The Love Of Marine Drive



The battleground where the sea kisses the world..
The place where love fights hesitation and confusion..and wins..
The air in which beautiful hair streaks colours in the minds of prurient boys..
The playground where trees hear the native voices of barking dogs and chirping birds..
The place where lovers unite, and ‘live’rs thrive..

None other than Marine Drive!

Yeah. My favourite place to be, of course, after Hogwarts! πŸ˜€Β 
Β 
My first visit to Marine Drive was when I was a seven year old. With family. Someone’s birthday? Yes. It was someone’s birthday. I vaguely remember the crowds. The pretty- feet, thousand-dollar-maintenance dogs treading on the promenade, accompanied by masters and mistresses, adorning fashionable iPods and mp3 players, gave me a glimpse of the high life. The omnipresent chanawala caught my fascination for a while. Till the moment I got a quickly made chatpata chana packet.Β 
Β 
After that, I don’t really remember being there. I just remember hearing second hand experiences. Like: My college going sister celebrated someone’s birthday out there. Blah blah blah. Like I cared.
Β 
My tryst with Marine drive started when I stepped into the prestigious corridors of HR College. First day of college? I devotedly attended all lectures. Fresher’s party? I went straight home after tapping my feet, literally tapping my feet, to some Bollywood music. (Yeah. I know I’m boring)Β 
Β 
I actually went to Marine Drive a month after I actually became a commerce student. And to put it shortly, it’s not a day I would want to remember for the rest of my life. Suffice it to say, I felt lonely among a gang of people. Felt suffocated among chattering voices and highly fragranced perfumes. Felt nauseated looking at the false show of affection and love, just for the sake of a birthday party. Felt like puking after walking around in the hot sunny afternoon. For the first time in my life, I wished I could be seated at home, watching a HP movie with a box of doughnuts within an arm’s reach. Usually it’s the opposite.
Β 
I stopped going to Marine Drive after that. I don’t know. That place kinda left some bad memories in my mind. A horrible aftertaste filled my mouth whenever anyone mentioned the name. I was quite willing to roam all over Colaba Causeway and also lapped up any opportunity to go to Nariman Point. But Marine Drive? No ways!
Β 
Then somewhere in the beginning of my SYJC year, I felt this odd longing to be at Marine Drive. Whenever I was supposed to be in college. Whenever I was supposed to be at home, studying or doing who-knows-what. Just. A weird craving to be where the waves are. My mp3 player and me. And an umbrella if need be. The winds wreaking a havoc with my already messed up hair. Heat shining on my already flushed up face. Mahn, ❀
Pic credits: Me!
Pic credits: Me!
Β 
Maybe the reason is that I seek solitude these days? Maybe coz, I’ve stopped preferring human company? Rephrase, known human company. The music worked like alcohol, drowning me and intoxicating me to an all new record, a record to be broken the next day. The physical activity served to make me forget the mental pain. The messed up hair got my bloated narcissism back in check. Perfect bliss, you could say. Those half an hour to one hour sessions out there were soothing. To my fucked up mind.
Β 
And while I whiled away time at Marine Drive, I made a lot of observations.. Here’s a list!
1. There is a direct relation between the height of the tide and the number of people who gather there.
2. If you venture out towards Marine Drive after 7pm, you’ll hardly get any place to sit down and relax with the winds.
3. If you’re feeling sad and low, Marine Drive is the best place to be. No, don’t shut yourself up in a room and cry buckets and choke on icecream and sleeping pills. Step out. Buy an icecream cone from Naturals, or a cup from Baskin Robbins. Catch a place among the hordes of people at Marine Drive. And contemplate. If need be, take some music along with you. Trust me. It will work wonders.
Β 
So, Mumbaikars, do share your Marine Drive Love Affair stories here in the comments section. I’d like to analyse how this epic hangout place affected you! πŸ™‚



~Marine-Drive-Lover-But-AquaphobicΒ 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Sigh. I am SUCH a beach person but I have never ever been able to live anywhere with a beach (even within driving distance of a beach) in my entire life :/

    Like

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    Have been to Marine Drive a couple of times.Watching the waves crashing against the rocks and the sun sets are simply amazing sights!

    Like

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    Have been to Marine Drive a couple of times.Watching the waves crashing against the rocks and the sun sets are simply amazing sights!

    Like

  4. Soumya says:

    I am a Bangalorean and I have been to Mumbai a couple of times. I always make it a point to visit Marine Drive. There is something so peaceful about that area and the water and the winds calm me down instantly.

    Like

  5. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Oh boy! M, you made my day, babe! Marine Drive is my favourite place in Mumbai! I have been longing to go there since ages, but,…However, I remember, when I studied at SNDT way back in god-knows-which-year, I would frequent this heaven on earth with my friends and wish I could put up a tent there and live there for the rest of my life! Nowadays, I badger the spouse to take me there for a date or something, but..well, again, but! Maybe someday I will go there all by myself or with my BFF and relive those olden golden memories!

    Like

  6. That must be sooo heartbreaking na! I don't like the sands, but I like the waters.. and the breeze! *_*
    πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. I know right, Shilpa! Have you been inspired to write a blog post after a visit to Marine Drive?

    Like

  8. Being at Marine Drive is like being at the heights of bliss! <3
    Do visit Mumbai some times! πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Shilpaaa! I'm glad I made your day! πŸ™‚ *blushes*
    Maybe that's the story of every collegian? But putting up a tent is good idea! Me and my bestie should try that out! πŸ˜‰
    If badgering him ain't enough, make him read this blog post. Maybe he will feel inspired to take you to a date there? Just to relive the memories! πŸ˜‰

    #OldGoldenMemories .. I'm still making them! ❀

    Like

  10. … where love fights hesitation and confusion..and wins..”, you got me there, Mithila! I could easily relate to your write. Cos, that's exactly how I feel..maybe not preferring human company at all. πŸ™‚
    Beaches make me sad and nostalgic. Except that I don't know why. I am like a cheerful, playful 9-yr old when I get to a beach. But within minutes you can find me sitting on the seashore, staring at the horizon! Beautiful post!

    Like

  11. Chicky says:

    I only wish I lived close to a beach… a clean beach preferably!
    Someday…
    πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. Parul says:

    So I have seen Marine Drive like twice and I can't even remember. Looks like should visit Mumbai πŸ™‚
    Fun post!

    Like

  13. Hehehehehe Chicky! πŸ˜€
    Yes, someday! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. YOU SHOULD VISIT MUMBAI IF YOU'VE FORGOTTEN WHAT MARINE DRIVE LOOKS LIKE.
    Sorry for that Caps attack πŸ˜€
    Thanks so much, Parul! πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Thanks so much, Shalini! I'm glad that the words I used touched your heart!
    Maybe that's what we all authors feel? Don't prefer human company at all? Maybe that's what inspires us to write?

    Beaches are the place which relieve me of sadness and nostalgia. Maybe the waves have some hypnotic effect on you, thus recalling back all the memories?
    Hahahhahaha.. it's only a few years ago that I was a cheerful 9 year old! πŸ˜€

    Like

  16. Nabanita says:

    I have never been there and reading this I feel like visiting ..The first few lines really got me, beautiful!

    Like

  17. Do visit Marine Drive, Nabanita!
    And make sure you try out the chatpata chana et al over there! πŸ˜€

    Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. BellyBytes says:

    My favourite part of Mumbai especially the entire walk down the sea front which I do 3-4 times a week . In the mornings it’s a different place with people selling health juices and God freaks chanting mantras. In the evenings it’s a zoo with all kinds of people enjoying the breeze .
    I hate it when it’s crowded but am frightened when it’s empty ….

    Like

  19. mahekg says:

    There is something fascinating about the place.. it soothes you to the core

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

