Being Social v/s Being super Social – Facebook

Back link to the previous post, in case you missed it :

Here comes my least liked social networking site – Facebook. Mithila didn’t have her own Facebook account till September 2014. And the reason why she made it was to create her Instagram account. Actually she wasn’t going to make a Facebook account at all. All through her life. But when she got bitten by the Facebook bug, I doubt she could resist. In the middle of Winter, she got addicted to one game. I don’t remember the name now. One of her friends used to help her out in earning those power ups and all. But something happened.. yeah, blogging happened, and that took her mind off that silly game.. and back to me!

There are 1 billion mobile app links enabled on Facebook!ย 


Here’s an analysis of the FB users who fill our timelines with junk/nice things.

(y) Careless Sharers:
These FB personalities love sharing images and jokes that got them rolling on the floor laughing. One of Mithila’s friends had this really annoying habit of sharing 9gag and Teenager Post pics. Another crack-head, used to share Niall Horan quotes and pics like as if all the people in her friends list love him. #Directioners #NoHate

(y) Future Ballon d’Or winners/ Man of the Match winners:
Mahn, misocrickets and misofootballs like me just can’t tolerate such people. Each and every post on their timeline screams: Virat! Ab de Villiers! Lionel Messi! Neymar! IPL! FIFA!. Wow. And what do I scream, “SOS, please, someone save me..!”

(y) Photon-Narcissists:
One day, I caught Mithila checking out her Facebook feed. I rarely interrupt her when she sets about this journey of torturing herself. I’m normally tweeting around that time. But on that unfortunate day, I saw her timeline full of pics and collages of pics. Prodding her, I asked, “Is it ‘World Photography Day’? Or ‘World Show-Your-Beautiful-face day’?” She replied promptly, “No silly! it’s like this every day! Look, this one actually posts pics every day. Her selfie game is too strong” And then she continues scrolling down the unending list of pics, comment, likes. Nauseated, I stalk off to twitter.

(y) “Like” hoggers
These people attract likers like pollen attracts honey bees, like a magnet attracts iron, like water attracts crows, like lentils attract pigeons. Like Potterheads attract Mithila. *grins. But seriously, these people can go from 0-100 in half an hour. 1000 in 3 days. And the additional likesย just keep accumulating throughout the year!

(y) Virtual gamers :
These. are. the. people. who. deserve. to. be. banned. from. using. Facebook. These. are. the. people. who should. make separate. FB. profiles. in. order. to. fulfill. their. gaming. desires. Seriously, I don’t want my notification screen being fille with requests to become a Pirate, a Candy Crusher or even a Farmer. I wanna help Mithila become a great Blogger. Any game for that?

(y) FB FBI Squad:
These are the fangirling type pf gals who stalk their crushes’ puberty pics as well as pre-puberty pics. And if you ask me how I know about it? Well, I see through Mithila’s specs that so-and-so liked so-and-so’s pic from December 2012. And worser still, commented on a pic from November 2011. You don’t need to be a smart ass to figure that much out.

(y) Harmonic Anthropos :
I like these people. Even Mithila likes these people. They either post lyrics of their favourite songs. Or share videos of their fave bands. Or even better, compose music on their own. I wish Mithila’s friend list had more such people out there!



This completes the series of Being Social v/s Being Super Social. I really do hope you enjoyed it. And today, I think , Mithila is planning to come back from her hiatus. So if you could kindly take some time off, and tell her about how awesomely I’ve been handling her accounts and all.. It would be a real blessing! ๐Ÿ˜€


~Fabulus-over-Mithila

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Nabanita says:

    haha..I don't know which one I am…I guess it depends on my mood…I guess I've been guilty of doing one or the other at some point of my stay in Facebook life!

    Like

  2. sulekkha says:

    Facebook is pretty misunderstood, it is us who use it unthinkingly ๐Ÿ™‚ Nicely written post, very creative…happy blogging.

    Like

  3. I used to be averse to using Facebook once upon a time, but it has become such an integral part of my day-to-day life that it is hard to remember why. Heck, a hefty portion of my day job is dependent on Facebook. Thankfully I don't belong to anyone of the user groups you've outlined, but I can attest to having encountered quite a few of them in my News Feed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Shilpa Garg says:

    Have seen all these types. Was once a virtual gamer addict. Yes, I was a Farmer. Played FV from not only my main FB id but created 2 more just for the game. My friends used to hate me for filling their timeline with gaming posts. And then I had to teach them how to hide those posts… God!
    Have quite a few photon-narcissist on my TL… Pretty irritating it is to see them ALL the time!

    Like

  5. Parul says:

    Ha ha! awesome again! I dont think I fit anywhere here ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have my own class ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  6. Heeheehee… I have a love/hate relationship with FB.. SUCH a useful platform in someways, extremely useless in others.

    Like

  7. Yes! Our facebook walls can show us more about our lives than our diaries! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  8. Yeah! Some parts of Facebook are really cool.. But the others! :/

    Thanks so much, Sulekkha! Glad you liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. We bloggers need our Facebook pages.. and that's why we need our Facebook accounts! Why do you think I'm still allowing Mithila to use Facebook? ๐Ÿ˜€

    I'm pretty sure you've encountered such creatures on Facebook! ๐Ÿ˜€

    You ain't active on your blog anymore. Any specific reason why?

    Like

  10. Farmville! *_*
    2 more accounts! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    Teaching friends to hide the notifications? I must salute you for taking that effort! Some of Mithila's friends don't even bother to do that!

    Photon-narcissists can be pretty irritating to us bloggers.. I mean, they get so many likes for their pics, and here we struggle to get likes for our blog post links! :/

    Like

  11. True that, Parul!
    We bloggers have a niche of our own! *wears sunglasses and sips some Martini* ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  12. Lol! I agree, great to keep up with friends, but horrible to keep up with friends. At the same time! :p
    You know what I mean! ๐Ÿ˜€ :p

    Like

  13. I think I am a semi-zombie or half-zombie. I'm not fully undead yet on FB. I dislike it, but I have to still promote my posts, so yeah, that's the type I belong to.

    Like

  14. Hehehehehe.. If only bloggers like us could stay active on FB only for blog post promotion.. And let all our friends go to hell! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  15. Rajlakshmi says:

    How I wish I was a Like Hogger ๐Ÿ˜› some just have enough honey ๐Ÿ˜›
    I love the harmonic ones on my timeline … they are brilliant.

    Like

  16. Hahahahhahah yeah!
    You have the Harmonic Anthropos on your timeline? I admire you! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I'm desperately searching for one on Mithila's timeline.. Ain't found anyone till date! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  17. Chicky says:

    Brilliant! Seen all of them! Been a Zombie occasionally, and a gamer once! I operated 6 FB accounts when I was a farmer! (2 were in my Dad's name!) ๐Ÿ˜€
    The Photon-narcissists are crazy, but even worse are those who share all their thousands of pics with PUBLIC settings! Maybe I got this wrong, but I though FB was for people with whom you were already acquainted in other parts of your life… family/school/workplace… even blogs! I always thought that Twitter and blogs were for sharing stuff with the entire world.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

