The End of Love

busan-1113822_960_720

To Her,

I was awake when my heart stopped loving you. I realised that my heart had stopped beating for your sake that dawn.

I’ll never forget that moment. Whiskers of sunlight streamed down on your face, turning your hair golden-brown. You had a small smile on your face, and you seemed completely oblivious to the thoughts that were roaming in my mind. You didn’t know that you would lose the love of your life that day. You would have no one to share a meal with form that day onwards. You had no way of steeling yourself and protecting your heart from the damage I was going to inflict on you. I was to leave you, and never return back to your love.

Or had you already read the signs?

Had you noticed the slight change in my behaviour? Had you noticed that the concern in my text messages was diminishing? Had you observed the way I rarely paid attention to your gushing talks and excited chatter these days? Had you sensed that I no longer stared at you before I fell asleep, your face always being the last image on my mind? Had you comprehended that I stayed late at office, only to stay away from you?

Maybe you understood all these things, but chose to ignore them. Why? Because you believed that time could heal everything? Maybe you kept talking about that vacation to Venice so often, because you heartily wanted us to stay together till then? Maybe you had planned to work some magic over me there, and make me fall in love with you again?

Still. My heart had decided, and my brain no longer wanted to keep persisting and fighting against it. I left you that day, never to return, with not a pinch of regret making me reconsider my decision.


sunset-1081739_960_720

To Him,

I was awake when my heart stopped missing you. It was slow and steady, and I never imagined that there would be a day I would start hating you. I could literally feel the love diminish, in both of our hearts.

I felt irritated by every little thing you did. And did not do. I tired of waiting for your love, waiting for you to take me to that movie I wanted to see so badly. I missed the talks and the late-night walks. But then, I reached a limit, a saturation point for all this pain. And then I became cold towards you. I pretended that it did not affect me, hoping and praying that you would understand that I couldn’t bear with the pain anymore.

But I persisted. In the back of my mind, I hoped that time could heal our hearts, make us whole again. I kept recalling the beautiful moments I spent with you. I kept working hard for what we had had, all because of those blissful memories. I failed to see that you no longer were the same cute guy who handed me a bunch of pink roses to say those magical words. I should have realised that you no longer opened doors for me like you used to. I should have sensed that you never paid attention to anything I said anymore.

I thought a vacation to Venice was what we needed. Maybe you needed a break from work. They kept you in their office for extra hours every day. Maybe you had forgotten how to love me, and a slight prod from my side would get you back to the right track?

But I was wrong. As I sit here, nursing this cup of coffee in the silent room, I curse myself for not realising sooner that you were a lost battle, and no amount of warfare could have brought you back to me from the land of dead love.

~Aphrodite’s-Cursed-Child


 

fiction258

 

This post was written for YeahWrite Fiction|Poetry Challenge 258 .

The prompt for today was – I was awake when my heart stopped.

P.S.: This post was selected in the Top 3 Fiction Posts of the Week over at YeahWrite . Thank you so much for the love and support, and of course, for the votes :p

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Sreesha Diva says:

    Oh man! All these conflicting emotions. True, right, that sometimes we know everything is going wrong and yet we close our eyes to wait and see if it goes right? Happens in real life too!
    Nice write up!

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, some of us are just built to always think about the positive part of everything, and hope for the best in the future, right?

      Thank you so much, Sreesha! 🙂

      Like

  2. meenamenon says:

    Sometimes the best thing we can do is move on.. it hurts but its worth it rt

    Like

  3. Wonderfully …
    Wonderfully written 🙂
    And yes..
    An official “hi” on WordPress 🙂
    Now its easier for a lazy bug like me to read n follow your blog 😀
    Different platforms are really not easy to follow 🙂
    And to be really honest, with the very little of blogging i do, i feel WordPress is a lot lot better than blogger 🙂
    Welcome home 🙂
    And lets stay connected here & on Twitter 🙂
    Stay smiling !!

    – Awkward Earthling

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hey !
      I faced the same problem when I was on Blogger. Being on WordPress is so much fun! And the mobile version of the website feels like you’ve stepped into a social media site (and that is so totally attractive to a teenager like me!)
      We surely will, don’t worry about that 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup 🙂
        This is too much a friendly platform 🙂
        Good to see you here ..
        And stay connected 🙂

        Like

  4. just so perfectly catches the mixed bag of emotions of the final breath of a failed relationship…. ‘m taken back20 years with this and can still feel it

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad to hear that you could relate to this post 🙂

      Like

  5. Cyn K says:

    Good use of this structure to show two sides of the same story.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much for the feedback 🙂

      Like

  6. innatejames says:

    I like how you altered the prompt and made it your own. You surprised me by making the break-up mutual. I was thinking it would take a unrequited love turn.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right! I felt unrequited love would be a tad bit boring, and that’s why I took the other road!
      Thank you so much, James!
      P.S.: I really liked the post you submitted for #YeahWrite 🙂

      Like

      1. innatejames says:

        Thanks, and thanks for retweeting! Please call me Nate.

        Like

  7. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    I really enjoyed the structure, too. Not just the Him and Her, but the mirror image of the line justification. And I was hoping all through the first part that it would be a mutual thing. Still sad, the lack of communication.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Communication is the key to any successful relationship, and the lack of it can turn any relationship bad. I thought presenting the idea in this way would drive that idea home.

      Thank you so much, Jennifer, for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  8. kalpana solsi says:

    The feelings of his and her rightly are juxtaposed as there are two sides of a coin. Many a times, fully knowing the fateful consequences the heart refuses to acknowledge.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True, and that’s because the heart always wants what it wants, doesn’t it? 🙂

      Like

  9. rubybastille says:

    I liked how you played with formatting to tell your story! Both sides were depicted very realistically and sympathetically.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much for the feedback, Ruby! 🙂

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

