#AtoZChallenge Theme Reveal!

I was planning to do this post on 21st March, but Blogchatter  had some secret plans for us, so…. *evil grin*

The theme I have selected this year is something that is close to my heart, something that all literary freaks would love to read about. This theme is dedicated to all those people who have managed to snub their mortal friends and reach the heights of Spellebrity glory. #SpellBeeChamps
 fabulus1710.blogspot.in (1)
Yup, my theme for this year’s challenge is  – Weird Words.
Words which are unheard of. Words that have amazing stories to tell, in the form of their etymology. Words which aptly describe feelings that we write thousands of pages about. Words that will make you smile. Words that will wipe away those tears.
In short, words which will make you gasp. Words which will force you to consult that dusty dictionary which has been gathering dust since ages.
Why did I select this theme? There are many reasons for that. Last year, I had done a Harry Potter theme for the challenge. I had shortlisted various themes and this #WeirdWords theme had featured in that list. However, I selected the magical theme  because 1. I knew too much about it. 2. I thought it would be something universal, something people could relate to and 3. I thought it would be the easiest way to increase blog traffic (There you go. You can kill me now)
#WeirdWords is a theme which I can give justice to this year. Over this one year of blogging, I have sharpened my research skills, and of course, I recently learnt how to create amazing Photoshop-like edits using Canva.com. So I feel sufficiently equipped to tackle this theme. Moreover, the posts for this theme would be small and tiny. By small and tiny I do not mean 5-liner posts, because summarizing ain’t my forte. All I can say for now, is that the posts would be quick to read, easy to understand, and of course, would add to your knowledge tanks every day.

I have already started making a list of alphabets and the corresponding #WeirdWords . It’s still not complete, and I hope to finish it off by today. The next step would be to start creating edits for each post, as I don’t want to rely on the alphabet pictures provided by A-Z Challenge   . I would simultaneously start writing posts at least till the alphabet J in advance. This would give me time to read all your amazing posts, and give me a head-start to complete the challenge successfully.

I would also participate in the #AZChat , if the time-zone difference doesn’t force me to nod off to sleep on my keyboard.

Of course,  I am staking claim to A to Z Challenge along with Blogchatter community

Any other things that I missed out? Do let me know in the comments section. Also, if you are participating in the challenge this year, then do share a word or two about your theme in your comment!

~The-Wordophile

51 Comments Add yours

  1. WOW! You're already sorted! And I'm still wondering whether to join this year or give it a pass! What other themes do you have in your list? Please message me some on Facebook! Pretty please!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahahahaha okay. I had also prepared a list of alphabets which had a random theme.. Maybe you could connect the dots and figure out a theme of your own 🙂

    Like

  3. Dixita mour says:

    Good luck .let's have fun ☺☺ this April with words and blog buddies

    Like

  4. Dixita mour says:

    Good luck .let's have fun ☺☺ this April with words and blog buddies

    Like

  5. I am not participating in AtoZ this time, because there is just too much going on on the life front this year, and I will not be able to do it justice. But I love your theme, and will surely be staying tuned. All the best. 😀

    Like

  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    Like

  7. Chandni says:

    Hey .. registered theaddress.wordpress.com for AtoZ .. realized by comment is leading you to my old and forgotten blog

    Like

  8. Chandni says:

    I love words.. the strange ones with stories behind them. The ones that paint a thousand pictures. I am looking forward to your posts now .. let me see how many I know . I ll be writing about women. As of now planning to [ largely coz have managed to ] write short stories..
    10 days to go .. are you excited?

    Like

  9. Shalini says:

    Wow! That's wesome. I'm looking forward to your posts, Mithila. Let's rock the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  10. Words new and old, different and so expressive. Great idea for a theme.
    All the best.

    Like

  11. Shilpa Garg says:

    Cool theme and it's fantastic that you have it all sorted. Looking forward to read about all the weird words from A to Z. Cheers, Mithila 🙂

    Like

  12. Thank you so much, Dixita 🙂

    Like

  13. That's okay. It's no use participating in the challenge if you're not going to enjoy it. I do hope you'll take up the challenge next year!

    Thank you so much, Shantala 🙂

    Like

  14. Yes! Specially when the etymologies are from weird languages, and not the routine Greek, Latin, etc.
    I have mixed up a few know ones, and a few unheard of ones so that the readers keep coming back for more!

    Excited? I'm supercalifragilisticexpialidociuosly excited!!! 😀

    Like

  15. Yes we will!
    The chicken theme is already making me drool 😀
    Awaiting April 🙂

    Like

  16. Thank you so much, Inderpreet 🙂

    Like

  17. I'm glad you liked the theme, Shilpa!

    Thank you for stopping by!

    Like

  18. Menaka says:

    Awaiting the upcoming month for your posts dear Mithila, Looking forward for them

    Like

  19. Nibhz says:

    Wow! This is a unique theme. Will be surely back to discover new words. 🙂

    Like

  20. Weird words sounds like an interesting theme. I think I need to bookmark your posts. I might be able to use them for some word games later on.

    Like

  21. this is gonna be fun.. definitely will keep an eye out 🙂

    Like

  22. Parul says:

    What a fun theme! I am looking forward to weird words from you. Good one Mithila 🙂 Let's rock it!

    Like

  23. Thank you so much, Menaka 🙂

    Like

  24. Glad to hear that, Nibha! 🙂

    Like

  25. That would be okay, I guess 😀

    Like

  26. Surely, doc!
    P.S.: There are no medical terms in my alphabet list *hides face*

    Like

  27. Thank you so much, Parul!
    We'll surely rock this April! 😀

    Like

  28. Kala Ravi says:

    What a cool theme! I think its going to be a lot of fun as well! Will be surely visiting this space regularly this April 🙂

    Like

  29. Geets says:

    WOw..!! Will be ready with my dictionary to learn those words from you 🙂 And the theme looks quite thrilling.. looking forward to your posts 🙂

    Cheers

    Like

  30. It surely is going to be a lot of fun!
    Mutual feelings here 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by, Kala!

    Like

  31. I see Hermione-ish tendencies in you, Geetika! 😀
    I love your enthusiasm, and I do hope you enjoy all the 26 posts in April 🙂

    Like

  32. Love your theme and I'm impressed by how organized you are. Looking forward to April!

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Deborah! 🙂

      Like

  33. Me Otherwise says:

    Well may be I will stop looking at my dictionary and would turn to your site to learn new words!!! All thes best and great going already

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  34. Lata Sunil says:

    Good to see you on WP. i find it easier than Blogger. All the best.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Your comment was the first one I approved after shifting to WordPress 😎.
      Thank you so much, Lata! 🙂

      Like

  35. Shalzzz says:

    Loved the new look of the blog! Fab, darling! 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Shalini ❤

      Like

  36. Debbie D. says:

    AS a linguist and logophile, this theme has me interested and intrigued! I did a vocabulary theme last year. Looking forward to your posts! 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad to hear that, Debbie!
      All the best to you too for the challenge 🙂

      Like

  37. Modern Gypsy says:

    Ooh! I like!! Should be a fun April

    Like

  38. the little princess says:

    I loved (make that my son too) your pottermania last year and this year’s theme is wonderful! Hoping to learn a lot of weird words this April!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I do remember that!
      I hope both of you will have a great time reading these weird words post 🙂

      Thank you so much for stopping by ❤

      Like

  39. Weird words! Aha! Do I love this theme already? Will be hopping along all this month with you in this challenge 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes Yes please do so, Richa! 🙂

      Like

  40. rolandclarke says:

    Great theme. Looking forward to discovering how many of your words I’ve used in my A to Z Challenge. Good luck Fab.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much 🙂
      You can call me Mithila. Fabulus is my alter ego’s name 😀

      Like

  41. Kalpanaa says:

    Love Weird Words as a challenge. How are you designing those fabulous alphabet pictures. I love them.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you like the theme! 🙂

      Do check out this online software http://www.canva.com
      You can create amazing edits for any type of social media post. it’s just brilliant!

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

