honoured, Geetika ❀

      Yes, some people learn that lesson after being betrayed in life. I fall in this category. and it's true about not being able to remember the blog post forever. I'm having a little trouble keeping in mind everyone's themes for the challenge itself *hides face*

      Like

  16. Lata Sunil says:

    Don’t want to talk about Caraphernelia…someone invented a word for this! It sounds beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, there are so many feelings which don’t have words to express them as of now. Maybe we should take steps to create such words? πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Caraphernelia!! Such a beautiful word with such a deep meaning. Our English got words for every situations we face in life, nah?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes it truly is.
      And the English language has made provisions for people to invent new words, when the dictionary falls short for this purpose πŸ˜€

      Like

  18. What a beautiful word! Thank you for letting me know about it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad you liked it, Soumya πŸ™‚

      Like

  19. Modern Gypsy says:

    Thankfully I’ve never been left in that state! Keep these interesting words coming!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I surely will! πŸ™‚

      Like

  20. Shilpa Garg says:

    That’s a nice and an unusual word but the one which we all have experienced at some point in time. This reminds me of the song from Ijazat… mera kucch samaan… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, and doesn’t it amaze you that we never even thought of searching for a word which described these feelings? πŸ™‚
      Looks like my post is helping a lot of people revive Hindi song memories. πŸ˜€

      Like

  21. the little princess says:

    that’s a great word…you might not realise this now, but this caraphernalia happens to grown ups all the time! I’m amazed at your maturity with the writeup.

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Oops! I thought it was only a teenager phenomenon! *hides face*
      Then maybe I should bookmark this post, and read it when I grow up too πŸ™‚
      I hope you liked the post! ❀

      Like

  22. Dearie, you are fascinated with big words that I cannot pronounce! πŸ˜›
    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      There are more to come, Mr. Rabbit! πŸ˜€
      I have kept a few easy words in between too, just to keep people interested in my posts. Or else they’ll all be running away to the hills looking at the big words and pronunciations. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Nibha says:

    This is a new word. I never came across this one before. You are doing good job with your theme!

    Nibha @ Expressions

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Nibha! I’m glad you liked the posts πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Nibha says:

        I’m loving them!

        Liked by 1 person

  24. I’d never heard of this Mithila. Thanks to you my vocabulary is increasing πŸ˜› And yes I have experienced the experience that the word describes πŸ˜›
    P.S.: I can be weird at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad that I’m doing something nice. Increasing people’s vocabulary is good, no? πŸ˜€ *pats self on back*
      Me too, Reema! *sends virtual hi-fi*
      Let’s celebrate our weirdness! πŸ˜›

      Like

  25. Shalini says:

    I believe both experience it equally and it depends entirely on one’s nature and how one took the other person in a way.
    You really remind of that one person who left me with the memories and tears behind :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s totally true, Shalini! πŸ™‚
      I’m sorry if I brought back sad memories 😦
      *sends hugs, chocolates and tissues* πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shalini says:

        Aww.. So kind of u :’)

        Like

  26. My Era says:

    It’s a new and unusual word for me that somehow reminded me of the ‘Carpal Tunnel Syndrome’ though totally unrelated.
    Yes I have experienced it and am proud to say have moved on away from its clutches πŸ˜€
    Your post has played a playlist in my mind, time to tune in the music πŸ˜€

    My Era from @theerailivedin
    The Era I Lived In

    Like

  27. aseemrastogi2 says:

    That’s a new word I learnt there. Oh so it also could be like one of our loved ones passing away leaving us behind 😦 ?

    Like

  28. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Yes. I have. Both with the person breaking up with me as well as the death do us part. 😦 Sigh. The memories do prick then…

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      This word brought back a lot of sad memories to many people 😦

      Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

