And it’s over! #AtoZChallenge

As I type this blog post, my mind still can’t accept the fact that the #AtoZChallenge has come to an end. Part of me wants to take Hermione’s Time Turner, and go back to 1st April and start all over again. The other part of me wants to relive the happy memories of the best April of my life throughout my blogging career. (If you know me well, you’ll know which part is me and which part is Fabulus! πŸ˜€ )


Things that made me happy throughout this challenge:

1. Selecting “Harry Potter and Hogwarts” as my theme for the challenge: I mean, it’s the only thing I know everything about. I can watch a football match without understanding the intricacies of it. I can play throwball (Used to play for Yellow House! #SchoolDays). I can’t understand cricket – can only write poems about it! πŸ˜›


2. Exploring my Potterhead side to a greater extent: I didn’t know I was such a big Potterhead till the time I actually started typing these blog posts. I could successfully remember when Umbridge mentioned that she was a pure blood and also remember which year Luna Lovegood wore that butterbeer cork necklace for the first time. And I guess, my knowledge about these facts enhanced my blog posts.

3. Achieved my New Year Resolution of sticking to one goal: For me, staying put with one thing is too boring. That’s the reason why I was apprehensive about this challenge. I couldn’t tolerate the pinkiness of my Barbie doll’s hair after a week! My teddy bear lost it’s place in my heart only after a month! What then made me stick to this challenge, and cross all possible obstacles of – Insight Club work, Classes homework, personal commitments, Restaurant games addiction, etc and and complete it successfully? The Β next point will reveal everything.

4. Meeting new bloggers: Sorry, rephrase. Meeting new amazing bloggers who welcomed me into the blogging circle on almost all social networking sites. At the start of the challenge, I followed the organiser’s tip and started checking out other blogs. I found some amazing blogs and started following them. They followed back. I then started commenting on their blog posts. They did the same. After that, I started sharing my favourite blog posts on Twitter, facebook and Google+. They did the same for my best blog posts. And then Twitter conversations with my favourite bloggers became something I got accustomed to. Asking them for some pro tips, helping one another out, it all happened because of this challenge.

5. Gained followers: If you take a look at my social networking sites and their followers list, it may seem to be an inadequate figure. I mean, bloggers need to have a huge follower base for their pageviews and comments to increase rapidly. But for a four month old blogger like me, I think getting this much attention is cool enough!

6. Learnt about effective social media management: I had to promote my blog and it’s theme for the challenge throughout the month. I learnt about time-zone differences, tried to understand how to reply to Shares and RTs, figured out how to share blogs effectively with a caption, created Instagram edits as well as edits for my blog (the pic below is also an edit by me!). Most of all, I figured out how to enjoy marketing on social networking sites without making it feel like a chore.

7. Increased typing speed:Β Actually, I had a good typing speed even before the challenge. it ranged from 50 words per min when copy writing from my hand-written notes to 52 words per min when the words flow freely from my head. I’m pretty damn sure it has increased to 55 wpm, now that I have been typing everyday.. the accuracy has truly increased!

expressions-1314687_960_720


Today, as I celebrate my one-third year Birthday, I wish to thank all of my blogger friends for carrying me through this challenge. Thanks for keeping me motivated through out this challenge. I remember waiting for comments from all of you. And those constructive comments were the only thing that kept me motivated to click the Publish button every day. I don’t think I will be able to participate in this challenge next year. Coz, I’ll be busy prepping up for my Common Proficiency Test (CPT) exams then. So, I’ll take this part of my blog post to thank all of you. In a way that I think will return the favour in the best possible manner. A four-month old tiny tot like me can only do this much! #ThanksFromTheBottomOfMyHeart

My top five blogger pals

  • Michael – Michael Abayomi : Thanks for visiting my blog daily and leaving a comment there everyday just to make sure I realised it!
  • Ankita – Lifestyle of a Professional : Thanks for the Twitter shares! And the #BiggestPotterhead title! πŸ˜€
  • Shailaja – The Moving Quill : You introduced me to flash fiction. Β I so love it now, that I’m gonna be a regular visitor to your blog. I think, out of all the blogs I visited, I checked yours out daily! #Addicted to #FlashFiction πŸ˜€
  • Chapter of The Harry Potter Alliance – Phoenix Rising : Amazing Harry Potter blog posts! One blog I used to look up to for inspiration!
  • Ajay – The Shaded Shadows : Yeah, the Twitter conversations! Did you even read any of my blog posts? Just kidding, I know you did! (no, fabulus doesn’t believe that you did! :-P)
Β 

This top five list I have prepared is just for those people who actively engaged with me on twitter chats, Blogger comment sections and Facebook and so on.. Another list of all the bloggers I met throughout the challenge is here: (will be updating it if I find more blogs!)

Shanaya – Shanaya Tales
Eli – Β  A Global Fusionista
April – April J. Moore
Urszula – Confessions of a Broccoli Addict
Tyrean – Everyday writer, Tyrean Martinson
Jo – Jo on Food, Life and a Scent of Chocolate
Kaitlin – Kaitlin Throgmorton
Laura – My baffling Brain
Ranveer – New Kid On The Block
Archana Β – See-Saw Writing
Tara – Tara Tyler Talks
Sarah – The Faux Fountain Pen

I’m signing off as Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw for the last time this year. From this month on and for the foreseeable future, I will continue changing my signing-off-avatar as usual. A new one every blog post. Except the book reviews (Bibliophile). Those will be once a month, preferably on a Wednesday. Only one book review a month, I don’t think I’ll be able to manage my brown textbooks and my blue leather jacketed Kindle simultaneously. Β And I solemnly swear to do a blog post every Sunday. Coz that’s the only day I can rest, relax, and take some time to do some blog promotion from now on! #HSCYear.

I’ll end with my favourite end-of-the-book line from the Harry Potter series. Guess which book.

β€œWe’ll see you soon, mate,” said Ron anxiously, shaking Harry’s hand.
β€œReally soon, Harry,” said Hermione earnestly. β€œWe promise.”
Harry nodded. He somehow could not find words to tell them what it meant to him, to see them all ranged there, on his side. Instead he smiled, raised a hand in farewell, turned around, and led the wayΒ out of the station toward the sunlit street, with Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia, and Dudley hurrying along in his wake.

~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw

34 Comments Add yours

  1. ak β„’ says:

    Phew, about time! πŸ˜›

    Say whaaaaaaat ? I made it to the top 5 ? I couldn't even do that in school or college, I mean anywhere. Thank.You.Very.Much. I really appreciate the gesture. πŸ™‚
    (Give fabulous a knock on the head for doubting πŸ˜› ).

    Advice : For next year, you can schedule post. You know that its alphabetical, duh! And the topic is of your choosing. You can start writing from now on, or after a little break for each alphabet and schedule post it. If you happen to get time next year, you could visit other blogs / check comments or like wise.

    Like

  2. Haha.. See, Fabulus is so benevolent.. She got you to the top 5.
    (Fabulus didn't mind the knock on the head, seeing that you commented first! :D)
    Yeah, the scheduling blog posts thingy is okay.. I'll think about that.. I can already see a theme for next year's #AtoZ .. But I'll think twice about participating next year .. Really can't afford to put CPT as a second priority.. Coz blogging always comes first! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. That quote is from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Not really a guess since I had to look it up to confirm first. πŸ˜€

    It's kind of sad to see the Challenge come to an end, and at the same I am glad we made it to the end. I really enjoyed reading your Harry Potter themed posts. You reminded me of some of the things I loved about the books growing up.

    I am also glad to see that you've already got some kind of schedule planned out for your post-Challenge blogging. As for me, I guess it is back to my sporadic posts about random stuff, and the occasional blogfest entry.

    P.S: Don't forget to add this post to the 2015 A to Z Reflections linky list when it is opened on the 4th of May. I'll try to have mine up by then as well.

    Like

  4. Haha, yeah, it's from HP5.. My favourite book from the whole series!
    Yo! We both completed the challenge together and that's such a great thing! You pat my back, I'll pat your back! πŸ˜›
    Hehe, the schedule is just a rough schedule. I will be procrastinating as usual, or as and when Fabulus throws her tantrums! πŸ˜€
    Thanks for the reminder.. Waiting to read your #Reflections blog post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Your posts were amazing, Mithila. Read some and looking to read more. Glad to know u an HP fan as well:)

    Like

  6. And you're theme was super cool!
    I'm gonna start reading a few blog posts that I missed.. Watch out for a inbox full of comments! πŸ˜€
    #PotterheadsUnite

    Like

  7. Did my comment come thru?

    Like

  8. This comment has been removed by the author.

    Like

  9. Would you believe it if I said I have not read a single Harry Potter book…(ouch stop throwing those pillows at me…:) ) My library is stocked with the entire series because my son is such a big fan…he must have re-read the entire series god-knows-how-many-times!! maybe he can write an exam on it! I let him into your blog and he is happily lapping up the April posts! I'll teach him how to comment so he can drop in comments too( he is just 11)

    Maybe I'll start with your posts and gradually ease into the HP books!

    Like

  10. WOW! Your son is eleven, right? Send him a Hogwarts letter! I'll help you prepare one! πŸ˜€

    Glad I found a tiny-tot audience for my blog. Don't let him dig deep into the February ones. They're meant for teens only! πŸ˜›

    Sure sure, I would love to have the pleasure of initiating a friend into the Harry Potter world! The blog posts are yours to read. And lots of love and kisses to your son for reading all 26 blog posts (in advance! )

    Let me tell you, once a Potterhead, always a Potterhead! πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Yup, got it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Parul says:

    So, I met you after A to Z, but I must say you are one awesome teen πŸ™‚
    Btw – I will read all your upcoming posts now but, Harry Puttar?? Well, I know that this series of books is by J K Rowling and that's a woman's name. I'm guessing you got my point πŸ˜‰

    See you around kiddo πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Haaawww! *bows head low in shame.
    Don't worry, you can start by reading the J for Jo Rowling post. You'll come to know she's the best woman writer ever!
    Thanks for stopping by, Parul! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Wow…you did amazingly well for a four month old blogger! You did seem to have had a great time connecting with people besides writing the posts. Great going. Hope to see you around and read more of your blog.

    Like

  15. Yeah! I'm a social animal on social networking sites, even though I am a wallflower in real life! πŸ˜€
    Thanks for stopping by, Vinodini! Yeah, the blog posts will keep rolling! πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. Chicky says:

    Well hello again, Potterhead! We did it! Finally survived the challenge! πŸ˜€
    I'm a bit sad to hear you won't be participating next year. And I'm even more disheartened to know that you're going to blog just once a week now. I'd kind of started to like your blog, even though I could rarely leave a comment via my mobile. Anyway, I hope we'll keep in touch through twitter and the FB group. All the best for your studies, girl! See you around…
    Kaddu
    http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com/2015/05/a-to-z-reflections-2015.html

    Like

  17. Thanks Chicky (I don't like Kaddu! :D)
    I know right? I'm thinking of doing a simple theme one for next year, but I really don't know how I will be able to cope with blogging and studies. Coz blogging is not only about posting pieces, it's about replying to comments and engaging with your audience too!
    Don't worry, now that Wordy Wednesday is here, I might do a few blog posts whenever I get the time. But the main blog posts will be scheduled for Sundays, and that will be consistent through out.
    I'll surely catch up with all of you B-A-R members via FB and twtr..
    Really glad I met another #Potterhead! πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. AJ Lauer says:

    Aw I'm a little sad I missed your posts πŸ™‚ I do love me some HP!
    Thanks for coming to the #azchat today! Glad you learned so much from April A-Z, and congrats on making it through your first Challenge!

    Like

  19. Tara Tyler R says:

    what a terrific theme you had! i went back through some to get my HP fix! love it! still cant believe its over, but never forgotten!
    great meeting you too – and how nice that you highlighted me! hope to tweet with you tonight!

    Like

  20. Aww! And I'm sad I missed out your story themed blog posts!
    I've only participated in 2 out of 4 #azchats, partly because I was sleepy and partly because of the time zone difference. (Believe me, they are two separate reasons!)
    Thanks for the wishes! #PartyTime πŸ™‚

    Like

  21. Yeah! I know right! My theme was super cool, a bit already-done-by-many, but I don't think many did the analysis i did, and the comparison with real life!
    Great meeting you! πŸ™‚

    Like

  22. Rachna says:

    Wow, Harry Potter was your theme! I must direct my son here. πŸ™‚

    Like

  23. Yeah! All Potterheads are welcome! πŸ™‚

    Like

  24. Mary Burris says:

    Not much of a Potterhead (sorry) but it sounds like it was a great challenge for you. Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge! Looking forward to next year! See you on the Road Trip!

    Mary @ Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Like

  25. Thank you so much Mary! πŸ™‚
    Yes, the Road Trip! *_*

    Like

  26. Paula Kaye says:

    I am coming through on the Road Trip. I have to admit that I am not much into Harry either. But my grandkids sure are. I welcome you to the blogging world. You will find and come to love some amazing people. Hope to see you out on the road!

    Like

  27. Yes! I'm out on the Road Trip too!
    Thanks for the warm welcome! πŸ™‚
    *runs over to your blog! πŸ˜€

    Like

  28. Hello there.
    Congratulations on completing your first challenge and welcome to blog world! May your blogging career be a long and fruitful one. Just meandering through from the Road Trip.

    Entrepreneurial Goddess

    Like

  29. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚
    I already checked.out your blog!

    Like

  30. Loving your theme πŸ™‚ I think it's really interesting seeing what everyone chose for their themes! I love Harry Potter and I plan on checking back and reading all your posts once I've finished the trip!
    Popping by on the A to Z Road Trip
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

    Like

  31. Just checked up on your blog posts..Found one that was similar to my theme!
    I'm sharing the link here, coz you're a really fab writer!
    http://myrandommusings.blogspot.in/2015/05/h-is-for-harry-potter.html

    Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

    Like

  32. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

    Like

  33. Always! πŸ™‚

    Like

  34. Dixita mour says:

    That completion post ☺☺.It just took me to all your blogs ❀.
    Wow you know what this one post cconatins the frangarance of AL other posts. I am sad I did not know about #az earlier bit now I know it I am gonna utilize it to the fullest reading mellifluous posts πŸ™‚

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

