Times you feel lonely..

 
It’s kinda weird. 7 billion people on this planet earth. And yet I manage to feel lonely when I’m in the midst of a group. Analysing this situation, I’ve come up with some reasons why most of us feel pangs of loneliness at various points in life..
 
Empty corridors mirroring your state of mind.. #Lonely
Pic source: gratisography.com
 
1. You want to be with one particular person and not with the rest: This happens when you’re globe trotting or even when you’re away from someone you love. The pleasure you derive from the company of that one special person cannot rival the happiness you get from having a conversation with a stranger.
 
2. You feel like no one understands you: In most cases, you kinda withdraw into a shell. And don’t wanna talk about what’s hurting you inside. Coz you think that the world can’t understand you. You observe your problems with a microscopic vision and tend to magnify them to a size that a self-respecting potato would be ashamed of. I do not intend to belittle your problems. To each one, his grief is greater than his fellow friend’s grief. I’m just saying that this feeling of inferiority / superiority (I don’t know which one is more suitable) prevents you from opening up. Thus leading you to feel lonely.
 
3. When you talk to someone and feel that the person doesn’t want to listen to you:  Aah, this is the worst one. Coz, it feels like you’re talking to a wall. And hence you choose solitude over being with someone who makes you feel alone.
 
4. You prefer to music to speech: Music, can solve problems. Listening to other people give you advice can’t. I wholly support this idea. I do it many a times. Much to the displeasure of my friends. But this thought that music is the only thing keeping you alive is what makes you feel a little bit more lonelier. These effects are counter attacked by the pleasure inducing effect of music. But that overwhelming thought that music understands you better than people does make you feel a little aloof from other people.
 
5. Drink away the pain: I would suggest doing this intoxication induced self analysis alone. You might regret your slurred words the moment they step out of your mouth and enter the ears of your fellow drink buddies. The reason why I feel drinking alone makes you feel lonelier: You replay the old sad memories. And then remember that you don’t have anyone to share them with. Nor do you have a glass of wine to part with with the one you loved the most.
 
6. When your best friend gets a new best friend: This one sucks. Coz you constantly see your best friend online and not chatting with you. And when you text message your best friend, there are no longer any immediate replies. The replies turn out to be short and terse, almost as if your bestie is trying to throw you away.  Now that he/she got a new play toy. 
 
7. Someone you love has moved on to the next world: This hurts. Coz you now have one less person among those who can tolerate your stupidity. On a serious note, this hurts as fuck, coz of the memories you keep replaying in your mind. It will take some time. But it will surely stop. And then you’ll be able to smile again. 
 
8. Heart-break or a friend-break: I would say this hurts more than number eight. Coz, in this case, even though the person is existent in this world, you can no longer text them at any random time of the day and expect a immediate reply (if you’re foolish enough to even consider a reply.)
 

At which horrible moments in your life do you feel lonely? Any specific moment in your life when you felt like it was one against the world? Do share it out in the comments section!

 
~Ms.Lonely-But-Happy-With-Music
28 Comments Add yours

  1. The 3rd point is so relevant to me! I keep talking to a person and then in the middle of my talk that person calls someone else to speak with… Then I feel bad and then i end up talking to myself in order to cheer up 🙂
    It's annoying sometimes.
    Yet another good blogpost Mithila!! 👍

    Like

  2. We especially feel lonely when we look for happiness externally rather than internally… As Albert Einstein says, if you want true happiness, attach it to a goal, not a person…

    Like

  3. Nabanita says:

    Well, I think it happens at different times based on all the points you have just jotted down… But I try to change my loneliness to being alone and I love being alone ..Makes sense?

    Like

  4. Shilpa Garg says:

    Oh, we all experience loneliness and it could be any of the reasons you mentioned above! And as Nabanita mentioned, since I love being alone too so I convert my loneliness into sweet solitude! 🙂

    Like

  5. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Yes, Mithila, we all feel lonely during some point or other, due to some or other reason.. And, it does hurt real bad! But, there is really nothing you can do about it except accept it, drown your sorrows in that glass of wine at times and learn to revel in your own company!

    Like

  6. Loneliness happens. I have been there. But I always find a way out. Sometimes I feel lonely while talking to someone(if they can't understand my point if view), then I stop talking and listen, and I won't feel lonely any more. Weird huh? But I love and cherish solitude. My favorite place to be. 🙂

    Like

  7. Usha Menon says:

    Everyone has experienced a sense of lonliness. Sometimes such a feeling overtakes an individual even in the midst of a crowd.

    Like

  8. There are so many times when I feel lonely! Now that I stay away from home, those moments are all the more frequent! Can't meet friends that often also now as they work in different places. Why did I grow up? 😦

    Like

  9. Shraddhaaaa! I know, it hurts a lot. And what hurts is that you really want to talk to that person and that person doesn't want to listen! 😦
    Please don't get into the habit of talking to yourself.. rather, write it down or draw it out! I'm sure it will work wonders!
    Thank you so much for your kind words! ❤

    Like

  10. Well said, Vishal! External material happiness can only bring momentary cheeriness.. and not eternal pleasure! 🙂

    Like

  11. Yes! It affects people at different stages of their life..
    Many of us seek some time alone.. It does make sense if it makes you happy! If it doesn't make you happy, then it doesn't make sense! 😀

    Like

  12. I'm glad that you and I agreed on the reasons I mentioned above! Means a lot to me! 🙂
    Yes, and as I said to Naba, whatever makes you happy is the best thing for you at that moment!

    Like

  13. Shilpa! I was waiting for your view on this post.. And I'm glad that you and I prefer one thing – drowning sorrows and learning to revel in our own company!
    Of course, I don't have the liberty to drown in alcohol, so I prefer Ice Tea! 😀 :p

    Like

  14. Yes, Vinitha! It's nice that you've found a way out of it.. And this idea seems super nice 🙂
    Listening to people when they don't listen to you might eventually give them a hint that you need them to listen to you too! 🙂

    Like

  15. Yes, Usha ma'am! And that choking feeling when it happens in the midst of a crowd is terrible 😦

    Like

  16. Aww Reema! :*
    That's really bad now.. Nostalgia and homesickness plus friendsickness..
    You should try and make time to be with them.. Or Skype them? 🙂
    Wishing you all the luck!

    P.S. Thanks for the warning.. I'll be growing up soon 😀

    Like

  17. At times suddenly I get this irresistible urge to talk to someone, and then somehow unfortunately no-one will be around or free or online. And that's the moment I feel lonely the most!

    Like

  18. Don't we all feel that way? 😦
    And it hurts more when- you've been online listening to someone talk, and then the person never returns the favour! :/

    Like

  19. Ls says:

    Point 1 for me Mithila. In the daily routine of life, my husband is my best friend. And when I dont get to share with him, I feel bad. If he is away, time crawls. Of course I have other friends. But this one is the best.

    Like

  20. This is such mature writing… are you sure you are only 17???

    Like

  21. Yea i have seen people doing that! Thanks for your advice
    <3

    Like

  22. Aaww Lata!
    It must be so nice na? To have your best friend as your husband? I wish that when I grow up, I too am as lucky as you! <3
    I totally understand this.. You always prefer to be with your bestest best friend.. Not with the other ones.. 😉

    Like

  23. Hahahahahha.. Ankita! You're the third person to ask me this after reading this blog post!
    I guess I might have to publish my Birth Certificate on social media ASAP! :p

    Like

  24. Parul says:

    Well, fabulous girl! You sound like a big and mature fabulous girl. Loved your post and could relate to it. Reasons may vary but after all we are all alone in this world. Sometimes we have to fight it out and sometimes, just give up!

    Like

  25. Chicky says:

    So many reasons for feeling lonely at times. Can't avoid it really. Part of life, I guess.

    Like

  26. tulika singh says:

    Like someone said up there in the comments it's those rare moments when you need to talk to someone, a specific someone, and he/she isn't available – Ugh!

    Like

  27. Nice one!!!
    One thing I'll tell you that the most TALENTED people are the most LONLIEST People in life

    Like

  28. until and unless u make attempts to connect with the world!!!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

