Birthday Diaries: Chocolates and Music

Aah! The one thing that we all loved to do as kids- Distribute birthday chocolates among friends in school!



Now when it comes to me, I’ve never been a fan of distributing chocolates among friends. I kinda stopped liking it when I reached Standard 5. I stopped liking the physical interaction with people my own age at that age. You know, the typical birthday chocolate distribution conversation.



Distributing chocolates in class is no mean affair. First of all, you need to go to the Principal’s office. Give her a big Cadbury. Or 5 eclairs if you’re not in a position to offer a Cadbury. Then, you need to go to the senior-most teacher of the school. Give her a smaller Cadbury, or 3 eclairs will suffice. Then, go to each teacher, give two eclairs, or three, if you’re pockets are extra large. And then finally, all sweaty and tired, you go back to your own near and dear ones in your class, and offer what’s remaining in the tray.

I sure as hell remember my birthday in Standard 2. I had this box full of Cadbury Eclairs. Golden and shining like the sun. I kept opening the box at an interval of 5 minutes, just to look at the chocolates gleam. Then with a heavy heart, I’d close the box. And again open it. Till the teacher caught me ignoring my Math sum. She promptly pulled me in front of the class, and made the whole class sing a rather lusty and boring version of Happy Birthday.

That’s something else I don’t like. The Happy Birthday Singing Ceremony. Half the members of the class are too bored to even stand. Some don’t even care that you’ve managed to survive for another year. Only a few devoted cronies will scream and shout the HBD song with all their vigour and might, and in the process, earn cold hard stares from other unenthusiastic folks.

Last year was my first year out of school. I tell you, no one sang the HBD song for me. Nor did I distribute chocolates. And I was quite happy with that. I ate my birthday chocolates alone. And sang a super happy and cheery version of the HBD song for myself. Or rather, Fabulus sang it for me. Not that I’m patting myself on the back for being a loner. I was just happy to be free from the 12-year torture of standing in front of my classmates and enduring a half an hour of sheer embarrassment.Β 

Though I’m a choco addict and a music addict, I don’t like both these things happening together on my birthday.Β 

~Birthday-Gal #13DaysToGo
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Ls says:

    Ow.. But we love the birthday day isnt it? I remember when I was 5, my neighbour on the class bench had her birthday. She gave me an additional one as we were friends. But, by end of class, we had fought and she took back all three. I was inconsolable when school finished. I dont remember the friend, her name or even the reason for the fight. But those chocolates, I still do.
    Good one!

    Like

  2. wow… this brought back memories… I honestly don't think I have done anything like it in decades πŸ™‚ Well, then again, its been that long since I was out of school! πŸ˜€
    In college, it became more about treats to friends after work… in hospital, well… noone really cared except for the odd wish. Somewhere along the way, I guess we stopped caring but I won't lie… a small part of me wishes it was as simple and joyous as it was when I was a kid.

    Like

  3. pixie says:

    This brought back memories!! I used to distribute these chocolates in school on my birthday!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Eli Ert says:

    Oh, that was fun to read- but even as old as I am- I love having both chocolates and singing on my birthday… still… Agree: teobroma- ganash- YUM!!!!

    Like

  5. Aseem says:

    Oh those were the times.. Now that post made me quite nostalgic! Giving chocolates and classmates singing 'Happy Birthday' and then those birthday bumps and birthday treats. Oh it's been so long since have done all of that.

    Like

  6. Gosh! That was ridiculous you know! But at that age, it happens a lot. I mean, this had happened with my friend. I had to console her. By console, i don't mean patting her back and giving her my handkerchief. I mean, giving her the chocolates I had received! πŸ˜€
    I know right! I'm having a hard time remembering the surnames of some of my friends from school. Though it's only two years since I passed out! :p
    Thank you so much, Lata! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I'm glad it did, doc!
    Now is it that bad in the big mean world? Then I don't wanna grow up!
    Actually now that I'm in college, I've already started worrying about where I should treat my friends, which friends should I rudely not invite to the party, and all. And it's only #5DaysToGo *facepalm*

    Yeah! The simple joys would mean a lot.. i mean, you celebrate birthdays in order to recollect the year that past and enjoy the coming one, right? πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Aha. Didn't we all πŸ™‚
    Thank you for stopping by!

    Like

  9. Hahahahahha.. The number of candles on the cake should never determine whether you should stop eating chocolates and stop singing on your birthday πŸ™‚
    And for your next birthday, add dancing to the list too! πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. I know right!
    Writing the post also made me miss those good old days.. Guess it will never be the same! πŸ™‚

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

