B for Bibliophile #AtoZChallenge

Bibliophile

Meaning: a person who loves or collects books

Etymology: Greek words biblion (book) + philos (loving)

Pronunciation: You’re not a bibliophile if you don’t know how to pronounce it. 😛
bib-lee-uh-fahyl, -fil

Usage in a sentence: “She preferred her dusty bookshelves to the reliable Kindle, because she was a bibliophile.”

bibliophile

Bibliophiles not only love to collect books, but love surrounding themselves with books. The intoxicating aroma of the stacked books in libraries, the kaleidoscope of colours on the cover pages of the books on their shelf, the feel of the browning paper in their hands, the devouring of words that flit across the pages as they unravel the story. All these things bring a heady rush to them.

Here are a few tips that will help you identify a Bibliophile:

  1. They will probably be carrying a book around wherever they go. At the dinner table, the book they are currently reading will be propped against a bottle of wine. Spoonfuls of the pasta you so lovingly made for them, will be scooped up without any comment. And if you ask them whether they liked it, they’ll probably nod absent-mindedly, and tell you something about the character they’re currently having a crush on.
  2. They can never seem to throw away books that they’ve already read seven times.
  3. They have two copies of their favourite book: One to read, one to loan away.
  4. You will hardly find them roaming around on a holiday. And if you’re lucky enough to catch a bibliophile out of the house, it could be for the following reasons:
    a. They’re going to a book sale.
    b. They’re coming back from a book sale.
  5. Try talking to a Bibliophile about any sundry topic. You’ll somehow find the conversation leading back to the book they read recently. Or read a few years ago.
  6. They describe people’s characters according to the books they’ve read. “Oh look, there’s Angela’s Mr. Darcy.” , “He’s so like Tobias Eaton” , “She’s as weird as Luna Lovegood.”
  7. They have this one friend they have deep discussions with about books, characters, plots, summaries. Their chats would probably look like as cryptic as an Enigma code to non-bibliophiles.
  8. You may hear them howling away, or using choice swear words, or laughing in a maniacal fashion in the middle of the night. And when you rush to check what’s wrong with them, you’ll find them propped on cushy pillows in their bedroom, a book in hand. Apparently unaware of all the hullabaloo they created a few minutes ago.
  9. Their fondest memory related to books would be the time when they camped outside a bookstore all night, to get the first copy of the best-selling novel of their time. Or the next book in the series.
  10. They know the librarians/store owners at a first-name basis. They are found chatting away with them, with ears strained to hear the words – “There’s a new book coming in today..”
  11. They have a quote to share for every occasion. Which impresses teachers who grade their essays.

So, did you find some similar traits in a friend? Or did you see a mirror image of yourself in these lines? Comment away 😀

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Merriam-Webster

91 Comments Add yours

  1. Can closely relate…read your post in half sleep , will read back in morning 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Ah, I know that feeling.
      Do sleep properly, you need to be well rested before you go blog-hopping 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1. My husband now makes me promise to stop reading at the table if anyone else is also sitting at the table
    2. I have literally lost count of the number of times I’ve read every single Terry Goodkind book – when I get to the last one, I start at the first again. I did that to Raymond E Feist for a while, too.
    3. I just found duplicates for every single Wheel of Time book up to 12, I think. Also two “Blood of the Fold” s and two “Faith of the Fallen” s but one was falling apart.
    4. I make my hubby buy my books for me. McKay’s is a great used book store.
    5. Every topic lately tracks back to how the MC would have handled it.
    6. If I talked to or about other people rather than read all the time, I’d likely do this.
    7. Now that I’ve started learning about writing from the author side, not a soul follows me any more
    8. Um. Yea.
    9. Closest I got to this one is making my husband pre-order Warheart so I could get it “immediately.”
    10. Unfortunately, not this one for me. Read # 2
    11. Wizard’s Rule for just about any occasion.

    (Oh and before my Goodkind obsession, I did this with Feist, and before him Robert Jordan, and before him Piers Anthony…)

    BTW, where do you LIVE that it’s already tomorrow? 😉

    Sue Hernandez
    WordPress Blogs: writing and A to Z Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Gosh. That’s a really nice list you have posted, Sue 🙂
      I don’t buy a book unless I’ve read it before. Like from a library or a friend’s borrowed copy.
      I live in India. What about you?
      Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, ok I live in the US on the east coast near DC. When you posted it was only 3 in the afternoon my time “on the day before”. Well, you know what I mean!

        Like

  3. Shalini says:

    I am definitely among one of them. Hahaha.. 😀 i too love being with books and have read my fav. author 10 times, people around me think am crazy.. so am i just for books. My mom rebuke me at times just for buying books without completing the ones i have in my book shelf.
    I still need to get that camped fire feeling to get that first edition of the new release.
    Loved your post, you touched heart 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Join the club! I just re-read the entire Harry Potter series for the tenth time this March. My mom just can’t seem to understand what fascinates me so much 😀
      I too haven’t camped out of a bookstore waiting for a recent release. I’ll probably do that for Jeffrey Archer’s or Dan Brown’s next novel 😉

      Thank you so much, Shalini 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Shilpa Gupte says:

    My cousin used to be one. Now he is busy with life. But I remember clearly how he would be always stuck to his fav P. G. Wodehousr and laugh hysterically while reading about Jeeves and his antics. I used to find so amusing ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We have too much spare time during childhood, don’t you think? Making time to read a novel after that is cumbersome.
      Yes, it is very amusing to watch people read. Specially those people who squint their eyes in a weird fashion? Everyone has their own style 😀

      Like

  5. Parul Thakur says:

    Good one for B.. Well I know many and one has written this post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Parul 😉

      Like

  6. Lata Sunil says:

    Yess yess..*nodding away* I see a mirror image of myself there.. I hereby declare, I am a Bibliophile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      *virtual hi-fi* Yes! I’m glad you identified with them 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by, Lata ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    Hehehe a good choice here! Many of us in the blogging world can relate to it I am sure! Readomania it is 😉
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Readomania is another weird word 😛
      I can’t imagine a blogger who does not love reading. How can it even be possible? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Shalzzz says:

    Bravo! I can totally relate to all the points listed! 😀

    Visit to read Army Wife Tales at Tale of Two Tomatoes
    You can also drop in to check 26 Chicken Recipes at Something’s Cooking

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad you liked it, Shalini 🙂

      Like

  9. My Era says:

    B for Books it is for me too 😀
    But, I never lend my books because I can never stand anyone not caring for my books the way I do. It is craziness, but am just programmed that way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woohoo! 😀
      I lent my favourite story book to a friend once, and never got it back. So from now on, whenever anyone asks me to share a book with them, I gently guide them to read the eBooks 😛

      Like

      1. My Era says:

        I like that. I absolutely love the idea of guiding people to read e-books 😀 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    I carry a book in my bag always… plus there’s unread and half read ebooks on kindle… books are always the best company after all.I totally agree with the traits 😀

    Visiting from A to Z Challenge
    Pam’s Unconventional Alliance Team
    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      My Kindle is my love. I hate taking it out of the house, for fear that it will get lost *hides face*
      They truly are the best company
      I’m glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

  11. RamyaRao says:

    This is one my favorite word too. Every line just perfect and I hate it when people taunt me that I am a bookworm. Well come on, I prefer bibliophile! 😃😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Exactly! Bookworms make us sound like as if we’re constantly burrowing in the ground, searching for a book to read 😛
      Bibliophiles is much much cooler *puts on shades because I can’t find that emoji here* 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Three cheers for bibliophiles 🙂

    Can relate to all the 11 points :)❤
    @dixita011 from
    Cafenined words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, you came back 🙂
      Thank you so much, Dixita ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. inquisitivegeet says:

    My entire circle of bloggers is a bibliophile.. Just waiting for the day for me to be the one!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      WHAT! You’re a blogger who’s not a bibliophile 😮
      I hope my post motivated you to pick up a book and read, right? Right? RIGHT? 😛

      No worries, you’ll fall in love with books soon. Keep blogging till then!

      Like

  14. Kathryn says:

    Hmm I fit into that somewhat – but not totally. At the moment I want to get a big bookcase built though for all my books!
    Kathryn – Discovering Daisies

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s okay. Even a 6/11 qualifies as a Bibliophile 🙂
      And at the moment, I want to expand the memory on my Kindle 😀
      Thank you for stopping by, Kathryn 🙂

      Like

  15. Shivani says:

    It is fabulous! I actually caught myself saying,”This is so meee!” On almost every point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I knew you’d like it ❤
      The one about the friend who's chats look like and Enigma code- You inspired it!
      Thank you Shivani for your first comment on my blog. I do hope you read all the posts in the series 🙂

      Like

  16. Chicky says:

    😀 Was grinning all the way while reading this!
    Reminded me of a post written by a friend for my online magazine back in 2010… Sad Pitfalls of Bibliomania. Do check it out. You’ll enjoy it.
    – Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahahha that’s nice to know! I’m glad you enjoyed reading this post 🙂
      Yes, will check it out too.
      Have a great weekend ❤

      Like

  17. Rian Durant says:

    I do have some of these traits, I confess. 🤗 It’s like living different lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, the life in books and the real life!
      They must have a word for this, right? There’s a word which describes life in the movies, but there’s no word which describes life in the books 😦
      Or is there one ?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rian Durant says:

        Hmm haven’t heard of such. We can invent it.;)

        Like

  18. Karan says:

    you have simply explained a part of me in great detail, or probably most of us here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad to hear you say that, Karan 🙂

      Like

  19. Av8tor1988 says:

    I definitely have some of these traits, I always have a book with me wherever I go. I recently bough a Nook and I’ve really enjoyed it, I still prefer physical books though. Reading on a Nook is another experience for me that I’m still getting used to. The books that I’ve read more than once are the Harry Potter books, I never get bored with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We are going to be best buddies, just because you said you like reading the Harry Potter series 😛
      I don’t prefer physical books now that I have a Kindle. But when I do get my hands on a book that has a scent and feels like paper, I cherish every moment.
      Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      1. Av8tor1988 says:

        You are very welcome. I re-read the HP series every year in December. I feel like it’s such an amazing winter read. I’ve run out of space in my bookcase for physical books, plus they get heavy in my bag. I love how I can fit my Nook in one hand too. I still do buy some physical books, especially if I love the cover. I have a lot of firsts in series and I’ll probably buy the sequels on my Nook. I like having pretty covers on my bookcase.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          I do the re-reading after the academic year gets over. In March or April. I read it on the Kindle for the first time this year 🙂

          Like

  20. I have identified myself as Bibliophile. I can’t really stop buying books, even when I have tons to read in my shelf itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s the case with all bibliophiles. Addiction to buying and surrounding themselves with books. 😀
      Thank you for stopping by, Sheethal ❤

      Like

  21. Am torn over number 3. I love to share books so that people I know can get excited about them too, but I hate sharing books in case they never come home to me again. Sob.

    Like

  22. Nibha says:

    Yes! I’m the one too! 😀 Books books and more books!!

    Nibha @ Expressions
    Bruises Of the Past

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Cheers, Nibha 😀

      Like

  23. I have always identified as a bibliophile, but after reading your definition I may have to rethink that.

    I definitely has a love for reading, but don’t necessarily have to have the book. I have grown to love my Kindle because I can access any book within seconds. I don’t really care if I own the book or not, although between me and my wife we almost have to have a separate room just to house our book collections.

    I love your blog. You have a new follower.

    Brett Minor (@brettminor)
    Transformed Nonconformist

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s okay. A bibliophile with a Kindle is just the modern world’s answer to the old bookworms!
      Separate rooms for book collections. Woah! That’s super cool, or is it a bad thing?
      Thank you so much 🙂
      I really appreciate this support. Will hop over to your blog soon!

      Like

  24. Me Otherwise says:

    Books books and more books for me too.. But I am selective when it somes to buying them . Atleast try to read a review or two abt the book or the author.!

    http://meotherwise.com/2016/04/02/beaches-and-taste-buds-atozchallenge/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Before buying a book, I check out the review on GoodReads, and the summary on the jacket. Or is that called a blurb? *hides face*
      It’s always a good practice, otherwise we bibliophiles will find ourselves among a pile of books we’ll never end up reading 😂

      Like

  25. Novemberschild says:

    No idea how many books I have read since I was a child, but ever since I got back to blogging in 2012, till date I have read and written reviews of almost 350. I’m an addict of books and I cannot, and will not, give up this addiction. (Not unless I become blind or die). It would be extremely difficult for me to list the most important books to read, or my most favourite books. That would feel like I am selling out on old friends by comparing their worthiness or value.“When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, doing reviews of books is a great way to appreciate books. And of course, spreading love about a book that we love is a bibliophile trait! 😀
      That quote you posted ❤
      Reminds me that I can add quotes to my posts to increase their effectiveness!
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  26. Red says:

    My greatest wish has always been to have a library-room in my house. When I married, I more than doubled the number of bookshelves. But I find myself seeking minimalism in life now, and trying to reduce my quantity of “stuff”. I have actually donated books a few times in the last couple years. It’s always sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Don’t feel sad about donating the books. Yes, it does feel like as if you are losing a best friend, but think about the lovely memories that the ones who get the books next would feel! I’m sure that thought alone will bring a smile to your face 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  27. psharmarao says:

    What a beautiful post and an endearing theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you, Pooja 😊

      Like

  28. inGeniousty says:

    Ok 😀 This is a good post and I liked the points you have mentioned here.. Read a similar theme in another blog. 😀 Too Good … I am not a Bibliophile 😀

    B – The Eye of the Beholder

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahaha, thank you!
      You can always start being a bibliophile. At least now you know the features of one! 😀

      Like

      1. inGeniousty says:

        😀 I got no time Mith 😉 Sad no

        Liked by 1 person

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          Okay then 😉

          Like

  29. Can easily relate to this post 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s great! 🙂

      Like

  30. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aha! I am guilty of all the 11 pointers you shared!! So proud and happy to be a bibliophile! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You’ve got the perfect score and you can proudly call yourself a Bibliophile! 😀
      I hope you liked this post 🙂

      Like

  31. Perfect! Yes I belong to this category as I kept nodding for most of the points here. You must have read about my love for books in the letter that I wrote today. So yeah this is so me.
    Fab post Mithila 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much for sweet words, Reema 🙂
      I loved the letters. The theme is really mind-blowing, and I want to see what you’ve got in store for all of us ❤

      Like

  32. Here I am, this is me! 🙂

    Books are an important part of my life. Most of my collection is back at my mom’s place due to lack of space at my current home. But soon I’ll be getting all of it. Including the unread Harry Potter set of books. I’ve made a resolution to read it this year at any cost. I know you like me a little bit more now 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s amazing! I hope you are reunited with your books soon! 😀
      You better read it soon. Because then you will be able to enjoy the posts I wrote for last year’s #AtoZChallenge 🙂
      Yes, yes. The fact that you’ve resolved to read the HP series makes you a better person in my eyes. *evil grin* *runs away* 😉

      Like

  33. Alex says:

    I love this theme! I’m mellowing recently, but I used to not be able to go on vacation without beelining towards any bookstore I see (and one time a stationary store!) Once actually scheduled a vacation based on when the used book fair would be taking place in one of the cities I was going to. But I have too many books and since I’m planning a 10 year bike tour I try not to accumulate much more physical stuff. Still collect the odd ebook though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you, Alex, for stopping by 🙂
      Scheduling a vacation to catch a book fair! Now that’s a sign of a true bibliophile 😀
      I’m glad you liked the theme, and do hope that you’ll enjoy all the 26 posts 🙂

      Like

  34. the little princess says:

    Oh yeah, that’s me alright! no4. very funny! and no3. no sire, I never lend my books….never!! I make it very clear even at the risk of sound snobbish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Number 4 made me laugh as I was typing it too 😀
      Me too! I have had one bad experience, and that was the end of my book loaning journey!
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  35. Bhavya says:

    My neck is aching from all the nodding I was doing. I relate to almost all your points listed here.
    Glad to be connected to you 🙂

    Bhavya
    Visiting From Ishithaa
    #AtoZChallenge2016

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Sorry for that neck ache, Bhavya 😀
      I’m happy that you liked the post, though 🙂
      The feeling is mutual ❤

      Like

  36. Sunila Vig says:

    Mithila, I loved the post and I am one of the B people too and so happy to see so many others here:) Btw I better inform you that your B post has the highest number of comments I have set eyes on all day and loooonnnnggg comments at that. Kudos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Sunila! ❤
      Yes, and it's a first for me. I don't remember getting more than 10 comments for my posts on a regular basis, and now my phone keeps buzzing with the email notifications! I do hope this streak maintains even after the challenge gets over!
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  37. raesquiggles says:

    Smiled my way through your post. Not only a bibliophile, but a librarian too. 5 and 8 is so me! Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! A bibliophile who is a librarian is awesome!
      But wait a sec, aren’t all librarians supposed to be bibliophiles 😁
      Thank you so much for stopping by, and I’m glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

  38. Ila Varma says:

    I come in the same category…well written post

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  39. Molly says:

    YUP … I am a bibliophile in every sense of the word 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s great 🙂

      Like

  40. I was a book and comic book collector, before they started called you a bibby-er whatchamacallit! 🙃
    I don’t collect anymore, but I still read. 🍀🐰
    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Like

  41. aseemrastogi2 says:

    Ahhh! I just realized that I read about Bibliophiles on Dixita’s blog also 2 days back 😉 https://dixita011.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/b-bibliophiles-the-power-atozchallenge/ But must say you have put some fun points there to identify a bibliophile ;).

    Like

  42. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Oh. Happy bibliophile here in every sense of the word. 🙂 It’s actually one of my favorite words, this one.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Bibliophile is the favourite word of every bibliophile!
      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

