I for Imperio

One of the three Unforgivable Curses.. The curse that could even make a reluctant lizard tap dance like a pro.. The curse that makes you do whatever the one with the wand wants you to do.. the curse that only Harry could ever fight off.. 

Pius Thicknesse under the Imperius curse. Pic source: Harry Potter Wikia.com

 

The main idea of the Imperius curse can be summed up pretty well in one line: you can make people do whatever you want them to do.

If you want to re-read the magic, check out  HP 4, The Unforgivable Curses.

In Muggle life, we often fall into the clutches of another version of the Imperius Curse- our own self-binding thoughts. And maybe if you consider yourself to be in charge of your destiny, you could just add three more to the list above –  our rule-imposing cultures. societal pressures and the overwhelming need these days to get to the top. In some cases, these pressures can be for our own good. But in some cases, it just doesn’t increase our well-being. For example, the pressure to take a swig of vodka, a puff of a cigar, a prick in the arm, get into a temporary zone of kleptomania, zoom past highways in a Lamborghini. Oh yes, they do sound very interesting. The same is with the people who are under the Imperius curse. They find it better to give up resisting and go with the flow of the curse. And they meet their downfall.

But Harry. No. He fought. He fought the Imperius curse cast by the Darkest of them all Dark wizards, Lord Voldemort. This just goes to prove that if Harry could fight off this strong curse by a strong wizard, maybe we too can fight off our own little curses.

This ends my “I for” blog post. Tomorrow’s “J for” post is not about a character or a spell. It is about the one who designed it all herself!


~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting analogy between peer pressure and the Imperius Curse. I'd anticipated an I for Inferi post, but it is also nice to read about one of the Unforgivable Curses. I am immensely looking forward to tomorrow's post. 😀

    P.S: I've always wondered, shouldn't the spell, Sectumsempra, be considered an Unforgivable Curse, even though granted it was invented by Snape and is not known by the wizarding public…?

    Like

  2. I'm known for my analogies!
    P.S. Sectumsempra is one curse in which the cursed one can be healed. In the case of Crucio, Imperio and Avada Kedavra, it leaves such horribly disgusting traces which can never be healed. Excellent examples of each are The Longbottoms, Pius Thicknesse and Harry Potter(the lightning scar). Hence, we can't put Snape's pet spell in the same category..
    I hope this logic made sense!

    Like

  3. Thanks for weighing in, Mithila. But I think there is a slight problem with your logic. It was a Sectumsempra spell that took off George Weasley's ear in Deathly Hallows, which could not be repaired due to the dark nature of the spell.

    An Unforgivable Curse, by my interpretation, is one whereby the caster's main intent is to kill or maim the victim (be it physically or psychologically). I can totally see Snape's spell doing both those things.

    Like

  4. Darling, how old are you? You sound like a wise, old lady in your posts, a fact that I love completely, though your picture says something else 😀 I admire the analogy you drew between the curses and the self-imposed rules on our lives. Lovely theme you've picked for the challenge!

    Like

  5. Hmm.. then by your logic Sectumsempra is an Unforgivable Curse.. If you propose this is in the Ministry Of Magic, I'll be around to second it! 😉

    Like

  6. I am 16 going on 17!
    I know, sometimes my tweets also don't show my actual age! I guess it's just the result of being a through a lot in these 16 years!
    Even I'm loving this theme.. It doesn't feel like a chore typing these blog posts every day…it feels amazing!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

