Being Social v/s Being Super Social (Intro)

Before I begin, Let me clear out the meaning of the title. You know, Mithila’s blog titles are always easy to understand and comprehend. I, fabulus, am slightly quirky and philosophical when it comes to giving blog titles. So here’s the meaning of this one:

The word social means ‘seeking or enjoying the companionship of others (courtesy : Dictionary.com)
But the word super social (which I just invented. No, I don’t want your *shakes-head-in-pity statements) means: actively making friends on a particular social networking site in order to increase one’s popularity on other social networking sites.

I’m damn sure most of you readers have gone through this. A random person starts talking to you and then asks for your WhatsApp number, Facebook id, Snapchat id, Instagram id, Twitter id, Ask.fm id, Google+ email and so on and so forth. Mithila gets sincerely pissed when people chat with her only to earn likes for their social networking site accounts. Like, in her own words, “What’s the whole point of having a social media account if all you wanna do there is earn followers, crave for hearts, and beg for retweets?” I vote on that one too!

So as the title says (Intro), this post is just an introductory post for the series of blog posts by the same name: “Being Social v/s Being Super Social”. In this series, I, Fabulus, am gonna analyze people’s tendencies on social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Ask,fm (not necessarily in that order). If you’re wondering whether Mithila has just disappeared off the face of the earth, let me tell you, she just did. She handed over the reigns (and password) of her Blogger account to me. And walked off to a much needed creative break. Don’t you worry. I’ll try my best to be better than her.

All you need to do is, stay tuned to this space every Sunday at 10 am for a fresh analysis of the above mentioned four social networking sites. As July has four sundays, each Sunday will be assigned one. You are free to comment your thoughts, share the blog posts and tag your friends on Facebook. Twitter, of course, would be the highlight. Sharing blog posts would be just awesome!



And if you miss a post in the series, don’t worry. I’ll be providing back links at the end of each post. But mind you, the back links might not take you to where you want to be. It would be better if you could just stick around with me through this month of June. Every Sunday at a time.

~Fabulus-over-Mithila

Links to the posts of this series:
Day 1  
Day 2
Day 3 
Day 4

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Shailaja V says:

    Ahem is this targeted at anyone in particular? 😉 Social media is a double edged sword and it works in a million different ways. You have sincere people, those out to help you and those who just need you for their follower count. Best way to deal with it? Live, let live, breathe and relax. Oh and blog about it now and then. Don't forget to do one thing- Smile. You have a lovely one that lights up your face 🙂

    Like

  2. Hehehe.. No, Shailaja! It ain't aimed at anyone in particular. But yes, it does have an ulterior motive. *evil grin*

    Your views about social media are just spot on! Those people who need me for their follower count have been promptly unfollowed during this #BlogHiatus! 😀

    Yep, I'm trying to breathe and live and relax at the same time. But the smile ain't happening: I've got these screw plates I need to wear as an orthodontic appliance to set my teeth straight. But my life ain't getting straight with 'em braces! 😀

    But I will. I will smile. For all you lovely blogger pals who've been with me and supported me through this #BlogHiatus 🙂

    Like

  3. Ls says:

    Good to see you back.. Looking forward to it.

    Like

  4. Hehe Lata! This is Fabulus here! Not Mithila! 😀

    Note from Mithila: I'm gonna be commenting as if I'm Fabulus, keeping in mind the theme of my series out here! So bear with the sarcastic replies from Fabulus for a few days! 😀

    Like

  5. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Really looking forward to reading some 'cool' stuff by Ms. Ramsay! Oops, I mean, by Ms. Fabulus! :))

    Like

  6. Hahahahhahaha.. Ms. Ramsay might drop in at Gordon's many hotels over the world.. Need I tell her to get you an autograph or something like that? 😀
    Or maybe, the signature dish that you love? 😀

    Like

  7. Rajlakshmi says:

    I do sometimes get a few.. please vote here and there.. but since I don't they have left me, for now 🙂
    Looking forward to read your analysis 🙂

    Like

  8. C'est La Vie says:

    Ha ha…that ambitious! Oh wait, you're Fabulus? Then who's Ambitious! Damn, Im Confuscious!

    I'll just wait for an analysis 😉

    Like

  9. Really? The vote ones must be very annoying! One of Mithila's friends wanted her to promote her website coz it was her class project. She didn't do it. Result? Blocked on whatsapp!

    Yeah.. I'm waiting for your comments too, Rajlakshmi! 🙂

    Like

  10. The perfect rhyme! Let's see if Mithila can convert it into a rap! 😀

    Yup, yup.. I bet I'm gonna be wayyy better than Mithila! :p

    Like

  11. Parul says:

    Good one! Looking forward to read more.Social Media is like that.You want to be social yet too much social is actually anti-social..

    Like

  12. Yes. And I'm looking forward to providing awesome blog posts every Sunday of this month!

    Totally agree! Sometimes you just feeling like chirping like a bird, and sometimes feel like installing a Dislike button! 😀

    Like

  13. Fabulus seems to be on a fabulous walk of discovery. Looking forward to being part of this.

    Like

  14. Yes! Do join me as I explore social media, without the persistent nagging to do otherwise by Mithila 😀

    Like

  15. Chicky says:

    LOL! Mithila or Fabulus… I'm just glad the space is being updated! 😀

    Like

  16. Hahahahahha.. Since Mithila ain't around, I've gotta buck up and do something out here! 😀

    Like

  17. Aseem says:

    Hahaha now that's an interesting series of posts Fabulus :D. Looking forward 🙂

    Like

  18. Today's the last day in the series! Do check it out! 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

