Movie Review: Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Now this is one movie that I’ve wanted to watch since the time I saw the promotionary tweets on Twitter. And so, I happily ganged up my bunch of super-cool buddies and ran to PVR Phoenix to catch up on my favourite celeb’s latest flick.

It’s my first movie review. So, please don’t pull that trigger at me when you read it.

Pic source: Wikipedia

The movie starts off with a scene at a mental asylum in London. Yes, Manu thinks that Tanu has got bipolar disorder. And Tanu thinks Manu no longer loves her. The classic set for an ideal divorce. She quite happily leaves Manu to live a lunatic’s life as she walks away back to India, happily telling anyone within earshot that her hubby is in a Mental Asylum.

But, the sweetheart in her, regrets this decision the moment she buckles on her belt in the aircraft. Pappi is then sent to save Manu from the asylum. And the moment Manu comes back to India, the divorce proceedings start, in albeit a funny manner. Rephrase: A supremely rolling on the floor manner. But, unlike most Desi Romances, the route to the end cannot be easily predicted as you watch the 26 frames move per second. Yet, it ends in a perfectly blissful way, just like true Desi Love.

I don’t wanna reveal more about the plot (I can already see the butts of those guns poking out of our pocket). But I must say, Tanu and Manu have done a superb job of their roles. Tanu, with the right amount of spunk and choice gaalis delivered at perfect moments throughout, dazzles with her double role of Kusum, somewhat similar in the spunk and choice gaalis part. Tanu and Kusum may seem to be similar, but I can surely tell you: the difference in the mental built of both of these characters is too huge. And this difference, not shallow like the difference between the hairstyles, is way deep. And Kangana Ranaut, as usual, in her Queen style, brought out the distinct personalities of these two characters like a pro! Love you, Kangana!

What can I say about our dear Maddy? You played your role of divorced-man-searching-for-new-love-but-lost-the-battle amazingly! At that scene, in which Tanu asks Manu if he still thinks about her, I was so damn sure he would say yes. But the twist in the plot. Amazing is not a word. Fabulus, more like it!

The supporting roles of Pappi (total-kickass-sidekick), Raja (total-mavvali-bhai), Jassi (lassi-piyo-zindagi-jiyo-Punjabi-munda), Payal (I-can-help-you-in-your-life-but-can’t-figure-out-my-own Β bestie!), Chintu (jobless-advocate) are just perfect. The music.. Hahahaha.. Lovely! “Old School Gal” is too hilarious.. “Ghani Bawri” *_*.. “Ho Gaya Hai Pyaar” **_**..!

Do watch this movie if you’re still procrastinating. I assure you, full on paisa-vasool! Total entertainer! If I still haven’t managed to convince you, here’s a review

~First-Timer-At-Movie-Reviewing

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Parul says:

    I am watching the movie on Saturday so I just skimmed through your post but I will come back πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Yayayayayayaya! That means my movie review had some effect on your decision to watch the movie! πŸ˜€

    Sure.. come back.. Fabulus will always be here to welcome you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I am yet to watch it, though I was interested since the day the trailer came out.

    Like

  4. Rachna says:

    I have seen it and loved it. The story was weak but the dialogs and screenplay were amazing. I also enjoyed the cast. They were sterling. Hated the end though.

    Like

  5. Haven't seen this one yet but its on my list. Fabulous review, Mithila.

    Like

  6. GO FOR IT! You won't regret buying that ticket! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. I know right! The cast was super cool.
    Yup, me too hated the end. To the shock and surprise of my friends. I vociferously aired my view as the movie ended. A popcorn box fell from a frightened hand. (It was empty :-P). My friends, quite dazzled by the change in my lovey dovey views, asked me why.
    My prompt answer: It made Kusum cry.
    No more teasers for those who didn't watch the movie yet! πŸ˜›

    Like

  8. Yuss! Make sure you tick it off your list soon!
    Thanks so much, Vinitha πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Rajlakshmi says:

    Wonderful review … jobless advocate hahaha yeah.
    I absolutely loved the movie, specially the character of Kusum. So real and guanine!!

    Like

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    seems I can't spell… genuine I meant. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. I know right! πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. The Spellebrity forgives you! πŸ˜€

    Like

  13. Parul says:

    So, I watched it yesterday and this review again – the movie is fantastic! awesome one..I can watch it again πŸ™‚ and your review – superb! Those character explanations are so cool. what a fab job girl!

    Like

  14. The movie was awesome. Kangana, Deepak…everyone was brilliant. Every character be it Kangana to the little boy who comes running out nude…everyone was perfect!!!

    Nice refreshing review. No spoilers revealed. Well done on you first review.

    I have fallen head over heals in love with Kusum. The llast and only ime this happened when I was a kis and watched Demi Moore in “Ghost”. The character “Datto” was that good1

    I hope they come up with another sequel. Just to resolve the ending.

    Like

  15. Thank you so much Parul!
    Yeah, it's a movie worthy of a watch again! Total filmy timepass with a strong plot!
    Glad you liked the review! (Fabulus wants to know whether her review actually forced you to watch the movie! :D)

    Like

  16. Yeah! The movie was too awesome! Rephrase, *is.

    Glad you liked my first movie review. *progresses to resolve to watch more movies and write a move review at least once a month!*

    Aaha! Me ❀ Raja Awasthi! Why don't we do one thing? You take Kusum, I'll take Raja! Then there will be no need for another sequel! πŸ˜€

    Like

  17. Shalini says:

    Wow.. seriously i’ve pulled out my gun before you calm me down saying no further spoilers. I really want to watch this movie.. am already convinced to watch it but your review is nice to give anyone a Kickkkkkk… and i guess u missed that song : Gharri Bawli and that last line i’ve taken it very seriously πŸ˜€

    Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

