The Misery of Selfie Clicking



Selfies, a craze that transcends the heights of human stupidity.. Selfies, an obsession for vainly narcissistic teenagers .. Selfies, a development that has made almost all mobile manufacturing companies roll out phones with front cameras.. Selfies, the reason why Snapchat is a craze (or is it the other way round?) Selfies, the reason why non-photogenic people like me hate going out with friends! 

According to Wikipedia, there are two ways of taking selfies- keep the camera at an arm’s distance, or point it at a mirror. Now, the camera at an arm’s distance also has two types. The first, in which you can take a pic quite easily if you have a front camera. Second, the one in which you try a thousand times to get the right selfie, since you have a back camera! Or if you’re lazy, like me, just take a mirror selfie!

If anyone of you reading this blog post thinks that you were the first teenager to take a selfie , that’s because you suffer from the “frog-in-the-well” syndrome. The first ever selfie was taken by a royal teenager – Russian Grand Duchess Anastasia Nikolaevna at the age of 13. She, then, wrote a letter to her friend (nowadays called a caption by cool-yo people) : “I took this picture of myself looking at the mirror. It was very hard as my hands were trembling” Yup, your majesty, my hands tremble when I take normal pics too! And the irony of the situation is that this first selfie was taken in 1914. So, a lot of things happened in that year which affect the world till now, if you historians know what I mean..

And then, as all fads evolve and morph into something our ancestors would have conceived as impossible, the selfie also grew up. We now have a plethora of selfie options. To list a few, a groupie (a group selfie), the bathroom selfie (Really? WTH), the duck-face selfie (ohkay, ohkay, the pout selfie. Happy, narcissists?) and many more selfies that really showcase the idiocy of our generation.

 This selfie love, has got many enterprising minds working. So now, even though we have a front-camera of 5MP, we also have selfie-sticks which makes taking groupies easier! Recently, I had visited the Kala Ghoda Arts festival and saw two brothers roaming around with a selfie stick, apparently alone. And further ahead, a group of teenagers trying to take the perfect groupie, with everyone’s head visible. The tallest member of the group was harassed until the selfie was pleasant enough to be posted on Instagram, or to be made as a cover photo on Facebook. Hell, no self-respecting Twitterati would set their header photo as a groupie.


Taking selfies these days has become like a must. To enter a social clique, to get followers on Instagram, to be able to pronounce oneself as the “Selfie Queen”! It really doesn’t make sense to me. No, I don’t claim to be a teenager who has never taken a selfie. I do, almost once every week. But the trouble of contorting your body into different poses and making your arms ache seems quite needless to me when I have my friend to take a pic of me. You end up wasting time taking selfies with friends when you can actually use that time to chat and talk to each other.

In short, I feel that this selfie-taking culture has slightly reduced the need to have a friend. The only time you need a friend now, is when you need to take a groupie, or when you need likes on Instagram. Time that could be spent more fruitfully is now spent selecting filters for Instagram uploads and counting “how-many-likes-in-15-minutes”.
 
Recently, I came across Robin Sharma’s book ‘Who Will Cry When You Die?‘ (No one will, I’m damn sure, if you blasted everyone’s Facebook timeline with selfies in all possible angles!) Turn to page 209, if you have the hardcopy. Chapter: Take more pictures. On reading this chapter, most of my negative thoughts about selfie taking evaporate. To condense that chapter, the sole moral is: taking pictures now is the best way to remember and reminisce those wonderful moments of the past. Maybe your sixteenth birthday, maybe your graduation day, maybe that wonderful new dress you picked up, or maybe just that one Mother’s day you spent baking with your mom. Anything. Worth selfie taking.

Hehe.. This is me.. #ThirteenYearOld  #Throwback #Lonavala



Even the music industry was affected by this selfie craze! Remember? “Let Me Take A Selfie“? By The Chainsmokers? I’ll end with my favourite part of that song..

Can you guys help me pick a filter?
I don’t know if I should go with XX Pro or Valencia
I wanna look tan
What should my caption be?
I want it to be clever
How about “Livin’ with my bitches, hash tag LIVE”
I only got 10 likes in the last 5 minutes
Do you think I should take it down?
Let me take another selfie!
 
Haha, if I had to get 10 likes in 5 minutes, I would never have taken that selfie down! 😛

~Non-Photogenic Non-Narcissistically Fabulus!

P.S. My profile pic is a selfie! *_*

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hahha… I too hate taking selfies …. Such a waste of time and youth these days does it more out of like craze then actually got to know one's diff. Reactions… Pheww…. I hope youth nowaday will understand this and click few yet precious moments not the everyday activities … Best topic to be shared and yes i like the photo…. Cute…. Keep writing 😀 😀

    Like

  2. I know, right? Selfies, an unnecessary addiction!
    Cute photo, ain't it? 😉
    Thanks for reading, Shalini!

    Like

  3. samjothsashidharan says:

    He he 🙂
    You nailed it….
    I jus hav a bunch of ppl on fb who should be reading this 😀

    Like

  4. Haha.. Do the same thing that I did. Share it on fb.. And tag the people who need to read this! 😛
    Thanks for reading 🙂

    Like

  5. Amazing 🙂
    You indeed write well, keep writing! ( y )

    Like

  6. Thanks, Nirag! 🙂
    And you should keep reading! 😉

    Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

