M for Moony

The one who could rattle off ‘the five signs that identify a werewolf’ without even consulting a textbook.. The one who Professor Dumbledore thought could beat some sense into Prongs and Padfoot’s brains.. The man who thought he was too full of imperfections to satisfy the needs of the girl who loved him..

 

Pic source: Harry Potter Wikia.com


Remus Lupin was quite lucky to have found friends in James and Sirius. No, not Peter. He was a useless dodo. When his friends found out about his furry little problem, they did not spread the news like wildfire. Instead, they did their best to keep this frightening news under wraps. They forayed into the difficult and tedious art of becoming Animagi, illegally, just to ensure that their friend did not have an awful time whenever the moon decided to appear in its fullness. For this, Moony remained eternally grateful to them. More grateful than he was to Snape, who prepared the Wolfsbane Potion for him every month, I guess..

There are many Moony’s around us too! Some of them have some handicaps, physical or mental. Some of them might suffer from terminal illnesses. Many of us often shy away from such people and do not wish to be associated with them. But ask yourself, what is to be lost if you just say a pleasant ‘Hi!’ to them? Or help them cross the street when needed? I, myself have lent my hand out to many old grannies who wish to hold my hand as they go on their way to the market. At first, I felt a little awkward and scared. But then, one kind lady thanked me for doing it and wished me luck for my future endeavours (I was going to classes that day, with a bag full of Commerce textbooks). It made me feel a little better about myself. Some positive energies entered my negative aura. But I think I sparkled too much that day – I answered three questions correctly and thus got saved from completing my Math homework (writing trigonometry formulae three times). So, I earned a blessing from one kind lady, and also in the bargain, earned the curses of my fellow batch mates!

Anyways, don’t let this story deter you! Because getting a breather from homework is not the only thing we mortals journey through Earth for. We live so that others might live. We work so that others might work. It’s all a circle of dependence. All of us are dependent on each other for something or the other. Some, in a higher degree, some in a slightly lesser degree. And when the time comes, we need to behave like great buddies to even our enemies and help them out (I’m referring to Prongs saving Snivellus)

If you could just channel the spirit of Prongs and Padfoot and Wormtail into yourself, it would do great good to a Moony around you!



~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw

8 Comments Add yours

  1. My favorite Defense against the Dark Arts teacher! I'd anticipated an M for Marauder's Map post, but seeing as Lupin was one of the creators of the map, you could say I wasn't that far off. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Somehow, you always read my mind!
    Glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hanging out with my husband (and being a mom) have taught me to look out for others and be more willing to lend a helping hand. But getting out of trig homework?! I love trig! Okay, I need help. I know that.

    Like

  4. Yes! It's really cool to help people out..
    Maybe you could help me with my trig homework? Sorry to say this, but I have a strong dislike for sin theta and cos theta! πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Chicky says:

    I'd have guessed M for Marauder's Map too, but okay… Moony will do too! My favorite DADA teacher as well.

    Like

  6. Yessss! Moony was THE best teacher of DADA!*_*

    Like

  7. I do not think there is anyone who has read Harry Potter and does not love Moony. What is not to love about him, and yes we need to be kinder and have more empathy. It may or may not get us off “homework” but sure will make another person's day. And what goes around comes around right πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Jaibala, you summarised my blog post beautifully! I couldn't have done it better!

    Yes, what goes around comes around! πŸ™‚

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

