12 Zodiacs, 12 Jokes!

I must admit. I am a hardcore Zodiac sign addict. You can ask any of my friends. They will bear witness to my frequent zoning out into a rant of Zodiac Sign Knowledge in the midst of people. And in case I meet someone new, the very first question I ask them (usually after I find out the name. I’m not that ill-mannered) is their zodiac sign. If they look at me the way I look at Dumbledore when he says, “Nitwit. Oddment. Blubber. Tweak.” I quickly change the language. The first question gets replaced by the a second one, “Can I know the date on which this blessed earth started suffering from your blissful ignorance of sun signs?” They usually stalk off the way people walk away from a rabid dog. And I’m spared of the trouble of having conversations with happy ignorant fools.
 
Most of my friends have this misconception: Because I understand zodiac signs, I also believe in astrology. Lemme take a moment to clear this out: I believe in the impact of Zodiac Signs on personalities, and hence it’s resultant effect on the way they behave, the things they like, their love and friendship compatibility. I do not, for even a blasted minute, support astrology and the prediction of future by gazing at the stars and the palm. Future is not decided by some unknown being sitting in the high heavens and playing darts with the stars. It’s decided by human stupidity.
 
astronomical-clock-408306_960_720
 
Have you ever checked out the astrology section that most newspapers have? Preferably within the comics and games section. Coz intellectuals like me don’t want to be interrupted when we pursue this highly smart activity of gleaning info and gossip using newspapers. Take an example of A, a person who religiously reads this Astrology section like as if her life depends on it. The daily horoscope tells her to beware while crossing the road. So A stays aware while crossing the road. But isn’t A supposed to be careful while crossing roads? 
Horoscopes are more like time pass. Telling the readers, or rather, forcing the readers to believe that something is gonna happen for certain. When in reality, the chances of it happening are purely coincidental. If you think I’m making an uninformed assumption, lemme give you a real example: Take the horoscope section of three different sample newspapers. Compare all three (your own sun sign) and check out what happens during the day. 95.4% of the time it will never happen. Coz, how can three different things happen to the  same set of people on the same day? 
 
Another experiment, if you’re still determined at proving I’m a teenage git: Try reading the horoscope every morning for a week. The next week, start reading the horoscopes at the end of the day. I bet you: You will find that in the first week, things are somewhat similar to the rubbish printed in the newspaper. But in the second week, you’ll be laughing your head off reading about what was supposed to happen during your day.
 
What say, now? Ain’t Zodiac Signs more interesting than Astrology? If you still don’t agree.. Check out the things that I do a research on in the field of Zodiacs!

Ain’t this true?
P.S. I posted this blog post today, coz my horoscope read: People tend to agree with what you say today. Your sarcasm levels are on a all time high. 😛
 
~Libran
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Shilpa Garg says:

    At one point of time, zodiac predictions section was the first thing that I'd check in a newspaper. But not anymore. Yes, I do believe in the traits and characteristics of specific zodiac signs, but not these gibberish traits which do the rounds on whatsapp and facebook.

    Like

  2. Kathy Combs says:

    How interesting! I have been into this over the years, especially when I was a teenager and wanting to figure out where exactly life was going to lead me. Fun! ♥

    Like

  3. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Mithilaaaaa…..! Loved reading your post. Actually, in the beginning I felt that it is going to be about your love of astrology, but, thank god, it wasn't! I, too, used to be pretty curious about my fate for the day, when I was your age. Thank god, I grew up! Now, I don't care. But, I do like to find out about zodiac signs of the people close to me. Pretty interesting it is! And, hey, just found out that you and I are 'nice but rude'! No, that's wrong. I am not rude. Where did you read THAT now?
    “Can you tell me the date when this blessed earth….” made me burst out laughing, and I am going to read this post once again. My day's does of laughter! Thanks sweetie!

    Like

  4. “Future is not decided by some unknown being sitting in the high heavens and playing darts with the stars. It's decided by human stupidity.” = Those lines sum it all up, fellow Libran 🙂

    Like

  5. True that Shilpa!!!
    Those Facebook uploads and weird horoscopes for the day are an utter waste of time! :p

    Like

  6. Hi Kathy! Thanks for stopping by.. It's your first comment on my blog! 🙂
    And I can say that since I'm a teenager, even I do this zodiac thing for the same reason! 😀

    Like

  7. Shilpaaaa..! Thank you so much! 🙂
    Hahahaha no.. I wouldn't dare say I love astrology! Or else my gang of friends would be ever ready by my side, asking me to gain a sneak peek into their future! :p
    Yeah! DO read the post again.. And do share it with others, so that they too can laugh to their heart's content! 🙂

    Thank you so much Shilpa! Your comments actually make me smile when I wanna cry 🙂

    Like

  8. Sid! A comment on my post after so long! #Honoured 🙂
    I'm glad you noticed that line. But don't we Librans always notice the line which is the highlight of the post 🙂

    Btw, I voted for you, okay? Do win it! ❤

    Like

  9. What the last pic says about my zodiac is false. I never give gifts — not even in birthday parties and marriage receptions 😛 😛 Now I think I have my reservations about zodiac personalities!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

