The Theory of Not Enjoying A Vacation, while on a Vacation.

I admit it, I have been pretty lax with my blogging schedules. And for those of you who know me since the start of my blogging journey, you would be familiar with the schedule- a post on Sunday at 10 am sharp. That’s like about four times a month? Too sloppy.

Well, that’s about to change, now that I have planned to get blogging more regularly. Of course, the second blog (whenever it gets ready), will stick to the same schedule of ‘one post on Sundays at 10 am’. But here, it’s gonna be more regular. 

Back to my #MicroBlogMondays post. 

( “It’s going to be a real challenge trying to restrict her to only 8 sentences,” says Fab. *deep breath* “Let’s go.”)


Think about a vacation you really enjoyed. Maybe to Hawaii or Mahabaleshwar? 

Okay. Have you noticed these two weird phenomena? 
You always seem to think of work when you’re having a great time at the beach or shoving delicious strawberries into your mouth. And you’re not doing it consciously. It just happens in the subconscious, when you’re at the peak of happiness and bliss. Your mood swings downwards for a brief moment when you are reminded of the books on your desk or the files in your cabinet. And then you go back to the serene state of happiness, without forcing yourself to think about it much or feel guilty about it. Of course, the fact that you’re not facing the harsh reality makes it easier to shut those thoughts out. Added to that, you’re in a completely different place, so there’s no pressure of actually getting consumed by the thought.

The second phenomenon is the reverse of the first one, and it occurs when you return from a vacation. You are knee deep in work. Or crazily studying for the Math exam you have the next day. And all of a sudden, a seagull whizzes past your ear. A strawberry runner entangles you into the net of nostalgia. And nothing, I repeat, nothing can get your head back to the present day situation. Even in the face of the dreaded deadlines, the little devil in your head keeps running a slideshow of beautiful scenes and magical moments. 

The appearance of the real devil a.k.a boss/mom yanks you back to reality 😀

Do comment below if you’ve felt this feeling before, just so that I know I’m not the only one missing my vacation at Mahabaleshwar! 😀

I wish they’d let me drive this! 😀 


~Total-failure-at-keeping-it-short-and-simple

This post is for the #MicroBlogMondays , hosted by the Stirrup Queens. Want to know more and join the fun? Click here

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Parul says:

    Ha ha ! I have been to Mahabaleshwar and those strawberry farms were cool!
    Well, microblogs – do them regularly and I write exactly 8 sentences. It's fun. Trying sticking to the limit 🙂

    Like

  2. Traci York says:

    I found that once I came up with a schedule (Monday, Wednesday, Friday for me), and specific topics for each day, not only did it make it easier to post, but my blog traffic increased significantly. Mel, from the Stirrup Queens, even invited me to write a post for BlogHer about my experience. I highly recommend a regular blog schedule – best of luck with it!

    I've only been on a few vacations, but I know exactly what you mean. Oh, and I love your picture of the strawberry car! 🙂

    Like

  3. Mapro Garden is supercoooool! 😀

    That's going to be my aim from the next #MicroBlogMondays onwards.. this was just a trial run! 😀

    Thank you so much for stopping by, Parul! 🙂

    Like

  4. This week was my first week of blogging after almost four months.. SO I'm trying out various schedules in this week to see which one is the most ideal one. Thank you Traci for the tips!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

