Birthday Diaries: Birthday Gifts and Love

I always think of Dudley Dursley when I think of birthday gifts. 

Harry put the plates of egg and bacon on the table, which was difficult as there wasn’t much room. Dudley, meanwhile, was counting his presents. His face fell.
“Thirty-six,” he said, looking up at his mother and father. “That’s two less than last year.”
“Darling, you haven’t counted Auntie Marge’s present, see, it’s here under this big one from Mommy and Daddy.”
“All right, thirty-seven then,” said Dudley, going red in the face. Harry, who could see a huge Dudley tantrum coming on, began wolfing down his bacon as fast as possible in case Dudley turned the table over.
Aunt Petunia obviously scented danger, too, because she said quickly, “And we’ll buy you another two presents while we’re out today. How’s that, popkin? Two more presents. Is that all right?”
Dudley thought for a moment. It looked like hard work. Finally he said slowly, “So I’ll have thirty . . . thirty . . .”
“Thirty-nine, sweetums,” said Aunt Petunia.
“Oh.” Dudley sat down heavily and grabbed the nearest parcel. “All right then.”
(HP1, The Vanishing Glass)

And then I think of Harry’s first real Birthday gift.

“Anyway — Harry,” said the giant, turning his back on the Dursleys, “a very happy birthday to yeh. Got summat fer yeh here — I mighta sat on it at some point, but it’ll taste all right.”
From an inside pocket of his black overcoat he pulled a slightly squashed box. Harry opened it with trembling fingers. Inside was a large, sticky chocolate cake with Happy Birthday Harry written on it in green icing.
Harry looked up at the giant. He meant to say thank you, but the words got lost on the way to his  mouth, and what he said instead was, “Who are you?”
The giant chuckled.
“True, I haven’t introduced meself. Rubeus Hagrid, Keeper of Keys and Grounds at Hogwarts.”
(HP1, The Keeper of the Keys)

And hence, I’ve learned a very important lesson about Birthday Gifts: Don’t look at the price tag. Don’t look at the size. Nor should you weigh it with the help of balancing beams and compare it with other gifts. Appreciate each and every gift as it comes. Consider the intention of the person. And consider the time and energy it took for that person to peruse through thousands of gift shops to get you that one gift that brought a smile on your face. And trust me, you’ll surely feel that your birthday was the bestest one ever, compared to the previous ones.

Ain’t this cute?
Pic source: sodahead.com



Here’s me doing a listicle! 

One birthday gift that I still have: A rose-shaped-bead bracelet that my sister gifted me for my 13th birthday. I still wear it, although it’s broken and a few roses have fallen off. It’s very pretty, maroon coloured roses with a silver chain band. I wish I could repair it to the way it was on 17th October 2011. The way those people at museums recreate those lovely works of art.

One birthday gift I wish I never got: A belt I received from one of my relatives. It’s not that I didn’t like the belt or anything. It was pretty, with cartoon characters designed on the belt. I think I got it for my 9th birthday. Not sure about that. But the actual reason why I regretted getting that as a gift: I got so addicted to wearing that belt, that when it finally broke after a year and a half, I refused to wear any other belt. Often ending up in a disastrous result – I used to walk out of my house without a belt, and had to tug up my jeans every two steps I walked. Finally, I realised that my crush saw me pulling my pants up one day, and immediately ran to Linking Road with my mum to buy a new belt! 😄

One birthday gift I wish I get: Not many people know this fact. But here I am, telling it to the world. I’m a crazy fan for the rock band Neon Trees. And I would do anything to get my hands on an album. If you wanna know why, download this song – Text Me In the Morning. It’s my fave song till date from this band. Basically, I like all their tracks. And hence, would kill to get that album in my collection. 


And if you want to check out some ideal birthday gifts for your friends and family, get your cells working by reading this Buzzfeed post! 
~Birthday-Gal

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

