Baking with Mum!

Well, you may call me a British prude when you read the title of my blog post! But, if I have any chance of meeting Daniel Radcliffe / Gordon Ramsay, I need to break off from the pack of drooling fans and charm both of them with my baking skills (improving) and my British accent (almost there!)

Jokes apart, today is World Macaron Day. I enlightened my mum to this fact after seeing an Instagram post by the Food Blogger Association of India.. and my heart just skipped a beat looking at those mouth-wateringly delicious goodies! In vain, I tried to control the urge to run to Le 15 Patisseire. My mum, noticing this weird pacing-up-and-down-the-house, asked me whether we could bake up some macaroons. “Well,” I said to myself, “If not macarons, macaroons so be it.”

If you’re an ignorant foodie, let me clear the doubt that has cropped in your mind. ‘What exactly is the difference?’

Got it?

Β Macaroons are usually made with desiccated coconut and are quite plain and simple. You could add colour to it, and add some essence (try lemon with coconut, awesome!). On the other hand, macarons are the French mademoiselles. Beauties, beyond compare! They are sandwich-like pastries, which come in an amazing variety of colours. And they have a basic structure- shell, filling, shell. Wait, there’s one more difference that the spellebrity in me points out. the pronunciation. Macarons can be pronounced with an accent like this – muk-a-ron (Yes, Potterheads, Ron Weasley). Macaroons can be pronounced as muk-a-roon (Similar to broom.. Yes, Potterheads, Argus Filch).

So, my mum got all the ingredients ready to prepare Strawberry flavoured macaroons. No, I won’t be parting with the recipe. I’m too selfish when it comes to food. Sorry, rephrase. I’m too selfish when it comes to really good desserts! As mum and I don our baking aprons and get ready to prepare a wonderful batch of macaroons, I think about the last time I had made them. Probably somewhere in June, last year? Yeah. Thanks to college and club activities and a wonderfully designed study schedule by my classes teachers (*sighs), I have hardly got the time to enter the kitchen, let alone bake something. Earlier, I used to be the source of information for my buried-in-medical-books sister about the latest happenings in our kitchen. And now, I’m as clueless as she is.

Well, since I’m not exactly confident about my baking skills, since they’ve gone rusty, I promptly hand over the egg beater to my mom (hand ache!)Β 

The moment the magnificent macaroons are laid to rest in their fiery tomb, I log in and start typing. As I reach this line, I can hear my mom telling me that the macaroons are out!..”Yeah, mom..! Coming with the camera! Don’t eat any!” (Well, that warning is more applicable to me, actually! :-P)

Mom-Made Macaroons!

They taste heavenly, as usual. and the Strawberry Kelloggs cornflakes add a certain crunch to it! (There, I couldn’t keep my mouth shut! )

Overall, it’s been a great World Macaron Day with mum! Do share your baking-stories for the day! The comments section is open to you!

~Budding-Baker-Mrs. Ramsay

P.S. If you’re a Masterchef fan, do watch Season 4, episode 12. The Elimination Round consisted of a Macaron challenge. They had to bake 12 macarons and fit them in a neat little rectangular box. Messy affair, I tell you!

Happy World Macaron Day to all you foodies!
17 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow that was informational and well narrated. Oh yes, I was a little lost at first assuming macarons and macaroons mean the same. Not any more πŸ™‚

    Reading how delicious the macaroons were is making me hungry at 12.46AM πŸ˜›

    Like

  2. Thanks for your kind feedback! Actually, my mum was the one supplying me with information ! πŸ˜€
    Yup, the description of the macaroons is making my friends run to my house and ask for some! I'm sure, none of my readers have left this page without images of delicious macaroons floating around in their head!

    Like

  3. April Moore says:

    I have to admit, I have a foodie crush on Gordon Ramsey. Even though I'm a vegan and he makes fun of us, I can't help it, I still love him.

    Like

  4. Yeah! Gordon loves his steaks nice and medium rare!
    My heart beats just for Gordon Ramsay.. his kids are too cute! *_*

    Like

  5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Like

  6. Haha. Yes, most people tend to confuse macaroons with macarons. Actually i did too. Until I ended up in London. Both are delicious, but macarons are just out of this world when done well.
    Loved your passion for baking, Mithila. Always nice to meet/read about a fellow 'bakenthusiast'

    P.s. Is this a good time to say that I've met Gordon.? πŸ˜‰ It was at a corporate dinner when I was at Vodafone. Just spent a few minutes, but he's a really nice chap.

    Like

  7. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Like

  8. I know right! I've tasted the macarons at Le 15 Patisserie.. Mind blowingly brilliant, I must say.
    Cheers to us, bakenthusiasts! πŸ˜€

    P.S. WOW. He does really seem to be quite friendly. I mean, would you expect a 15+ Michelin star chef to actually reply to a sixteen-year-old's tweet plus read her blog post? I don't think so!
    2nd P.S. : I'm jealous! πŸ˜›

    Like

  9. Ah….divinely yummy!! Gordon Ramsay…hot but with a fiery tongue!

    Like

  10. Yayayayayayayaya!
    Gordon Ramsay *_*
    I like the fiery tongue, coz I'm sorta like him! πŸ˜›

    Like

  11. I love macaroons and macarons too, though I think they are also known as meringue. I will have to check the bakery tomorrow at the store downstairs near my work and find out! Hmm…. I haven't blogged about it yet, but I hope to sometime. I adopted my family's favourite Christmas cookie – an Austrian recipe – known as vanillekipferl. It is NOT shortbread and is much BETTER than shortbread…my apologies, but I detest the reference as Vanillekipferl has ground almonds in it and icing sugar which distinguishes it from shortbread, thank you very much! πŸ˜‰ I can see why you are territorial with your recipe Mithila! πŸ˜‰ ❀

    Like

  12. I don't think that macarons are like meringue. Though they are made of similar ingredients.
    Now, I need to run to my mum and find out what Shortbread is!
    Territorial with the recipe, hell yeah! πŸ˜€

    Like

  13. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Mrs Ramsay?! No, no, I AM MRS GORDON RAMSAY!!! (In spite of being a Mrs already. But, so what?!) Hahaha….Loved reading your post, and meeting you, Mithila! And, I loved your name the most!

    Like

  14. Hahaha. Tana Ramsay has already claimed the title of Mrs. Ramsay. Hence, we can cry on each other's shoulders! πŸ˜›
    When my mum read this blog post, she thought that the Mrs. Ramsay referred to Gordon's mum! :')

    Thanks for the compliment! And yes, I love my name too! πŸ˜€

    Like

  15. Shalzzz says:

    macaroons with macarons? Haha! I’m glad you explained here. Its my life’s ambition to meet Gordon Ramsay! Ha! Sigh! Deep sigh! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let’s make a pact: you carry me along in your suitcase if you get a chance to meet him, and I’ll do the same for you. Deal?
      #JustKidding πŸ™Š:P

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shalzzz says:

        Pucca πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

