My favourite Potter moments!

Here’s my second guest blog post over @ TWTTSOF .. By my favourite blogger and fellow Potterhead, Ankita!
 
All of us Potterheads have our favourite moments from the books. I have read tonnes of posts and discussions about them but never made a list of my own. So when fellow Potterhead Mithila and I spoke about exchanging guest posts, this seemed like the best thing to do! So here are my favourite light hearted moments from the book. These made me laugh, made me sit up and applaud the characters and sometimes made all mushy and go aww.
 
 
Book 1 – The Philosopher’s Stone
In this book, I loved it when harry and Ron go looking for Hermione. It may not have been the most entertaining moment but it is my favourite because it is an early indication of the strength of these two characters. As young carefree boys they needn’t have bothered. But they did. They did and it started a friendship that was deeper and stronger than your regular school relationships.
Book 2 – The Chamber of Secrets
There was so much packed into this book. Right from Harry’s rescue to the slaying of the Basilisk, this book has fast paced turns and loads of action. A bit like a Bollywood masala film. What was heartening was Hermione drawing little hearts over Lockhart’s lessons. I love it because it shows Hermione as a normal pre-teen girl who does things her age too!
Book 3 – The Prisoner of Azkaban
I guffawed when the Marauder’s map and spewed all those insults on Snape. Wonder how Lupin kept a straight face through it all!! But I was jubilant when Harry realised he could go and live with Sirius. Now of course we know that was never going to happen. Harry was stuck with the Dursleys till he came of age. Don’t know what I am talking about? Go read the series again! All of Lupin’s private lessons with Harry were pretty cool too. I especially loved the exam he set for the class. So basically, I liked Lupin in the film. Can I rant a bit here? The way Lupin is potrayed in the movie, isn’t that a bit of a downer? The character is so impactful in the book and does not get his due in the movie.
Book 4 – The Goblet of Fire
There were so many moments in this book. This one is my absolute favourite. I guess that is also because from the next book onward, we see more. Things were still light hearted till Cedric Diggory dies. There is a common theme of Ron’s jealousy running through this book. First for Harry and then the intense jealousy he has for Krum. We clearly see the beginning of the romance here 🙂 And heck, I am a sucker for romance!! 
Book 5 – The Order of the Phoenix
The epic departure of Fred and George from Hogwarts has to be it. I mean Harry only asked for a distraction and they went ahead and created that super spectacle. The style with which they take off and shout to Peeves, “Give her hell for us” made me put down the book and stop laughing. Even better was that none of the teachers cleared it. They all told Umbridge that they were incapable!
Book 6 – The Half Blood Prince
The funny Quidditch commentary that Luna Lovegood did. There was this time when Luna was doing the commentary and McGonagall actually snatches the mic from her and announces the score. And then, Loser’s Lurgy! Oh that cracked me up. 
Book 7 – The Deathly Hallows
The making of the seven Potters. There are very few light hearted moments in this book. It starts off at a serious note and we all know what is meant to be. I suppose the imminent danger and the seriousness of what Harry is about to do makes the beginning precious. Fred and George are still making jokes about being identical here and Hermione says Harry looks much tastier than Crabbe and Goyle!
 
 
Note about the author –
Ankita is a working mother, a Lifestyle Blogger  who blogs about anything and everything under the sun. She blogs at Lifestyle of a Professional Her tweets @lifstyleproblog will surely kickstart your boring Monday mornings into lively and energetic ones, all credit to her amazing tweetersations! Her camera works as good as her pen, so do follow her on Instagram too! @lifestyleproblog .
Thank you so much, Ankita for doing this guest blog post! 🙂
20 Comments Add yours

  1. Apt post for today!
    Happy birthday, Harry ❤ and Goddess Rowling!

    Like

  2. Ahh, Potterheads for life. I miss the books so much I think I'm going to reread one today.

    One of the dialogues I will ALWAYS remember is Hermione telling Ron off for “having the emotional range of a teaspoon”… My God, I almost choked myself to death when I read it the first time 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. the Potterhead at home, says it's HP's birthday today? really? so wish all you Potterheads a happy celebration,….mine made me take him to an ice cream parlour! what did u guys do?

    Like

  4. I know right! 🙂

    Like

  5. Reread them now? I have already reread them 8 times.. which makes the total count go upto 9 times! <3

    Hahahahahha.. that particular line got me rolling on the floor laughing! 😀

    Like

  6. Yayayayayayayayay! How's the little Potterhead doing?
    I personally wanted to cut a cake and celebrate yesterday.. but I settled for an Oreo Shake party with my bestie! :*

    Like

  7. Jaibala Rao says:

    This is a delightful post to read. Agree about Lupin, the movie hasn't done him justice at all. Yep reading the books in in order after reading this awesome post.

    Like

  8. I too agree with Ankita.. Lupin could have been portrayed as a larger-than-life hero. Which wasn't executed very well..
    Do read the books again and share your experience, Jaibala! 🙂

    Like

  9. Happy birthday to Harry Potter and Ms. Rowling. Have another Oreo shake on my behalf.

    Harry to Hermione: You're not still mad at Ron are you?
    Hermione: I'm always mad at Ron.

    Like

  10. Parul says:

    I am going to write a letter to Jk Rowling! To send me her series for review 😉

    Like

  11. Hahahhahahah.. Thanks Vishal! 😀

    That quote be the best! 🙂

    Like

  12. Amazing idea, Parul! 😉

    Like

  13. Chicky says:

    Hahahaha! Awesome post, Ankita! Thanks for having her here, Mithila… or Fabulus… whoever it is today! 😛
    I loved Lupin too, and the relationship between Hermione and Ron was just too real-like! I have often wondered what Harry felt… having the two of them as his best friends… being caught in between them, so to speak. And Luna's commentary was just brilliant… had me in splits!
    Hermione was my most favorite character in the book though, I think. Loved her sarcasm and wit!

    Like

  14. Hey Jaibala… thanks for liking this 🙂 I have been meaning to read the books for this post too 😛 I am so glad people agree with me about Lupin… Maybe someone will make a TV series on these books and translate the books exactly to the screes. Then we'd have Lupin getting the attention he deserved!

    Like

  15. This comment has been removed by the author.

    Like

  16. All the best with that Parul!

    Like

  17. You are Welcome Chicky! It was Mithila who invited me and I suppose Fabulous allowed it 😛 Hermione is my favourite too… Aren't you glad the romance did not really start till the last book? That would have been so AWKWARD for Harry!

    Like

  18. It was Mithila who allowed, but currently Fabulus is in control! 😀
    It was my pleasure hosting you, Ankita on my blog! 🙂
    Hermione be the best! 😀
    P.S. Are you referring to a girl who looks wayy similar to Hermione? Hint, hint: She owns TWTTSOF! 😀

    Like

  19. I had fun doing this… so wanna read all the books again!!

    Like

  20. Had so much fun reading this post. Those moments happen to be included in my list of favourites too! 😍😊

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

