L for Luna Lovegood

The one with the crazy hair.. radishes and carrots adorning her ears.. big and bright sunflowers enhancing her already weird features, her Spectrescopes and a knack for finding Wrackspurts near harry’s head.. The one and only crazy gal..

Pic source: Harry Potter Wikia.com


Luna Lovegood is a classic example of the weirdos we have in school. Often teased and harassed for her weird beliefs (half of them inherited from her father and the other half from the Quibbler), she grew up with an unfortunate nickname – Loony Lovegood. Her weird beliefs include:

1. Existence of Wrackspurts, creatures who float near people’s ears and make then feel confused
2. Existence of Crumple Horned Snorkack, a highly magical creature, which has the ability to reform once it bursts. Hermione clearly does not believe that such a creature exists and instead feels that the horn in Mr. Lovegood’s possession is an Erumpent Horn. Hermione said it, hence we nod our heads in humble agreement.
3. Existence ofΒ Blibbering Humdinger: No mention of what they actually are. But Loony saw them often so, it’s quite safe to assume that such creatures don’t exist!
4. Existence of Heliopaths: Spirits of fire which have the power to gallop across the ground burning everything in their path.
5. Existence of Nargles: Known to infest mistletoes and are horribly incorrigible thieves. Many times, they have stolen Luna’s dear possessions. A charm that Luna used to protect herself from them? Butterbeer cork necklaces and her Dirigible Plum earrings( the radish ones).
6. Fruits called Dirigible Plums: They look like radishes, orange radishes, but actually serve to help the person wearing them to accept what cannot be accepted and understand what cannot be understood.
7. A disease called Loser’s Lurgy: Now what exactly this disease is, we would never know. Even healers from Mungo’s can’t understand it. But our dearest Luna can: it affects Quidditch players.

Now, as to why I consider her to be my favourite character. She is pretty weird and all. Somewhat a pain to be around. But then, even in her crazy moments, she comes up with weird ideas which actually work. Like, when Harry gathered up his friends to save Sirius, she was the one to suggest the use of Thestrals to get there. She often commiserated with Harry, having gone through the pain of losing a parent. Weird as she was, Harry often found that he could be himself around her. Talk to her about his feelings.. and she really lent an amazing ear to listen to all his ramblings!
And maybe some part of me wishes I was Luna Lovegood just to be around Harry Potter! *_*
Actually, in a quiz I had taken on BuzzFeed, Which Harry Potter Character Are You? , I had got Luna Lovegood!


I sometimes wonder whether JKR thought of lunatic when she named Luna.. maybe she did!

~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw

25 Comments Add yours

  1. i liked the character of Luna Lovegod! pretty interesting (though I'm not a Potterhead myself :P)
    good going!

    Like

  2. Ya Ya.. I know you are not a Potterhead.. but it's pretty obvious you would like Luna.. coz you're my bestie.. and I'm somewhat like Luna!
    Thanks for your first ever comment on any of my blog posts.. I'm glad you figured out how to comment on my blog.. Now just figure one more thing out – How to follow my blog! πŸ˜›

    Like

  3. haha! i generally comment on your blogs via Twitter!

    Like

  4. Hehe.. But it's quite different you know.. Makes you more popular commenting on my blog.. πŸ˜‰ #FabSwag

    Like

  5. Luna Lovegood is also one of my favorite characters! Evanna Lynch did such an amazing job portraying her in the movies; now she I definitely wouldn't mind snogging anytime, any day. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Hahahahahahaha.. Why are you trying to flirt with me indirectly?
    Harry Potter a.k.a. Daniel Radcliffe is the only one I wouldn't mind snogging! *_*

    Like

  7. What the hell! πŸ˜‚

    Like

  8. Luna is a great character and the actress who played her in the movies did a great job.

    I posted my acceptance of your Liebster Award today on my blog as my L-word. Very timely, huh? You can see the answers to your fabulous questions at http://www.tamaranaryan.com. Thank you for including me in the fun!

    Like

  9. That was truly ingenious Tamara! I'm heading over to your blog now.. can't wait to read your answers!

    Like

  10. LOL. That's poor, defenseless Snape being seduced by Hermione, you know, just in case you ever wondered how Gryffindor managed to secure enough points to win the house cup. πŸ˜€

    Like

  11. Nooooo! They got the House Cup on pure talent! (quoting Hermione :D)

    Like

  12. Eli Ert says:

    Oh, yes, I remember her. Funny character. I liked her. Thanks for sharing – Been some years since I read the books, so your theme is a nice possibility to get reminded:-)

    Like

  13. Sylvia Ney says:

    LOVE your theme! New follower here. I'm stopping by from the “A to Z” challenge, and I look forward to visiting again!

    Sylvia
    http://www.writinginwonderland.blogspot.com

    Like

  14. Fun to find your Harry Potter themed A o Z!
    Yvonne

    Like

  15. Happy that you liked it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. Thanks for the follow back!
    I'm gonna check out your blog soon!

    Like

  17. Luna has the ability to say the most painfully obvious things that we sometimes ignore… no?

    Like

  18. Yes! More like the bindaas-gal attitude! That's what actually makes me like her.. Not afraid to say what she wants to say! More like a Gryffindor in such matters! πŸ˜€

    Like

  19. One of my favourite characters too. Wow, you really are a Potterhead πŸ˜€

    Like

  20. Hehe.. Potterhead to the core! πŸ˜€

    Like

  21. Vinay Leo R. says:

    I took that quiz and got Luna too πŸ™‚ And yes, she is one of my favorite characters in the series. I love the post, and yeah, she’s awesome for her important moments in the book which help Harry and her other best friends to move ahead. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      She truly is the best! πŸ™‚

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

