H for Harry Potter

The guy with the lightning scar on his head like a crown of thorns.. The guy who could boast about being the youngest Seeker of the century.. The guy who made rule-breaking an ideal thing to do in school.. The one who was willing to sacrifice his one true love just for the sake of saving millions of Muggles and Wizards and Witches.. The Boy Who Lived and served as an elixir to the ones who survived.. The Chosen One..

Pic source: Harry Potter Wikia.com


In JK Rowling’s own words,
“A scrawny, little, black-haired, bespectacled boy became more and more of a wizard to me.”
Sometimes I wonder.. If Harry Potter was this huge, strong, muscular wizard who could work wonders with his muscles and also with his wand, would he be more appealing to us all? Would we prefer the strong Harry Potter or does the scrawny git appeal to the heart?

Let us for a moment imagine Harry as a Superman-ly character(of course, in the physical sense.. Harry was a braveheart by nature!) In these seven case scenarios, let’s see how he would have dealt with each of the following characters:

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Dudley Dursley
He wouldn’t have egged that Brazilian snake on Dudley and his friend. He would have ripped Dudley apart, limb to limb and as a result, get locked up in the Cupboard under the Staircase forever. Therefore, Harry would never get the opportunity to reach Hogwarts. Voldemort would have come back to life with the help of the Philosopher’s Stone. But the amusing fact here is, he wouldn’t have been able to touch Harry now! Because, Harry would have reached the gates of Hell at the hands of Vernon Dursley (reason of death: starvation)

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: Dobby
Harry would have probably choked  Dobby and given him the fright of his life. Because of this Dobby would get convinced that Harry Potter could tackle Lord Voldemort even without his wand. As a result, Dobby wouldn’t have bewitched that pudding and Bludger. Thus saving Harry from unnecessary trauma.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: Peter Pettigrew
Harry would have let Sirius kill Peter a.k.a. Scabbers.. End of story. He would have even held Scabbers still as Sirius and Remus did the honours. At least in that way, Voldemort wouldn’t have got a faithful Death Eater back.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Cedric Diggory
A wrestling cum dueling match between Cedric and Harry would have taken place at the foot of the Triwizard Cup. And in the process, Harry and Cedric both would get seriously injured. Cedric would have sent red sparks for Harry and himself. Both would have been rescued by Professor Dumbledore. And Voldemort wouldn’t have come back to life!
P.S. I just want to save Cedric, that’s why I rewrote this passage like this! 😛

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Professor Umbridge
Instead of creating the “Dumbledore’s Army”, Harry would have rounded up all his friends and cronies to form the “Reducto Professor Umbridge” Club (all member knuckle-crack at the suggestion of the name). Hermione wouldn’t need to create that special sign-up parchment. The sheer fear of Harry’s wrath would be enough for the members to keep their mouth shut in front of higher authorities. The main aim of the club? Making Umbridge’s life miserable.
 CEO’s of the club- Fred and George Weasley
 Treasurer: Hermione
 Spokesperson: Seamus Finnigan
 Mastermind: Harry
 Spy: Malfoy
 Of course, instead of opposing Harry, Malfoy would have joined the club as a double agent.His Z-level protection would be missing, as Crabbe and Goyle would have been mashed into pulp by then. He would have no other alternative but to surrender. And with the support of the teachers, “Reducto Professor Umbridge” would have successfully completed their mission.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince: Dean Thomas
The Potions book of the half Blood Prince would have helped Harry concoct a wonderful potion to just poison Dean. Maybe Dogbreath Potion should do the trick? Or even a Sleeping Draught would help Harry gain some time to gain Ginny’s hand. If this part of the plan were to succeed, a new problem arises. Ron would behave like an interfering nosy big brother. Then Harry would pull out his wand and request for a dueling match. The winner gains Ginny’s hand. The mere suggestion would have put Ron off. I mean, who would want to date his own sister? And then, Ginny noticing this act-of-true-love would spring into Harry’s  arms, and never let him go,

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Griphook
I’m so damn willing to bet 1000 Galleons that this plan would work. For starters, we know that Griphook could not be bribed with anything which screamed “Galleon”. He could only be bribed by Goblin-made jewellery. The look in his eyes when he saw Aunt Muriel’s tiara is enough to prove my point. Hence, Harry would have offered Griphook the tiara, instead of the Sword of Gryffindor. As to how Harry would get the tiara: He could accost Ollivander (he volunteered to return the tiara to Aunt Muriel) and force him to hand over the jewellery. Then, with a well-executed Memory Charm (Hermione, you rock!), Ollivander would have been sent packing. Griphook, pleased by this would then let them keep the Sword of Gryffindor. The Sword would have been kept safely in the Hermione’s beaded bag. And then they would have a Sword to kill of the remaining Horcruxes. Also, Ron and Hermione would’t get to snog during the battle. (the Basilisk fangs, remember? That was so insensitive -_-)

I’m damn sure that after reading my self-style-HP-scenarios, you are quite ready to Accio my quill away from me. And hunt me down and eat me alive. And I won’t be surprised if you did. No one, I repeat, no one will be able to recreate the magic that JKR set on us. I just managed to spoil all those great memories! 😦

 My quill salutes you, Jo Rowling! There can be no better storyteller than you. The way you fashioned the character of Harry Potter is just beyond fabulus. But #potterhead fanatics like me keep re-reading the whole series and keep writing “What-If?” Scenarios like these! 😛

Three cheers to Harry Potter! The Boy Who Lived!



~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Prasanna Rao says:

    I think the strength of Harry's character remains in his will, power, his mind to control emotions, his friends for whom he would readily sacrifice his life and his vulnerabilities. Harry is perfect as he is, scrawny, tall with untidy hair 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes! Harry, because of these qualities wonderfully enumerated by you, is a true Gryffindor. Harry is perfect the way he is because we can all relate with him.. ( scrawny little boy..) All of us have that one talent, waiting to spark and shine! In Harry's case, it was the fact that he was a wizard.. In our case, it could be a multitude of talents!
    Thanks for stopping by! I do hope I have earned a new #Potterhead follower! 🙂

    Like

  3. The only sequence I feel I'd like to see reimagined in the entire series is the death of Sirius Black. I think he deserved a lot more than an off-stage death. I mean, what in the name of Gryffindor's beard is beyond that darn veil anyway!?

    Coincidentally, I'd written about Harry Potter for my H post during the 2013 A to Z Challenge:

    http://www.michaelabayomi.com/2013/04/harry-potter.html

    Like

  4. Gryffindor's beard? Seriously? 😛
    I guess JKR didn't want to add another scene for a funeral at the end of the 5th book, because it was already too lengthy. And she didn't want to make two funeral scenes in the 6th book!
    I read your blog post on the same title.. Really cool! I wanted to do H for Hedwig, but then I felt I would let people down by not doing a H for Harry post..
    Like you, I too thought about this post too much.. As a result, I wrote the whole draft in pencil first, instead of just typing away on my phone!
    Thanks for sharing the link! 🙂

    Like

  5. Never read the books, but I'm considering listening to the Audible, because I always hear such great things and I enjoyed the movies.

    Like

  6. My suggestion.. Take some time and read the whole series.. I don't really know whether audiobooks would be great since I've never tried them.. But don't watch the movies first.. It's more fun when you read the book, and then compare it to the movie!
    Welcome to Potterville! 🙂

    Like

  7. Comment from my son->

    Mithila didi, I loved the what ifs! I couldn't stop chuckling as I read your version of Goblet of Fire and Deathly Hallows.

    Now tell my mom what she's missing!

    Like

  8. Awwiee! This is so sweet dear!
    Message to your son: Glad you liked the What Ifs part. I'm sure you are a great Potterhead if you understood all seven, because they are things which only true Wizards and Witches can understand! Keep rocking

    Message to the mom: You're a Potterhead too, right? 😀

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

