E for Every Flavor Beans

Haha! Today’s Easter Monday and since I can’t blog about those delicious Easter eggs I gobbled up yesterday, I’m gonna talk about my favourite fictional dessert option: Bertie Bott’s Every Flavor Beans!
Pic source: Harry Potter Wikia.com

I really loved the way JK Rowling depicted Harry’s first encounter with Wizarding sweets.. Check out HP 1, The Journey from Platform Nine and Three-Quarters to know what I’m talking about.

I think it’s a metaphor for talents. The hidden ones, specially.

When Harry lived with with the Dursleys, he never had a chance to show his talents. But when he reached Hogwarts, he learnt who he really was. He learnt DADA, and he excelled in it!

Similarly, in life, we may be stuck in the wrong stream, in the wrong job, in the wrong situation. A change, and it better be a good one, is all it takes to unleash the magical talent within!


I’ve compiled a whole list of all the Every Flavor Beans I’ve come across in the series:
chocolate, peppermint, marmalade, spinach, liver, tripe, sprouts, toast, coconut, baked beans, strawberry, curry, grass, coffee, sardine, pepper and vomit flavored ones! (eeewwww!)

One more thing that the philosopher in me points out is: You come across various situations in life, very much akin to the every flavor beans. You have the option to face it or run away. You can choose to pick up a weird-coloured bean or a pleasant-coloured bean. The end result is yours to face! You can either curse about getting a tripe flavoured one and discontinue eating the beans, or move ahead, hoping for a better flavour. 


Happy munching! 



~Potterhead-and-Ravenclaw


10 Comments Add yours

  1. I remember buying those for my kids when they were little! Aaaaannndddd disgusting! Lol.. I'm with you, I'd just pick up a chocolate frog.. Just pick it up mind you, not necessarily eat it. 😉 – Happy Monday!

    Like

  2. Hahaha! Normal jelly beans would be acceptable, right? The chocolate frogs are really cool, I'm eating them right now!
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  3. elenchera says:

    I'll go with the chocolate frog too. Too many unpleasant experiences with those jelly beans in the past.

    Thanks for a great post and good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

    Like

  4. Yes! Chocolate frogs, hands down! At least they don't run away like the ones in the movie! 😛
    Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the wishes! 🙂

    Like

  5. I've always wondered what that booger-flavored jellybean tasted like, not that I would be crazy enough to try one. 😀

    Like

  6. Hehe.. You would need the guts and sheer dumb craziness of Fred and George to try that one out!
    I wonder what grass would taste like? :/

    Like

  7. Hey.. You have been tagged for a Liebster award!
    —DT
    Here I Scribble

    Like

  8. OMG! This will be my first blogger award! Thanks so much for nominating me.. I'll surely check this out first thing tomorrow morning! 🙂

    Like

  9. Shalini says:

    You remember Dumbledore having an earwax flavour when Harry was in hospital? You can add that too 🙂 You are amazing!

    Like

  10. Just read that scene as I was rereading the HP series for the tenth time. *facepalm*
    Thank you so much, Shalini for stopping by! 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

