A for Aurora #AtoZChallenge

Aurora

Meaning: (literary) dawn

Etymology: Aurora, Roman Goddess of the Dawn

Pronunciation: uhrawruh, uhrohruh

Usage in a sentence: “We named the little baby girl Aurora”

aurora

In Roman mythology, the Goddess Aurora renews herself every morning and flies across the sky, announcing the arrival of the sun. The word Aurora also refers to the spectral lights that adorn the skies of North and South Pole. But here, in this post, I am concentrating on the literary meaning.

I selected this word for the “A for” post for a particular reason. I had a plethora of words to select from, but I chose Aurora. I find it quite significant to this challenge. Today’s post is the first post for the #AtoZChallenge . For the bloggers who have taken up this challenge for the first time, it could be their first post ever with this hashtag. It could also be the first time they get a really long comment on their post, or the opposite too.

Today’s a day of many firsts, and dawns represent fresh beginnings. It represents the zest we always have for life, the moment we wake up. The gratitude that we’ve lived to see another day.

So was today your first day at attempting this challenge? Or are you a A-Z Challenge Survivor? Share your first day memories in the comments section. Let’s celebrate the dawn of the Challenge!

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Wikipedia

 

P.S.: Before I move into the second post for the challenge, I’d just like to clarify one thing. Some of the words I have selected for the challenge may not be obscure and unheard of. They might be words that we use in our day-to-day life too. I have added these words to my #WeirdWords Theme, because of the weird memories that I have attached to these words. Stick on through April, and you’ll realise why these words are weird. (“And you’ll probably figure out, that the girl is weird too.” ~Fab)

100 Comments Add yours

  1. Deb says:

    Lovely first post. This will be my first time doing the challenge and I am excited. My post goes up in a few hours so am all for an aurora moment.:-)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s amazing! I do hope your first time will be a memorable one. And do complete the challenge. it keeps you motivated to attempt it again and again.

      Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzfeathers says:

    This is a great opening post. I’m wishing you a fantastic challenge, sounds you’re well on your way.
    I’m a survivor, actually, though of only one battle 😉

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Jazz Age Jazz

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Sarah, for the wishes!
      Me too, this is my second year! Cheers 😀

      Like

  3. Rian Durant says:

    Hello there! Seems like someone’s early like me. ^^ I love words, a lot, I like playing with them and taste their magic so I’ll be following your theme! Great word to start the challenge! I’m in it for a first year by the way! Hope it will be fun. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s amazing to hear, Rian!
      The first years. Hmm. A bit of advice- do keep reading the blog posts by pros do get some tips on how to survive in April 😀

      Good luck to you too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rian Durant says:

        Thanks for the advice. 😉 I kind of jumped into this w/out much preparation. Let’s see what happens.

        Like

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          Don’t worry. You’ll be a pro at it soon 🙂

          Like

  4. inGeniousty says:

    My Last year’s first day started with a post called Apology 😉 No idea why I chose that and this year it starts with the Art Attack and I am using Flash Fiction this year as I’m good at it 😉

    A – The Art Attack
    Aurora is fresh and gives a new ray of hope!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Flash Fiction is something that amazes me a lot. I will follow your posts then, all through April!
      Glad you liked my selection 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. inGeniousty says:

        i did like your suggestions

        Like

  5. Parul Thakur says:

    Lovely first one. So many firsts today – first day of April, first day of the rest of our lives, and this challenge. Perfect word to begin.

    Like

  6. Bathsheva says:

    Great site! Great Post! I love words too, especially weird ones. It’s about 1/2 hour before the 1st here. I’m going to post later on though. I’m looking forward to reading your next post, so I’m following. Great idea for a theme, by the way. This is my first year taking the A2Z Challenge. I don’t have a theme, but I have an idea… I hope if you get a chance you’ll stop by my page. I always look forward to comments/critiques from word lovers.

    Best,
    Bathsheva (#1535)
    http://www.bathshevagladstone.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Bathsheva!
      Weird words never cease to amaze us, that’s why I thought the theme would be a hit among everyone! 🙂

      It’s okay. you don’t always need a theme to do the challenge. An idea that guides you till 30th April is an equally good substitute!

      Hope you had a good first day!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. abetterjulie says:

    I love the idea of exploring words! This is my first year participating, and I’m having a lot of fun exploring everyone’s worlds. @abetterjulie from PersephoneKnits

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Julie! I hope you have a great first year!
      it’s going to be a little problem for me to catch up with your posts, you know, the time zone difference! *hides face*
      But yes, we’ll surely connect through this challenge 🙂

      Like

  8. Me Otherwise says:

    Today is my first day on the challenge.. and am having a great time reading and writing blog posts 🙂 Cheers to your beginning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You get used to reading and writing blog posts, and it’s a good habit to keep in the blogging world!
      Thank you so much, and cheers to you too! 🙂

      Like

  9. NV Rivera says:

    What a great word! The aurorae feature in my current work in progress and were part of the inspiration for me to write the story. I am a Challenge survivor. All I can remember from my first time ever was being so excited about all of the new blogs I was connecting with. The thing is, that feeling doesn’t change year after year! It’s especially true for me again this year since I am joining this challenge with a brand new blog http://nvrivera.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much! ❤

      Words inspire us in different ways, and it's amazing to play with words. Agree?
      *sends a virtual hi-fi* I'm a Challenge survivor too! And I feel today's first day was better than last year's first day. After almost a year, I've found so many new bloggers and connected with them. The Internet feels like home now 🙂

      Do stay with me through the challenge, and guide me! Feel free to correct me when I make a mistake. I would really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 says:

    Hi Mithila, what a lovely word to kick off the morning and the series! I enjoyed reading more about the word, plus I am a fan of all kinds of Mytho….Greek, Roman, Norse and of course Indian! Looking forward to your next post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It surely was a wonderful way to kick off the morning! I can’t remember waking up early in the morning for any other reason besides going to school and classes!

      Do add Egypt to that list of Mythologies, it’s really amazing!

      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. First-timer, here! I never really even got into heavy blogging until I started writing fiction. I had (have?) a SharePoint blog, too, but that one is growing cobwebs.

    Sue Hernandez
    WordPress Blogs: writing and A to Z Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I hope you have a great first year, it’s really amazing. Participate in the chats, and connect. that’s where all the fun is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I’m going to try to – it will be hard to add that to the schedule, but as the coordination team says, it’s just as important (if not more). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Shalzzz says:

    What a beautiful thought behind the word and your post, Mithila. I hope you have a great time during this challenge.
    P.S: Weird is good 😉
    Looking forward to your posts.

    Visit to read Army Wife Tales at Tale of Two Tomatoes
    Also drop in to check 26 Chicken Recipes at Something’s Cooking

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Shalini! ❤
      Weird is always good! 😀

      I hope you've had a great first day too 🙂

      Like

  13. inquisitivegeet says:

    I’m on and ready to have everything you’re preparing to get on the plate and this one was informative indeed..
    waiting to learn more!

    Love,
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Tomorrow’s one is something that you will like. It’s got a lot of information, and is hilarious at the same time too (Even if I’m the one who says so 😀 )

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Geetika! 🙂

      Like

  14. Shilpa Garg says:

    I like the story of Goddess Aurora! Yes, indeed it’s great to kickstart the challenge with this positive words which promises of great beginnings and a chance to make a new start! Great start, Mithila 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      All of us bloggers need a second chance, to be better, and make a strong comeback. This challenge will be the first time I’m doing heavy-duty blogging after a hiatus of four months. I need Goddess Aurora by my side!

      Thank you so much, Shilpa. I loved your theme too ❤

      Like

  15. the little princess says:

    what a positive way to begin the challenge Mithila! Looking forward to learn a lot of weird words!

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Shubhangi 🙂 ❤

      Like

  16. Modern Gypsy says:

    Lovely first post! It’s my second time doing this challenge. And I’m quite excited!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much 🙂
      All the best for your first year!

      Like

  17. Vidya Sury says:

    Nice choice for A, Mithila! Fresh beginning always sounds refreshing and I am looking forward to your other words, too! This is my fourth year with the A to Z and each year, I add an extra blog. I remember the first year – I was so excited and then, traveled for most of April, writing on the go! It was great fun and of course I was hooked forever. Happy AtoZing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Vidya! ❤
      Fourth year! And you add an extra blog every year! You're a blogging genius 😀

      Writing on the go is something i'll never be able to manage. I can't even manage classes and blogging at the same time now! I have a lot to learn from you 🙂

      Like

  18. I immediately thought of Aurora Borealis…an amazing sight, so they say… 🙂
    Enjoy the challenge!
    Writer In Transit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I had the same thought when I was researching the word. And then I found an alternate meaning, which had better relevance to the challenge.
      Thank you for stopping by, Michelle 🙂

      Like

  19. Novemberschild says:

    Means “dawn” in Latin. Aurora was the Roman goddess of the morning. It has occasionally been used as a given name since the Renaissance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you for sharing that snippet of information!
      Hope you’ve had a great first day ❤

      Like

  20. Rob Kraitt says:

    A great first post. Good luck for the Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  21. I always loved this word. Great start! 🙂

    Like

  22. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Interesting topic you have chosen, Mithila. Would love to know all the weird words in your dictionary. Aurora…love the sound! 🙂 Wish you the best for the challenge..!

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you liked the word and the theme, Shilpa! 🙂
      Thank you so much ❤

      Like

  23. Amanda Fleet says:

    Looking forward to reading the other letters! I’m doing this challenge for the first time. Wish me luck!

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s good to know! I hope you enjoy it, and do complete it!
      Good luck, and I hope you had a great first day! 🙂

      Like

  24. Wow this is really so good to know .
    I really appreaciate looking at dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  25. So looking ahead to more posts by you.

    And your posts are so simple and elegantly written that by the end of the post, I end up learning a weird word with no more weird know- how about it .

    Good luck 😘

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I love the way you explained my style of writing, Dixita. I now know my strengths 🙂
      Thank you so much, and good luck to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Kaddu says:

    We already know that you are weird, girl! 😛 😉
    My first-day memories…
    Well. I withdrew my name yesterday, only to enter it again today! All thanks to a very encouraging comment on my theme reveal post last night!
    – Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahahah 😛
      It’s good that you’re back. You’ll be able to finish it. Just believe that you will be able to 🙂
      All the best!

      Like

  27. Rajlakshmi says:

    Wow I am actually impressed by the reason behind choosing the word 🙂 Very thoughtful post. I know a girl name Aurora … such a gorgeous name

    Visiting from A to Z Challenge
    Pam’s Unconventional Alliance Team
    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Rajakshmi! ❤
      My teacher's name is Aurora maam. But some students used to call her Arora maam. 😀

      Like

  28. RamyaRao says:

    Great post. I am taking up this for the first time. And I love the word Aurora.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Glad to hear that! All the best for the challenge 🙂

      Like

  29. Tina says:

    very thoughtful post! lovely.

    Like

  30. Nibha says:

    The post is just like the first word! Excellent start! Will be back to know other WeirdWords! 🙂

    Nibha @ Expressions
    Arriving Late

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Nibha 🙂
      Hoping you had a great first day!

      Like

  31. I always loved the Aurora. Glad to see this word here as the first of your 26 words. I’m attempting the #AtoZChallenge for the first time. So far, so good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It has a very nice ring to it. Glad you liked the post.
      Yes, I’m glad you’ve joined this challenge. Do have a good time, Reema ❤

      Like

  32. Aurora! I like the way my tongue feels when I say this 🙂

    Loved your theme little one, looking forward to more “sexy” words from you! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahahahahaha.. I’m not going to say there are no sexy words, because maybe that will drive away some readers :p
      There are a few words describing love, and the emotions you feel when you’re in love. Does that seem interesting to you? 😀
      Hope you had a great first day at the challenge, Soumya 🙂

      Like

  33. Great first post and appropriate too. I did the challenge last year, but I started late in the evening on April 1st last year. This year I planned ahead, selected a theme and hope for a little smoother ride. I hope you have a lot of fun with your weird words.
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Last year too, I hadn’t scheduled many posts. Now I’m quite ahead in the race. Posts till “N for” have been scheduled 😀

      Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy this challenge again!

      Like

  34. My first time in this challenge.. and honestly I am already exhausted. Have been blog hopping and commenting and then replying to comments on my own blog and then editing future posts… I need a glucose drip!!

    My entry for the #AtoZChallenge –
    Tv Shows: A – Agents of SHIELD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Don.t worry doc. You have time to catch up and breathe on Sunday. Schedule more posts on Sunday, and then blog-hop from Monday. #AdviceFromASurvivor 😛

      All the best for the challenge 🙂

      Like

  35. I ♥♥♥ your first post! This is my third year doing the challenge 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Natalie! 🙂

      Like

  36. Bhavya says:

    Great start to a brilliant challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you, Bhavya 🙂

      Like

  37. raesquiggles says:

    Aurora is such a lovely name. I think it was a Disney princess too?
    @Raesquiggles from
    The Quiet Writer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes. She’s the one from Sleeping Beauty!
      Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Like

  38. Shalini says:

    Lovely start since am participating for the first time, have more to learn and your posts are good in terms of new and weird words. Keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words, Shalini 🙂
      I do hope you have a great time participating in the challenge.
      All the best 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  39. CM says:

    So way back in college when I was the smarter version of myself .. I coined a pen name. Lunar Aurora . You get that right? Well soon from Lunar Aurora .. it transitioned to Ms Arora .I got rid of it coz that kind of killed my spirit and caused major identity crisis. That’s the mythological saga behind Aurora for me . Am no goddess though , but you surely are Fabulous.
    A very smart kick off word choice. More weird words awaited . Will be back soon:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Lunar Aurora sounds way better than Fabulus or Lord Voldemort 😀
      Yes, many people are not acquainted with this word. That’s why I wanted to do this theme for the series, there are so many words that people have to yet discover!

      Ohh *blushes* Thank you so much, Chandni! ❤

      Thank you for stopping by, and all the best for the challenge!

      Like

  40. Av8tor1988 says:

    I really enjoyed your first post. This is my first time doing the challenge, however what I have done is pre-draft my blogs so that I can schedule them to post by themselves. Blog hopping is something that I have had some difficulty with. I use WordPress as my blogging platform, and trying to find WordPress blogs in the challenge has proven quite difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much!
      That’s good. Scheduling posts is always a great idea. I have scheduled them all for midnight.
      Why don’t you check out the hashtag #AtoZChallenge ? There are posts out there. Also check out the Facebook page run by the AtoZ team.
      https://www.facebook.com/atozchallenge/?fref=ts
      You could also follow @AprilA2Z on twitter. You’ll get instant updates about new posts which you may like 🙂

      Like

      1. Av8tor1988 says:

        Thanks!! I schedule mine for 5:30am, but I might reschedule them for 7 or 8.

        Like

  41. Very nice, Dearie! 🌹
    How can I tell you’ve done this before?
    You make it look easy 🍀🐰

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s my second year at the challenge. My theme for the first year was Harry Potter and Hogwarts! 🙂
      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A Harry Potter alphabet? Well, Q would be easy! 🍀🐰

        Like

  42. Gypsy Momma says:

    My first time on the A- Z challenge and my post was about new beginnings .. a new dawn if you will. 🙂 lovely post. good luck with the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I hope you had a great first day.. Do finish the challenge in your first year. It works as a super duper inspiration to keep doing it every year 🙂
      Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  43. This is super interesting..looking forward for your remaining set of such words 🙂
    Please do hop on to my blog PonderingTwo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Rohan 🙂
      Yes, I surely will!

      Like

  44. Alexis says:

    Beautiful word, and I like how you tied it into the starting point of this challenge. This is my first time taking on A to Z, but so far I’m having fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  45. I was on your B post first, but I really enjoy your writing, so I had to read a few more.

    I first did the A to Z in 2013 and haven’t done it since. I built a very big audience with my blog, but then moved out of state, got married and completed my Master’s Degree. My writing really slacked off. So now, I’m back to get back into the practice of daily writing before I tackle my first book.

    We’re only two days in and I love this challenge as much as I did the first time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I really appreciate it!
      I’m doing this challenge for the second time, and it will be the first time I’m blogging daily after a four month hiatus. I do hope I’ll be able to tackle it.
      There surely is something about this challenge. It’s so exciting, I find myself happy and smiling all the time 😀

      Like

  46. Red says:

    I was brought up in a family where discussions of Greek mythology were dinner table conversation. Now that I know your theme is Weird Words, I’m interested to know what else is coming!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s amazing! Greek mythology as a topic at dinner table conversations! Here, I find it hard to find someone who even knows who Zeus is!
      I do hope the words I post this month are enjoyed by you. Good luck for the challenge 🙂

      Like

  47. Looking forward to all your weird words.
    @Ma_holloway from
    If I Only Had A Time Machine

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  48. aseemrastogi2 says:

    Now that’s quite a fantastic start to the challenge. The first thing I remembered reading Aurora was the Aurora Borealis even before I read your reference to it :).

    Like

  49. Vinay Leo R. says:

    A beautiful word to mark the dawn of a new challenge. 🙂 I enjoyed that. It’s the 7th time I’m taking part. Nice to come by your blog.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      7th time! Wow! Do have a look at my posts and tell me if they’re any good 😀
      Thank you for joining in this journey to discover weird words! 🙂

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

